We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #83 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great location and affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for my boyfriend's birthday. Beautiful hotel and location- everything is fairly close by such as fisherman's wharf, union square, etc. When walking into the hotel you may get confused since you do have to take an escalator up to the lobby but when getting up you will be amazed at how beautiful it is inside. Beautiful lights that shine, elevators that look futuristic! The lobby area/bar is beautiful to hang around to grab drinks with friends before heading out. The room is pretty standard- bed, flatscreen, bathroom nothing too spectacular. The walls are a little thin though, so be ware that you may hear your neighbors.. ours were kids who were screaming EARLY in the morning. Also parking overnight is expensive! $50/ night. So be prepared for that. Overall I got this hotel through priceline.com name your own price, I suggest you to do the same. Great deals for the location/venue. OH and roomservice closes like at 11pm! that was the WORST part! luckily there were some places closeby to walk that stayed open late.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear nkim009 of Los Angeles,

Belated happy birthday to your boyfriend and thank you for sharing your feedback on-line. Please know that our General Manager, the entire staff and I take your comments seriously. It is through your honest opinion, that we find opportunities to better serve you, our guest.

At the Hyatt Regency San Francisco, we prioritize your comfort and we are committed to exceeding your expectations.

If your travels bring you back to our city, please feel free to send me an e-mail at melissa.ortiz@hyatt.com as I would be more than welcome to ensure an authentic Hyatt stay for you.

Thanks again,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    751
    364
    139
    55
See reviews for
310
527
107
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

Treated with the utmost care. Celebrating our anniversary and had special touches. Wine with cheese and crackers. Baggage check in. Amazing view of the bay! Most comfortable bed ever. High class hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear calena67,

Thank you for celebrating your Anniversary with us an thank you for your positive feedback. We celebrate comments like yours and recognize the team for a job well done. If your travels bring you back to San Francisco, feel free to let me know and I would be more than welcome to assist you.

All the best,
Melissa
melissa.ortiz@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The interior of the Hyatt is amazing. I loved the open feel and especially the views of the bay. In the area are many restaurants, as well as shopping and entertainment. Catch the F-trolley right outside to all the main attractions. Overall a GREAT location. Internet was horribly slow and at times would not connect. If you are staying for a long period of time or on business, bring mobile broadband or prepare to tether from your phone. Cable provided in the room was limited, and the only channels worth watching have about 3-4 commercials that play over and over on a loop. By the end of the trip you can't stand to watch tv... maybe thats a good thing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Beautiful hotel and wonderful breakfast buffet!! right across from Fisherman's Wharf and Cable Car! Great location and wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear ScKathy67,

Thank you for your positive remarks! We truly appreciate your feedback. If your travels bring you back to San Francisco, please feel free to let me know as I would be more than welcome to personally assist you with your reservations.

It was definitely a pleasure serving you!

Melissa
melissa.ortiz@#hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is not worth the price. On the plus side, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, but one would expect this from such an expensive place. On the minus side, the internet was not very fast, the plumbing and fixtures were old (we actually had a problem with our shower, quickly fixed, but it was obvious the plumbing was in sore need of an upgrade), and I for one was not a fan of the decor. Very Star Wars Episode III. The neighborhood is also not one of my favorites - financial district, lots of tall buildings and chain clothing shops, completely dead at night. Certainly if you're a leisure traveler, I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at Hyatt July 22-25th with our family including two boys ages 18 and 14. We took the BART from the airport for 8.10 each and arrived steps from our hotel. We bought a three day Muni Pass at the Walgreens acrocc the street. If there is a line, go to the photo counter where I was helped with no waiting! You do not need a car for this city. We did rent a car for our last day at Budget which is located in the hotel. VERY convenient! I rented online and chose to get the car at hotel and return it at airport the day we left. We had a late flight so it worked out perfectly. We used the car to drive across the golden Gate, over the Sausalito and up the coast to Stinsson beach for the day. We booked our room on Priceline for around 170 a night for two double beds. I was offered an upgrade for a balcony room for 30 dollars upon check in. I declined that but I did upgrade to the regency club for 75.00 because of the guaranteed view and free food. We did not regret our choice. We had a room on the 16th floor with a city view. The beds were amazing and our bathroom had a glass door shower and a TV in the mirror! The Regency Club has free wi-fi and computers/printers. There is a nice breakfast in the morning and happy hour in the afternoon. There is also a dessert bar at night but we were never there to use it. The views from the top of the bay bridge and city and beautiful. It is a relaxing place to wind down. There is pop, juice, and bottled water available all day and a coffee machine that has quality coffee. The staff in the regency club is very helpful for any questions about the hotel or city you may have. I would stay here again! Every staff member we encountered was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear LeahNelson of Madison, Wisconsin,

Wow! Thank you so much for rating your stay with 5 stars! We are extremely pleased with your positive feedback and glad that the entire family had a delightful stay while visiting San Francisco. Comments such as yours are celebrated and it definitely inspires us all to do more!

Please feel free to send me an e-mail at melissa.ortiz@hyatt.com, if travels bring you back to our city by the Bay.

Best regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

All nice hotels in San Francisco are expensive. This one is a really nice hotel in a great location. Concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.