We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not luxurious but still nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #104 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“not luxurious but still nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect for "sightseeing" and families in SF for the first time. It is easy to walk to the Wharf, it is one block from a cable car stop, and near the trolley. The reception desk and bellmen were very very helpful and attentive. We especially want to thank Lotis for all her efforts. It is definitely in a really touristy area--not an area of luxury hotels.
The furnishings are ok--sort of bland but comfortable.
The bathrooms were a little odd--you could not turn on the shower without getting wet. In their quest for "trendy and hip", they designed the shower with a non-moveable partial glass wall that precluded you from reaching in to turn on the shower! Do the people who design these ever stay in the rooms?? And in their further quest for hip--there were no towel bars--so we had towels strewn over the counters and the floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    650
    288
    120
    51
See reviews for
460
568
56
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here as a family of four, with two teenagers. The room was an oversized double double, giving us more space in the room. The hotel is within a 5-10 minute walk from the pier at Fishermans Wharf and about a 10-15 minute walk from Pier 33 where you catch the ferry to Alcatraz, so perfect for not having to re-park. Also the cable car is right nearby.
The downside to this hotel was the elevator not working from reception, so a walk down stairs-with cases- to get the elevators from to the rooms. There were staff there to help, but not a great impression.
You can only valet park at this hotel, however, service is good and worth the money.
Would reccomend staying here as the location was perfect for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Choose an ovrsized room if there are 4 of you in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We truly loved staying at this hotel! We were treated well from our arrival time to check out time. Excellent staff and service. The proximity of the hotel to the Fisherman's Wharf made it ever better! I highly recommend this hotel. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide us with such delightful feedback. It is exciting to read that from the moment you arrived to the check out time you felt at home. We have a great staff that wants to ensure our guest have everything they need to make for a memorable experience. I am pleased our prime location in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf worked very well for you. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf in the future!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I would give this Hyatt a 3.5 if I could, so I am being a bit generous.
The good: the location and the customer service
The bad: elevator not working, no free wi-fi, huge parking fee
The ugly: the lobby carpeting looks filthy (you never get a 2nd chance to make a 1st impression)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel was very nice and the price is what you would expect for the location. The location was very good and you could walk everywhere which was nice since parking your car was very expensive. We parked our car using the valet parking at the hotel-it was $57. But as long as you just left it there that was all you paid. The hotel said they charged for wifi but I complained about that and got it for free, so I am sure they do that for anyone who complains. All in all it was what you would expect for a nice downtown SF hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Let me start by saying this hotel is in a GREAT location! So close to everything. Loved that! Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel rooms look old. Our bathroom doors had the paint chipped off the bottom 4 " of the door and baseboard. Not enough hooks or towel bars to hang towels once used and no venting in bathroom. Rain shower head is like a drizzle. Hard to get the soap off... and forget showering without gating your hair wet ladies! Lobby carpet on the stairs is very dirty. Needs to be replaced. Loved the peppermint salt water taffy at the check in desk and the lemon mint water by the front door in the lobby! Concierge staff not that helpful but we were able to figure things out on our own. We stayed here using Hyatt Gold Passport points. If I had had to pay the going rate of $350 I would not have been happy. Look for a deal and know this is really a 3 star property in a FANTASTIC location.

Room Tip: Great view of the skyline from the rooms on Bay Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Location of this Hyatt in Fishermans Wharf was one of the key reasons we chose this hotel. Easy walking distance to the Wharf and all its amenities. Room was quite decent sized. Bigger than we first expected. Check in & out was simple and efficient. Staff very friendly. Bed was great. Real comfortable. Room overall was clean and tidy. Great service from House Keeping team. Would recommend to others staying around the Fishermans Wharf area

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a hike away from the elevators and lobby. Depending on just which room you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Robert H,

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that our property's location makes it a great place to stay when visiting. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your room and hope you will come visit again.

Best wishes,
Paul R. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#111 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,862 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman...
#70 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#15 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#88 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman'...
#63 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.