We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convention hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #83 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Norman
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“convention hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a typical Hyatt hotel with a famous lobby and a fabulous location. My room had old carpet and an old shower. There is only one restaurant/bar/coffee place in the hotel, probably because there are overwhelming choices for food all around. For a convention hotel, it was good because of its location, but otherwise not special. Using the business center is not free.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    751
    364
    139
    55
See reviews for
310
527
107
639
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I travel a lot on business and admittedly have high expectations when staying at expensive hotels like this. The check in was an annoying experience, because there were 5 or 6 of us in line, and two of the receptionist were on the phone the whole time the other receptionist worked through the queue (about 25 minutes). I figure if you are on a call that long, take it out of site so you don't put on the appearance of being helpful. The other lackluster performance was on room service. They asked if I wanted coffee with my breakfast and I said yes, so they added a $10 pot of coffee to the tab (seemed excessive given my confirmation that it was breakfast for 1).
The saving grace of this place are the patios and the rooms... great location and great setup, but you pay for it.

Room Tip: Get one with a patio with a view of the harbor if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear usanewfie from Baltimore, MD:

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor. Please know that we value your feedback and take it to heart to exceed your expectations at all times. It is apparent from your comments that we were not entirely successful in doing so. It is our hope that you would accept our apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment during your stay.

usanewfie, it is through your honest opinion that we find opportunities to improve the services we provide. Your note was reviewed by the appropriate personnel and proper steps were taken to maintain the quality and standards that you can always expect at a Hyatt hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. If there is anything that we can do to assist you with your travels, please feel free to let us know.


Safe travels,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

A very god hotel in great location. Rooms were large and clean. Only complaint was room service breakfast was way over priced as was parking.

Room Tip: Very nice room with good space and amenities. Breakfast in room was plentiful but very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear hutchplace from Santa Rosa, California:

Thank you for sharing your on-line review and 5-star rating. At the Hyatt Regency San Francisco, your experience and comfort is very important to each staff member. We value your business and we are committed to providing you with the highest quality of product and services.

We hope to welcome you back for another delightful stay!

All my best,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Very nice hotel. Strikers were encircling the porte cochere when I was there, and services were limited… no room service, limited housekeeping, no turndown, etc. Bar was open, one restaurant, and the internet still worked. That’s all I need.

BUT, managers filled in all over the hotel, in the Regency Club, at Front Desk, etc., and they were hustling to get things done. I was very impressed with that part of this one-night stay.

The building is well maintained, as were the rooms. Good internet signal, nice breakfast in Regency Club. If your business takes you to this part of the city, an excellent choice.

Location for transport is great! I took BART straight from SFO to the Embarcadero station, and came up an elevator less than 100 feet from the front door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear ChaunceyGardiner from Detroit, Michigan:

Warm wishes and our most sincere appreciation goes out to you for your kind and positive feedback! It was a pleasure delighting you to an authentic Hyatt experience despite of the labor protest that took place a few months ago.

At the Hyatt Regency San Francisco, your experience is very important to us. We value your business and we are committed to providing you with only the highest quality of product and services. We hope to welcome you back soon and thanks for staying with us!

Best regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I recently traveled to SF for business. The cons for this hotel would be the noise. The noise from the street is so loud that it was hard to sleep and I am usually a pretty sound sleeper. The hotel itself is nice and located in the financial district of SF so it is close to a lot of businesses. On Saturday there is a great farmer's market right outside the hotel's doors which make it great. The hotel is not inexpensive and I am sure there are less expensive options out there, but Hyatt is a good name with a good reputation so it's usually the safer choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear AAPH from New York City:

Thank you for your vote of confidence in Hyatt and thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay in San Francisco. It's always great to hear that our guest's enjoy the beauty of our hotel and our location. We apologize for the noise disruption and hope that this would not deter you from choosing the Hyatt Regency San Francisco as your lodging destination in the future.

All the best,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We've stayed here on 2 separate occasions and have been very satisfied both times. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, views from the rooms are wonderful.
The real advantage to this hotel, though, is it's location. Public transportation is right outside the door. The Muni, Cable car, BART (about $8 from the airport, a cab will run you about $30) and even bike rentals are just steps away. The Cal-Train is a short Muni ride away as well. You can buy a reloadable transit card, called the Clipper Card, that can be used on all the different systems, which is really convenient.
The Ferry Building is across the street. It's a nice place to stroll and shop and the Farmer's Market is outside there a few days a week and it's huge. You can also walk to all the Piers along the Bay. The touristy things (Fisherman's Wharf, etc.) are further down but the Muni runs right there.
The "occupiers" were camped in a small park just adjacent to the hotel. Except for one very rude guy in a coffee shop, we didn't really notice them. Homeless people are everywhere, which I believe contribute to some sanitary issues, but seem for the most part, pretty harmless. It is a shame, though, that a city of this size cannot find some sort of resolution.
Everything is expensive in San Francisco and this hotel is no exception.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear gladys40 from Crystal Lake, Illinois:

We appreciate the time you took to share feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. The entire staff, our General Manager and I are very pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality, our rooms, the views from our hotel and our location.

At Hyatt, we take pride in our services and products. We are committed to providing you with only authentic hospitality.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I've graced through hotels worldwide and this hotel is AVERAGE. Melissa (whoever you are, secretary of the manager), please stop making it sound like you will do something about the shortcomings of your staff and service. Reality is, it will NOT change.

Room Tip: I would rather stay at any Westin Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear CarlB B. from Aliso Viejo, California:

Thank you for sharing your honest opinion about our services at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. Rest assure, the entire staff and I take your feedback seriously.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to discuss your concerns. We would like to personally address them with you to win your confidence back. Please feel free to call the hotel directly and speak to the Manager on Duty who would be more than happy to assist you.

Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.