We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #91 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here New Years Eve 2013. The hotel is standard for the Hyatt chain (maybe a bit smaller) and conveniently located within walking distance from the Embarcadero, Golden Gate park, Ghiradelli square. We saw "Beach Blanket Babylon", ate sushi and walked around the Embarcadero to watch fireworks. The rooms are cute, clean and chic. Breakfast buffet is more then ample and the service was very friendly. Parking is expensive, but no more expensive than the rest of the area, so expect to pay $50 or more a night at a SF hotel. The Embarcadero is filled with tourist and seafood shops (boiled crabs are delicious), but fun to check out and then head down to the Golden Gate park, which is beautiful and undeveloped.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    583
    240
    88
    35
See reviews for
393
504
50
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The pool was nice but the pool area was a little blah. My only complaint was the cost of the on site valet only parking compared to other lots in the area. Overall, I'd stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Excellent location, easy on and off the trolley and getting around. We loved our room! I asked for a quiet room and received a room facing in to a courtyard which eliminated most of the city noise but once you walked out the front door, you were within a block of fisherman's wharf.
The weather was exceptionally cool and the staff put out hot drinks every day. The staff was extremely helpful in finding things and giving hints on what to see and do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent hotel for location and business meeting space. Beautifully remodeled recently, first class location and quality. Only negative is parking is expensive. Excellent fitness center, outdoor pool and spa.

Room Tip: Even number on 3rd floor face courtyard pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear calsun99:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We're glad the meeting space provided was what you were looking for. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Your referral & comments are greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After 26 hours of travelling from Johannesburg (RSA) to San Francisco via London, all my wife and I needed was a clean and comfortable Hotel room to freshen up and rest before we start our holiday! We stayed here for 2 nights and the Hotel did not disappointing at all! On checking in we chatted to the lady at reception that was checking us in and she ask for the reason of our visit and we told her is was our 10 year anniversary she congratulated us! and Wow later that evening when we returned from Fisherman's Wharf for dinner there was a bottle of wine, chocolates and a congratulations card in our room! how is that for customer service, we were bowled over!
Really nice hotel and you can you can easily access the city center either using the Tram or the cable car ( which on its own is a great, great experience as it rides through the hilly streets of San Francisco....)

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room in this hotel, hour room on the 2nd floor was main rd facing and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your anniversary. We're glad we were able to make it one to remember. It's always great to hear our staff went above and beyond expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is one of the worse hotels we have ever visited and definitely the worst Hyatt property.
Overpriced parking, dirty all over, exhaust fumes seeping up from the underground parking lot in & around the elevators, an overall amateur approach to the way this hotel is being run.
ROOM: We booked a standard room and requested a suite upgrade using Gold Passport points, which the reservations operator confirmed for us. We arrived to find we had been allocated connecting rooms instead, which were totally useless for us. We informed them accordingly and they promptly reduced our rate as compensation.
BATHROOM: Trying to take a shower was simply not an easy task. Apart from the general fact Americans should finally understand a shower-head stuck on the ceiling does NOT help personal hygiene (!!!), this shower-head in particular had no water pressure what-so-ever. In order to come out of the shower... decently clean and rinsed, you had to walk in the shower full of patience and invent a MacGyver-like technique. Let alone trying to give our 3-year-old a shower!!!
HEATING: When it kicked-in, it gave you a heart attack. When it was on, it didn't let you sleep. When it was off, you ran the risk of freezing to death.
AMENITIES: We asked for bathrobes and slippers. We received 2 bathrobes and no slippers and when we asked why, they told us they had ran out.
Next day we asked for the bathrobes to be exchanged because we had discovered stains from... previous users!. Housekeeping informed us they had ran out.
We asked for replacement paper coffee cups for the in-room coffee maker. Housekeeping informed us they had ran out.
CLEANLINESS: The day we arrived, on the way from the elevator to our room, we noticed a q-tip on the floor in the corridor and a fork right outside our room. The next day, a sock was added to the collection. The fork was still there when we left.
BREAKFAST: The first morning we went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast (as Julia Roberts said in Pretty Woman "...big mistake, huge..."). I went to get scrambled eggs, picked up a plate and promptly discovered eggs baked-in by the dishwasher. I had to go through 6 plates to find a decently clean one. Thank God for Starbucks at the corner, which we used the next morning.
LOCATION: It is just perfect. Right next to the start of the famous SF tram line, 5 minutes from the piers, it is right in the middle of it all.
Unfortunately, we will NOT be caught dead near the property again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're very sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfactory. This is not the level of service we strive for at Hyatt. We greatly appreciate you highlighting these areas for us to improve. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stay here almost every time I visit San Fran
It's comfortable, clean, and the staff is great.

They have a nice restaurant as well
This is a very convenient hotel for sightseeing too.

The cable car lime is just a short walk as well as The Buena Vista to drop in for an irish coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
You continued loyalty when you visit San Francisco is greatly appreciated. It’s great to hear that you find our property to be very comfortable and the staff to be very friendly. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Fisherman’s Wharf. We look forward to your return!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.