We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for touring SF, but WHOA, $45/night valet? Geeez” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #85 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfect location for touring SF, but WHOA, $45/night valet? Geeez”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a great location for touring around the city, and walking to the wharf/piers. Near all the shopping and wharf activities. The room was very comfortable, but the hotel is kind of built in a circle and our room was a hike, opposite from where the elevators were, all the way around the circle. Hey, I'm Hyatt Gold and they gave me this room. Crazy. What a hike with our luggage. Otherwise, typical Hyatt. Friendly, helpful staff and comfy beds. No option to self-park, and valet was $45/night, plus tip. I'm from Chicago, and that is steep even for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not too far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    538
    207
    75
    29
See reviews for
352
442
49
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Villa, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Good location for fisherman's wharf, trolley and touristy stuff. Room was ok, shower was odd no door and the floor gets very wet, seemed like a handicap accessible room but was not informed that was the case. Good breakfast buffet

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf earlier this month. Overall the experience was good.

The staff was very helpful. The room was decent size and had a comfortable bed. The bathroom had no bath tub and only had a non-removable shower head in the ceiling, which made it impossible for me at 5'1" to adjust. At the price being charged for the room the hotel could have put a few more useful things in the bathroom such as cotton balls and q-tips.

If staying in this hotel you may want to think twice before bringing your car there as the only parking available is valet at $48 per night. The rate though is fairly standard for the Fisherman's Wharf area. We originally thought of renting a car for 3 days, but in the end decided to only rent it for 1 day and use public transportation the other 2 days.

Overall a decent experience at the Hyatt, though not sure if I would want to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned from our long awaited dream holiday to beautiful San Francisco. We chose this hotel based on location and price - we were certainly not disappointed. It is perfectly located for everything we needed - very close to bus and two cable car stops, restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 etc etc. What was an added bonus is that this is a fantastic hotel, we loved it.

Apart from the fantastic location, what really makes this hotel special are the staff, they are exceptional. They are so helpful and friendly, from the guys helping you to unload your suitcases when you arrive, the front desk staff, concierge, restaurant and the housekeeping staff. They always had a friendly greeting for you, whenever you happened to bump into them. I would especially like to thank the wonderful Concierge service - so helpful and full of knowledge about San Francisco and how best to get the most out of your visit. The hotel is exceptionally clean and well run, our room was comfortable and had everything we needed (except a kettle) - we did have a coffee machine, but we're tea drinkers, so we did miss our morning wake-up cuppa tea. But that's just a small detail and didn't detract from our overall enjoyment. We didn't have any view from our room, but it was quietly located and to be honest this didn't matter as we were out and about most of the time anyway.

We had an amazing and memorable time in beautiful San Francisco and we're so pleased that we chose the Hyatt at Fisherman's Wharf as our base - we really hope to return again one day and will definitely be staying here again if we do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for providing such a wonderful review! It sounds like you really enjoyed our property and found the staff and location to be perfect. We have a prime location in the heart of Fisherman’s Wharf. We are located within walking distance to several restaurants and shops and easily accessible to the cable car line. I will make sure and share you kind words with the all of the staff letting them know you found their service to be very helpful and friendly. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Hotel is located right in the middle of a bunch of attractions, Fisherman’s Wharf, Ghirardelli Plaza, Tour Vendors, Lombard Street (Crooked Street), Cable Car Station, Restaurants, Little Italy, Starbucks, Local stores and shops, Bay Tours, Pier 39, and others. No doubts the location is great, and the staff excellent, the room average, the hotel’s restaurant at best below average. I expected a better room and restaurant for the price and from Hyatt. Best thing about this Hotel the staff and the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurso
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was an excellent location for Fishermans Wharf!!! and excellent for access for the trams around SF too!!! - Good hotel and breakfast good! A good all round hotel in a perfect central base for sightseeing!!! Not sure i would come back - think i would head into the city around the square - found it more vibrant!!! (but thats just a personal thing) Fishermans Wharf is lovely for a wander around - very touristy!!!! Coupla good bars along the front that have good blues bands playing - good vibe!! Plenty food and drink right along the wharf!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is fabulous! The staff is very friendly, courteous and prompt to respond. The proximity to Fisherman's Wharf is fabulous! The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. We stayed in a king sized room and had a very elegant room. The bathroom shower was contemporary and the colors were relaxing. The rest of the family stayed in an adjoining room, which was very convenient. Unfortunately, we didn't use the gym or pool. We would consider staying again if we come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you and your family had a wonderful time at our hotel. We're pleased you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable rooms. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.