We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Loved the Bedding!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #91 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Menomonie,WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Loved the Bedding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Overall....it was a great experience. Hyatt did a great job remodeling the rooms and the beds were by far the most comfortable I have slept on in a hotel. The bedding was plush and very comfortable. The only problem we encountered was with someone from the front desk who didn't appear concerned with trying to work with us when we requested a room that was large enough to fit a roll out bed. As we were checking out I noticed that there was another couple who was having a hard time as well with the same front desk person. Everyone else was very nice and very helpful. One of the people who works at the concierge gave us wrong information regarding where to by trolley and bus passes. Honestly, some of the homeless were more helpful than this person was! Overall, we were very happy and would definitely go back!

  • Liked — The Beds!
  • Disliked — The outdoor pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    588
    242
    88
    35
See reviews for
394
506
50
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon from the 11th - 18th June. We had booked via the website and asked for it to be noted that it was our honeymoon but even when we booked in we got a very basic room which was quite disappointing. However the staff were helpful, and the room, including the shower had been recently renovated.
The Knuckles restaurant was great for breakfasts, the buffet was lovely. We had dinner there only the once and the restaurant was packed, took a while to be served and the food was ok, but there are so many other great restaurants in the area we weren't fussed.
This hotel is in a great location, near Pier39, and a 5-10 mins walk from Ghiradelli's Square. All in all it was a wonderful start to our married life, just wish the staff could've been a bit more helpful/thoughtful when booking us in.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No laundry facilities
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

Stayed here with our 2 young children during a family vacation to San Francisco. Very sleek hotel that appears to have been recently renovated. The beds are incredibly comfortable! The rooms are spacious. Only negatives were restaurant sometimes had a wait for breakfast and the "heated" pool was nowhere near warm enough for outdoor swimming in typical San Francisco July weather. The immediate neighborhood was pretty blah but you are within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants at Pier 39 which we found very convenient for endof the day dining

  • Liked — wonderful beds
  • Disliked — outdoor swimming pool too cold
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

A native San Franciscan, I was revisiting for a family reunion and know the area well. I thoroughly researched the current hotel situation (since I was staying for 5 nights) in Fishermen's Wharf and decided on the Hyatt.
Last year I stayed at the Argonaut, which is excellent and better-located, but more expensive and the best rooms are not always available.
The Hyatt is a solid, well-built hotel and the best of the
genre in the Wharf. Beds are very comfortable and all rooms are modern, clean, and sizeable. If possible, try to get a corner room facing something other than the common interior courtyard, which is bland and colorless. The corner rooms are larger and
considerably more desirable than the standard rooms. Even if you have to pay a few dollars more, the price is worth it.
Since all hotels in the Wharf cannot exceed 5 stories, you are not going to find a hotel that really faces the Bay (except for the more expensive Argonaut rooms- so don't even try.
All in all, as a seasoned traveler, the Hyatt satisfied my needs,and I am a very finicky customer !

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We explored SF for four days and really appreciated this hotel's great location. Found the rooms clean and well-equipped, and the staff pleasent. We had two children with us, aged 9 and five, who both enjoyed the comfy beds, TV, swimming pool and adjoining jacuzzi. The breakfast buffet was good but the staff were stretched on the weekend, so service could have been better. Also, we were disappointed that room service finished at 10pm, just as the kids were settling and Mum and Dad wanted a beer! Saying that, we would certainly pick this particular Hyatt again.

  • Liked — location, swimming pool, breakfast
  • Disliked — Room service finishing at 10pm
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

We just got back from a 1-week stay at the Hyatt at Fisherman's Wharf.....and I have mixed reviews.

Staff:
The hotel staff were ALL extremely friendly and helpful - very customer service orientated and each person we spoke to went out of their way to be polite and personable.

Rooms:
Our hotel room was....a little disappointing. Everything was nice and clean and comfortable, but the bathroom was awful! The doors didn't shut properly, there was no fan in the bathroom so it would get extremely fogged up. And the shower was.....fancy looking but not practical. At all.

Knuckles:
The bar/restaurant next door was great! I highly recommend visiting this establishment whether you stay at the Hyatt or not - excellent food and even better service: the bar staff were funny, friendly and very welcoming!

Over all, I would recommend this hotel, but probably wouldn't stay there again and I was disappointed in the bathrooms!

  • Liked — The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating.
  • Disliked — The bathroom in our room was very disappointing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

This is probably the nicest hotel in the Fisherman's Wharf area. The renovations are lovely--rooms are nicely done. The staff members are friendly and helpful; we liked the included hot breakfast buffet--except--the servers forget to refill the coffee.

Our only issue was the extra charges--wireless internet in the room was extra, parking was overpriced, and they even charged an extra $7.99 per 15 minutes to use their computers and printers. Considering the room rates, these amenities should be included.

Overall, though, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — the renovations
  • Disliked — the extra costs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.