We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #92 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, United States
1 review
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Check-in staff was great -- check-out was time consuming and there are not enough bell or parking attendants. Hyatt Passport was a good plus. Pool area is very quiet and relaxing -- good property but be aware parking is $50 per night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    600
    261
    92
    37
See reviews for
408
520
51
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were in SF visiting family and friends and stayed at the Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf because it was available, not because of the location (which for us was not good). Having said that, it was a very positive experience. The hotel is well-located for tourists, is clean, well-maintained, and had a very good restaurant for breakfast (the only meal we ate there). The rooms were more than satisfactory. The bed was comfortable (good mattress), there were more than enough pillows (the lack of which is a pet peeve of mine), and the bathroom well laid out and well appointed. We reserved a handicapped accessible room and, unlike many others that call themselves accessible, this one had a walk-in shower and many grab bars. Good for them!

The negatives: 1) the room was not ready at check-in time which was a minor inconvenience. However, as a courtesy to us they comped our breakfast for the stay which they didn't need to do and which we appreciated (and took advantage of). The other negative (more significant if you have serious mobility issues) was that the elevator which was available on the main level (remember, this is San Francisco and the entire city is full of "levels") was being renovated which meant that to reach the elevator to the rooms one either had to walk down a flight of stairs or walk through some of the innards of the hotel behind the reception desk to a ramp that reached the bank of elevators. We did the latter with our luggage but used the stairs the rest of the time. This renovation is going to take several months so if stairs are an issue for you, I'd call the hotel directly and check.

All in all, a positive experience and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Good Evening afpadc,

Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit to San Francisco and staying with us at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay overall with some minor inconveniences that I have forwarded to management to get resolved immediately. Comfort-ability, mobility around the hotel is very important for any guest and my sincerest apologies for this matter. We hope we will get to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I would recommend this hotel, simply because it was very handy to all the touristy places. The staff were very friendly and courteous, the hotel and room was clean. I thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings. It was clean and nice and hot considering how chilly the weather was.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel was in a good location, easy walk to everything in Fisherman's Wharf. The staff were friendly, helpful. The concierge was able to obtain a local rental car when all were sold out online. So grateful!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We found a layer of dust and trash under our beds. You have to pay an extra $50 per car per night for parking. The elevators made a disturbing noise. The hallway to the elevators was unfinished and stained.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We accidentally parked in the hotel in front of the Hyatt. We pulled into the third floor of the parking structure and went up to the lobby only to be behind another couple who had done the same thing. The concierge at the other hotel said it happens all the time. She graciously let us out of the garage without fee and gave directions to both groups. We found the Hyatt with her help. The area can be very congested with tourists and we vowed not to take the car back out. The elevator next to the check in counter was broken. There are two sets of stairs that we had to carry our luggage down to get the working elevator. On several occasions, we observed the staff carrying luggage for guests. There is no handicap ramp to access this that we saw. The room was comfortable. We did not hear street noises. It is centrally located at Fishermans Wharf and we were able to walk easily to different sights. There is a charge for coffee at the restaurant serving breakfast. There is no coffee or service in the room. We did enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Made this particular reservation via a third party site and it was listed as a 4 star...I don't think so! The concierge was rarely there, and there was not sufficient staff at the desk. My bed linens were stained (coffee? urine?) and while the hotel was apologetic and gave us a credit, STAINED bed covers in a 4 star hotel that costs several hundred dollars a night? NOT acceptable. We would not stay again or recommend it- in fact we moved across the street when we decided to add another day in the city to our trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.