We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fisherman s wharf ,location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #82 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fisherman s wharf ,location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent hotel for location and business meeting space. Beautifully remodeled recently, first class location and quality. Only negative is parking is expensive. Excellent fitness center, outdoor pool and spa.

Room Tip: Even number on 3rd floor face courtyard pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear calsun99:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We're glad the meeting space provided was what you were looking for. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Your referral & comments are greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    501
    186
    63
    23
See reviews for
305
407
47
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After 26 hours of travelling from Johannesburg (RSA) to San Francisco via London, all my wife and I needed was a clean and comfortable Hotel room to freshen up and rest before we start our holiday! We stayed here for 2 nights and the Hotel did not disappointing at all! On checking in we chatted to the lady at reception that was checking us in and she ask for the reason of our visit and we told her is was our 10 year anniversary she congratulated us! and Wow later that evening when we returned from Fisherman's Wharf for dinner there was a bottle of wine, chocolates and a congratulations card in our room! how is that for customer service, we were bowled over!
Really nice hotel and you can you can easily access the city center either using the Tram or the cable car ( which on its own is a great, great experience as it rides through the hilly streets of San Francisco....)

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room in this hotel, hour room on the 2nd floor was main rd facing and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your anniversary. We're glad we were able to make it one to remember. It's always great to hear our staff went above and beyond expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is one of the worse hotels we have ever visited and definitely the worst Hyatt property.
Overpriced parking, dirty all over, exhaust fumes seeping up from the underground parking lot in & around the elevators, an overall amateur approach to the way this hotel is being run.
ROOM: We booked a standard room and requested a suite upgrade using Gold Passport points, which the reservations operator confirmed for us. We arrived to find we had been allocated connecting rooms instead, which were totally useless for us. We informed them accordingly and they promptly reduced our rate as compensation.
BATHROOM: Trying to take a shower was simply not an easy task. Apart from the general fact Americans should finally understand a shower-head stuck on the ceiling does NOT help personal hygiene (!!!), this shower-head in particular had no water pressure what-so-ever. In order to come out of the shower... decently clean and rinsed, you had to walk in the shower full of patience and invent a MacGyver-like technique. Let alone trying to give our 3-year-old a shower!!!
HEATING: When it kicked-in, it gave you a heart attack. When it was on, it didn't let you sleep. When it was off, you ran the risk of freezing to death.
AMENITIES: We asked for bathrobes and slippers. We received 2 bathrobes and no slippers and when we asked why, they told us they had ran out.
Next day we asked for the bathrobes to be exchanged because we had discovered stains from... previous users!. Housekeeping informed us they had ran out.
We asked for replacement paper coffee cups for the in-room coffee maker. Housekeeping informed us they had ran out.
CLEANLINESS: The day we arrived, on the way from the elevator to our room, we noticed a q-tip on the floor in the corridor and a fork right outside our room. The next day, a sock was added to the collection. The fork was still there when we left.
BREAKFAST: The first morning we went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast (as Julia Roberts said in Pretty Woman "...big mistake, huge..."). I went to get scrambled eggs, picked up a plate and promptly discovered eggs baked-in by the dishwasher. I had to go through 6 plates to find a decently clean one. Thank God for Starbucks at the corner, which we used the next morning.
LOCATION: It is just perfect. Right next to the start of the famous SF tram line, 5 minutes from the piers, it is right in the middle of it all.
Unfortunately, we will NOT be caught dead near the property again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're very sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfactory. This is not the level of service we strive for at Hyatt. We greatly appreciate you highlighting these areas for us to improve. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stay here almost every time I visit San Fran
It's comfortable, clean, and the staff is great.

They have a nice restaurant as well
This is a very convenient hotel for sightseeing too.

The cable car lime is just a short walk as well as The Buena Vista to drop in for an irish coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
You continued loyalty when you visit San Francisco is greatly appreciated. It’s great to hear that you find our property to be very comfortable and the staff to be very friendly. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Fisherman’s Wharf. We look forward to your return!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It's on the level of a Hyatt Regency convention type hotel...it gets a-lot of use, but is still pretty nice. The best thing about the hotel is the staff...and the wear, from use, is what I would consider the only thing bad (every wooden surface in the room was worn down to bare wood and the bed, which was once a grand bed, was worn out)...oh, and there was a pigeon nest with eggs outside our window (Rm. 373)...and the room smelled like smoke because the window was right above the outdoor smoking area. Great location two blocks from the wharf...ten minute walk to North Beach...20-30 minute walk to the Ferry Building or Union Square...ten minutes to Chinatown. If we stay near the Wharf would stay hear again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Room not clean in places that collect dust, like behind the desk. Appears that area hasn't been cleaned in years. Shower area also could use a really good scrub. They provided a microwave and fridge at no charge, which was very appreciated, but also have a stupidly cheap attitude toward wifi access, only permitting one device without upgrading, and I'm a Hyatt Platinum member! That's no longer a realistic approach to amenities, or even should it be considered a luxury... might as well charge per towel as well! Good, fast valet staff, except for when they brought me a Mercedes 500SEL, when I'm driving a Honda Odyssey.... now, I liked the Mercedes better, but am pretty sure that car's owner wasn't looking to trade! Even the paperwork said the Mercedes was mine! Spa water not very clean, since it was foaming. Wish I'd picked a different place to stay, and next time, I will.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear craiginsd:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. We're sorry learn of your stay not meeting your expectations. Your comments about the in-room cleanliness will be given to our Housekeeping Manager to review with our staff. We hope you'll give us a second opportunity to welcome you back. If you would like to further discuss, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Fisherman's Warf over New Years and enjoyed my stay. Friendly staff assisted with check-in, then we got to enjoy free hot chocolate in the lobby that night since it was a cold night. Room was a double bed with absolutely nothing to complain about - everything appeared new and modern. The pictures of rooms, at least for us, on their website were very accurate so I'm not going to post any here. Something odd, that I'll mention for the heck of it, was that our shower head was sitting next to the sink. Don't know why, so I just plugged it back in and all was well :) Here's some tips that you may find helpful during your stay.

1. I heard parking cost $45 + tax a night so I decided to park in the open lot almost direclty across the property (located across from Cost Plus Worldmarket). I wasn't worried about robberies since the car appeared empty from the outside. That saved a bit of money, costing only $40 a night, and the parking permit lasted a full 24 hours from the time we paid.
2. Across from the Hyatt's entrance is the "Hollywood Cafe." Wow, amazing breakfast for about $10-$12 per person and IT'S RIGHT ACROSS from the hotel. You can't beat that. If the wait for a table inside the cafe is long, just grab ANY table outside (there's heater's above most tables) and the waiter/waitress will serve you within a few minutes. They hustle and bustle at the cafe and the food is amazing.

Enjoy your stay there. Any questions, just message me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear simcity17:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay with us, at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. We greatly appreciate your comments with regards to how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.