We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But a Few Things Missing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #86 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice But a Few Things Missing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice stay at the Hyatt - Great staff especially in Knuckles Bar. Surprised that the only free coffee is the poor excuse for coffee in the rooms. A little disappointed by the bed as well. Very close (walking distance) to many local attractions including Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    579
    234
    83
    33
See reviews for
385
493
50
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Fisherman's Wharf is a great place to visit, and there's a lot of restaurants, tours, attractions, and things to do. The hotel is near a cable car line, which is nice if you want to head into Union Square. It's nice being near the water, and I enjoyed my morning walks up the giant hills.

The staff is VERY helpful and nice. They definitely made my trip worth while and were helpful with arranging transportation and helping me find places in the area.

The room is where we go vanilla. It's a good size with a nice TV. The bed is comfortable, and there were nice towels and bedding. The furniture is a bit nicked and scratched and the coffee service was hiding in a drawer. I did not care for the bathroom, which has two doors that slide together, although they never stayed together. The shower is also one of those walk in types without a curtain and only a piece of glass separating you and the toilet. The shower head is in the ceiling, so it is impossible to turn on the shower without getting wet. The sink is also very shallow and allowed for water to splash on you.

The lobby is rather dull, but you don't spend much time in a hotel lobby, right? I did like the touch of having water at check in.

All in all, this is a fairly comfortable hotel (minus the bathroom), but nothing memorable, interesting, or unique. Great location, wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Go as far down the hall as you can. Upper floors might be more quiet as well, away from the hotel p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I agree with other reviews. It is a nice hotel, very nice staff and it was quiet. BUT, I have been to much better Hyatt hotels. We asked for a liqueur store and we were sent to Walgreens which only sells beer and wine. Nice woman but useless information. We both had allergic reactions in the room. Don't know if it was the products used or a past pet in the room? Restaurant was hit and miss. Fried green beans were awesome. Seafood pasta was just ok. Ribs were VERY overcooked and dry. Cookie was microwaved. Room service was very disappointing. Again, very nice delivery person but the food was bad. Don't get the breakfast sandwich as it can not make the travel time. Bread was VERY soggy and ham and egg were sliding off. Potatoes were cold. Fruit tray was good with lots of different fruit. Yogurt parfait was ok, looked pretty, tasted ok. Bacon was soggy.

Overall, the room was big and nice. Bathroom was nice. We were allergic to something. Food was not so good!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We got a good deal on Priceline for our stay here, over 50 percent off. Hotel is nice from the outside and first look. Location is GREAT. Close to piers, Alcatraz, and Ghirardelli Square. However, the maids didn't clean well...they only made the beds. I had to clean the coffee pot myself. The outside noise is loud but I guess that's what you get from being in a city. Would I stay here again? No. I think ill take the Hilton next door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and had to write about it. The hotel was clean and the rooms very comfortable. The staff was very helpful, they gave me a local run map, and arranged for a car for a very early morning departure. The sports bar restaurant was also very enjoyable, I had a great burger there, as well as the usual breakfast buffet. I highly recommend if you are looking for a hotel in the Wharf.

Room Tip: I choose King with an interior view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Location, and staff was first class and helpful and Friendly, especially our new friend Rick the Bartender. Nice job renovating the room, flat screen TV and King Bed nice features and oh so comfy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your birthday celebration. It's great to hear you had a fun stay. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to Rick. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a week in San Francisco last September with the family prior to attending a business conference in town and wanted somewhere central for all the attractions of San Francisco whilst suitable for a 3 year old. The location could not have been better for Fisherman's Wharf, we knew the area was the most touristy but that was exactly what we wanted. You could walk a couple of blocks to Pier 39, get the ferry to Alcatraz, hire bikes and cycle over the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito and so much more.

The Hyatt staff and service was fantastic from check-in, housekeeping through to the Restaurants. The breakfast selection was great including a great selection for our little one, the colouring packs and the attention from the wait staff went down well.

We had skinny yet long room on the inside courtyard room with a rollaway bed for Thomas which was perfect as we could put him to bed early but still read, watch tv and not wake him up.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again next time we are in San Francisco

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guy o:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the time you spent at our property with your family. Our staff will be recognized for their outstanding customer service. We're glad our hotel could provide the ideal location with being so close to the Wharf and Pier. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.