We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, near to Fisherman's Wharf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #99 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Good hotel, near to Fisherman's Wharf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

I stayed at this hotel as part of road trip to Las Vegas and Northern California. I flew in from LV, and at cab is around $40 from SFO to hotel.

Very efficent check in, with friendly staff. The location is very good, just two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf.

Stayed in Rm 234, two double beds. Room was very clean, and large. Feels new. Large flat screen TV, with plenty of channels. Ipod , clock etc all there. Coffee making facilities in room,. Bathroom was fine. Great shower. Comfortable beds. There was a pool and gym, although I didn't use.

Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby, i felt safe in neighbourhood. no problems.

i would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    608
    269
    103
    44
See reviews for
421
531
51
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Spent 4 nights on 4th floor with infant and 5 year old, weekend to mid week. We were there for a conference and chose this location as it is close to the wharf and had a swimming pool.

Funny lobby, only one elevator for strollers and luggage (and a second larger set of elevators down about 10 steps). The rooms were nice but not overly big. No refrigerator (I am seeing that Hyatt doesn't tend to believe in fridges). The pool was warm enough to go in for the 5 year old and was only 3.5 feet deep throughout but was outside and difficult to stay in long. There was a whirlpool hot tub only a few feet away, but gets real foamy when turned on and not very big. We spent probably 30 minutes here everyday.

The staff were very pleasant except for one of the concierge individuals who was efficient but gruff and had an aura of overconfidence.

Very good location (3 blocks from the wharf). Very quiet. Great housekeeping staff. Parking was a heavy surcharge. The breakfast was also expensive but much higher quality than mildly cheaper places nearby.

Probably would go to comparable place that was less expensive if the pool wasn't such a big deal. Nice otherwise

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I had paid for a room for two and two breakfasts. As I went by myself I asked if I could have credit for the breakfast for internet etc. No go unlike the classy Grove Park Inn in Ashville that offered me dinner for the same arrangement. I then moved to the Handledy(sp) and had a bigger, nicer room for less money right on Union Square.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. It was a short walk to all the action on Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel staff were great, the rooms were very clean and attractive. My girlfriend and I paid the little extra and had a huge room. Our friends did not get the extra large room. Their rooms were also very nice, but a little on the small side. The lounge as well as the lobby are also very clean and nice. The pool and hottub are well looked after and pleasant to relax in. From the minute we drove up in our taxi cab until we drove away 4 days later, we were treated like VIP! We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I enjoyed our stay in San Fran, however the bathrooms at the Hyatt were lacking. The shower reminded me of something that is built outside on those tropical islands. The water stream was not adjustable and sprayed straight down, even though the shower area was huge. It was not completely closed in either, so I always felt a draft and the water spray was not enough to compensate. Other than the shower situation, the room was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed here in early October and it was very comfortable (especially the bed). The location is good and is walking distance to the Wharf as you might expect. All of the staff were very accommodating, helpful, and friendly, especially the concierge. A very good place to stay if you want to be near the Wharf attractions. The restaurant Knuckles was good and a great place to watch sports. Very nice people at this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Stayed here for a long weekend. Read many of the reviews here and most of them were pretty much on target. Hotel is nice. Hallways are dim and I don't care for the decorators style, but carpets and walls were in great condition and well kept. Our room was clean (except for the empty condom wrapper behind the garbage can in the bathroom) and comfortable. We were on the third floor and our view was of the ballet school across the street. We didn't mind as most of our time was spent out of the room.

We didn't eat at the hotel but took the advice found here and tried out the Hollywood Cafe across the street. Food was good but don't expect a bargain. Breakfast for two was $30 and it's cash only. There is an IHOP a few blocks away and a Walgreens, Trader Joe's and Safeway very close by where we picked up snacks and drinks for in the room.

We planned to spend most of our time in the Fisherman's Wharf area but did have play tickets for Sat night and went to the King Tut exhibit on Sunday. Getting a cab Saturday night was almost impossible, leave yourself extra time if traveling anywhere. And bring a lot of cash. Cab from and to the airport was $50 each way. Theater was $20 and the de Young Museum was about $25. The municipal bus will get you there if you're up for two or three transfers and an hour of your time.

One thing that really ticks me off, not just here but anywhere I stay, is paying for Internet. At $300 a night I feel it's a real nickle and dime stunt to charge you $10 for Internet service.

All in all a good time, but you can find a cheaper place in the same area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.