We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Old Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #80 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Old Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our first trip to San Francisco and after much debate we decided to stay at Fisherman's Wharf as we were wanting more of a relaxed holiday.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were quickly checked in by a friendly clerk. Upon entering the room assigned to us we noticed that there was a strong smell of smoke. I immediately called the front desk to advise them of this. The clerk advised that this was surprising as they were a non-smoking facility and she asked if the smell could be covered up by air freshener or if we would need to move. I advised the clerk that I was pregnant so I would like to be moved to a new room instead of just covering up the smell, the clerk immediately agreed to move us. Upon entering the new room I noticed that they had assigned us one of the "Pure" rooms which are supposed to be for people with allergies, this room had no smell and felt cleaner than the previous room.

While the rooms have been redone the hotel seems to be very old and is quite dark in both the halls and the rooms. The furniture in the room appears to be well used and in need of replacement already as the wood finishings were worn through and the dark wood doors were in need of being painted again. Although I believe the rooms were well cleaned it seems as though the age of the rooms and the furnishings prevent it from feeling truly clean.

The staff were great at this hotel. They called to see if the room was ok and later that evening sent us up some bottled water, with chocolates and some fruit. Every night they would also call to see if we needed anything and a lady would come around offering ice.

The location of the hotel was great it was only a couple of blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and the trolly's to take you downtown were right across the road from the hotel.

It is really too bad that the hotel feels so dark and old otherwise I would 100% recommend the hotel based purely on the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    550
    215
    74
    29
See reviews for
371
457
49
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were staying at a very nice hotel when we decided to spend another day in San Francisco
I wanted to be closer to the action and we were treated quite nice by the staff and our room was freshly painted and the wifi worked so fast and everything was just top notch. This was my first stay at a Hyatt and won't be my last. I had wished that I had stayed longer at Hyatt. We had such a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear usvilover:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how welcoming our employees were upon your arrival. They will be recognized for the fantastic service provided. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed being close to the Wharf, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 from Australia and stayed here at the Hyatt for 4 nights in September. We had interconnecting rooms,one with 2 double beds and the other with a king bed. Beds were comfy, rooms were clean and very quiet. The laundry facilities came in handy. We found the location to be perfect for what we needed as it was our first time visiting San Francisco so we did all the touristy things there ( Alcatraz,pier 39, Golden Gate Bridge,cable car,Union square). The restaurant across the road provided a delicious breakfast and was reasonably priced. Our highlight of the trip was the red fire truck tour across the Golden Gate Bridge. I would highly recommend it to first time visitors! San Francisco is an expensive city to stay in but we knew that before booking. We did get a family deal on the rooms and I was happy with what we paid. If we are fortunate enough to come back to this beautiful city I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation. We're delighted you and your family had a wonderful time and enjoyed the connecting rooms. It's great to hear you were able to see some of the city's amazing sights during your visit. Your recommendation is our highest reward. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here New Years Eve 2013. The hotel is standard for the Hyatt chain (maybe a bit smaller) and conveniently located within walking distance from the Embarcadero, Golden Gate park, Ghiradelli square. We saw "Beach Blanket Babylon", ate sushi and walked around the Embarcadero to watch fireworks. The rooms are cute, clean and chic. Breakfast buffet is more then ample and the service was very friendly. Parking is expensive, but no more expensive than the rest of the area, so expect to pay $50 or more a night at a SF hotel. The Embarcadero is filled with tourist and seafood shops (boiled crabs are delicious), but fun to check out and then head down to the Golden Gate park, which is beautiful and undeveloped.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The pool was nice but the pool area was a little blah. My only complaint was the cost of the on site valet only parking compared to other lots in the area. Overall, I'd stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Excellent location, easy on and off the trolley and getting around. We loved our room! I asked for a quiet room and received a room facing in to a courtyard which eliminated most of the city noise but once you walked out the front door, you were within a block of fisherman's wharf.
The weather was exceptionally cool and the staff put out hot drinks every day. The staff was extremely helpful in finding things and giving hints on what to see and do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent hotel for location and business meeting space. Beautifully remodeled recently, first class location and quality. Only negative is parking is expensive. Excellent fitness center, outdoor pool and spa.

Room Tip: Even number on 3rd floor face courtyard pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear calsun99:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We're glad the meeting space provided was what you were looking for. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Your referral & comments are greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.