We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Hyatt standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #82 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Poway, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not up to Hyatt standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Room not clean in places that collect dust, like behind the desk. Appears that area hasn't been cleaned in years. Shower area also could use a really good scrub. They provided a microwave and fridge at no charge, which was very appreciated, but also have a stupidly cheap attitude toward wifi access, only permitting one device without upgrading, and I'm a Hyatt Platinum member! That's no longer a realistic approach to amenities, or even should it be considered a luxury... might as well charge per towel as well! Good, fast valet staff, except for when they brought me a Mercedes 500SEL, when I'm driving a Honda Odyssey.... now, I liked the Mercedes better, but am pretty sure that car's owner wasn't looking to trade! Even the paperwork said the Mercedes was mine! Spa water not very clean, since it was foaming. Wish I'd picked a different place to stay, and next time, I will.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear craiginsd:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. We're sorry learn of your stay not meeting your expectations. Your comments about the in-room cleanliness will be given to our Housekeeping Manager to review with our staff. We hope you'll give us a second opportunity to welcome you back. If you would like to further discuss, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    502
    186
    64
    23
See reviews for
306
407
47
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Fisherman's Warf over New Years and enjoyed my stay. Friendly staff assisted with check-in, then we got to enjoy free hot chocolate in the lobby that night since it was a cold night. Room was a double bed with absolutely nothing to complain about - everything appeared new and modern. The pictures of rooms, at least for us, on their website were very accurate so I'm not going to post any here. Something odd, that I'll mention for the heck of it, was that our shower head was sitting next to the sink. Don't know why, so I just plugged it back in and all was well :) Here's some tips that you may find helpful during your stay.

1. I heard parking cost $45 + tax a night so I decided to park in the open lot almost direclty across the property (located across from Cost Plus Worldmarket). I wasn't worried about robberies since the car appeared empty from the outside. That saved a bit of money, costing only $40 a night, and the parking permit lasted a full 24 hours from the time we paid.
2. Across from the Hyatt's entrance is the "Hollywood Cafe." Wow, amazing breakfast for about $10-$12 per person and IT'S RIGHT ACROSS from the hotel. You can't beat that. If the wait for a table inside the cafe is long, just grab ANY table outside (there's heater's above most tables) and the waiter/waitress will serve you within a few minutes. They hustle and bustle at the cafe and the food is amazing.

Enjoy your stay there. Any questions, just message me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear simcity17:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay with us, at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. We greatly appreciate your comments with regards to how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice, we called up before and got a great deal mid week for $170. Very nice room, fantastic bed and very quiet, polite staff. One of the best hotels Ive ever stayed at, but call directly beforehand to get a good deal. Get the number off the internet, best way to book.

Room Tip: Call up first, dont use internet booking sites, just get a midweek bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Robert H:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our Hyatt Grand beds are some of the most comfortable beds to sleep on. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If I ever went back to San Francisco I would stay here again. We stayed in September 2012 for 2 nights, it was a package with parking. We actually never moved the car so I don't think you actually need a car while staying here. It was walking distance to everywhere. We ate dinner the first night at Knuckles, appetizers and main course, food was good but service was very poor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We're glad you had a wonderful time in San Francisco. We're pleased you were able to try some of our delicious offerings at Knuckles. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here during our visit to SF. I would recommend this hotel not only for the location, but also for the guest service. Though parking is $45 a day (not including tax-$55 or so), but the valet parker was so nice and sweet. The check-in was also smooth and had no problems. Most importantly, the room is so nice a large, with a comfie bed that we slept like babies. The location is awesome, walking distance to the piers and also around 20 min walk to Union Square. The only problem is that there is no free wifi in the rooms (comes with an additional charge), but overall, wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at the Hyatt, so well placed for all of the wharf sites. Lovely modern clean rooms. Service was also of a great standard. Right across the road is cafe Hollywood, look no further for breakfast it's the best in town, for $11 you won't need to eat till dinner. We enjoyed our stay here so much we will be back on 2015, cheers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear sealygirl:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how well our location worked for you. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Great location with exceptional service! Breakfast was great with a big variety that was always fresh. Staff were friendly. Only thing constructive is for the hotel to have free wifi in the rooms (which is provided if you become a member of the hotel chain)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mccarthy73:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the delicious breakfast prepared by our executive Chef at Knuckles at the Wharf. Our employees will be recognized for the fantastic service provided during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.