We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #86 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent three nights here in Feb. and were happy with what we found. The room was clean, beds comfortable, good selection of pillows, large bathroom and plenty of inroom amenities. A bit of a walk from the elevator to the room as the hotel is laid out a bit funny. Having three elevators we found that you didn't have to wait long for one which is nice when you want to get out after a days meetings. It's only a short walk to the pier and it's sights and restaurants, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Our only negative was the quality of the breakfast food it was to say the least of poor quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    579
    234
    83
    33
See reviews for
385
493
50
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This place has a great location and as everyone said the staff in the bar were fantastic. Breakfast buffet is great but pricey. Extremely expensive parking, my goodness! No where in house to get good coffee and the lobby lacks any kind of personality. Everything was very clean and the room that I had overlooked the pool so it was nice and quiet. Only real complaint was that the room had a musty smell that pungent every time you entered.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in January, and thought it was a good hotel. I also stayed at the Hilton in Union Square and thought the Hyatt came out way ahead. Comfortable beds and linens, decent bathroom amenities, functional and nice bathroom, and friendly staff. I liked the Fisherman's Wharf location a lot too. It was easy to walk, take a cable car, or bus to any location you like. About the only thing I didn't like was the long walk to your room down the seemingly endless hallways, but the Hilton had that too. Wasn't a big enough annoyance to ding them on stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear CeeCee29:

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed relaxing in our Hyatt Grand Bed. They are very comfortable! Our employees will be recognized for their friendly service. We're glad you liked being so close to the Wharf.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Services Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is somewhat reasonably priced (got it on Priceline), and it's 2 or 3 blocks from the heart of Fisherman' Wharf. Room and beds were very comfortable, but you did have to walk a long way from the elevator to your room in most instances. Internet was $9.99. Parking was $45 a nite, so don't take a car there!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice stay at the Hyatt - Great staff especially in Knuckles Bar. Surprised that the only free coffee is the poor excuse for coffee in the rooms. A little disappointed by the bed as well. Very close (walking distance) to many local attractions including Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Fisherman's Wharf is a great place to visit, and there's a lot of restaurants, tours, attractions, and things to do. The hotel is near a cable car line, which is nice if you want to head into Union Square. It's nice being near the water, and I enjoyed my morning walks up the giant hills.

The staff is VERY helpful and nice. They definitely made my trip worth while and were helpful with arranging transportation and helping me find places in the area.

The room is where we go vanilla. It's a good size with a nice TV. The bed is comfortable, and there were nice towels and bedding. The furniture is a bit nicked and scratched and the coffee service was hiding in a drawer. I did not care for the bathroom, which has two doors that slide together, although they never stayed together. The shower is also one of those walk in types without a curtain and only a piece of glass separating you and the toilet. The shower head is in the ceiling, so it is impossible to turn on the shower without getting wet. The sink is also very shallow and allowed for water to splash on you.

The lobby is rather dull, but you don't spend much time in a hotel lobby, right? I did like the touch of having water at check in.

All in all, this is a fairly comfortable hotel (minus the bathroom), but nothing memorable, interesting, or unique. Great location, wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Go as far down the hall as you can. Upper floors might be more quiet as well, away from the hotel p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I agree with other reviews. It is a nice hotel, very nice staff and it was quiet. BUT, I have been to much better Hyatt hotels. We asked for a liqueur store and we were sent to Walgreens which only sells beer and wine. Nice woman but useless information. We both had allergic reactions in the room. Don't know if it was the products used or a past pet in the room? Restaurant was hit and miss. Fried green beans were awesome. Seafood pasta was just ok. Ribs were VERY overcooked and dry. Cookie was microwaved. Room service was very disappointing. Again, very nice delivery person but the food was bad. Don't get the breakfast sandwich as it can not make the travel time. Bread was VERY soggy and ham and egg were sliding off. Potatoes were cold. Fruit tray was good with lots of different fruit. Yogurt parfait was ok, looked pretty, tasted ok. Bacon was soggy.

Overall, the room was big and nice. Bathroom was nice. We were allergic to something. Food was not so good!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.