We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #86 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Luis Obispo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel staff is friendly, attentive, courteous, and accommodating to the customer`s needs to enjoy 3 days of vacation in San Francisco. The room is very clean, bed and linens are impeccably clean, no tub in the bathroom but it has everything I would ask for in a hotel bathroom. No refrigerator either but has a good flat screen tv and adequate business desk with easy access to electrical outlets. Wireless internet is fast. That is a big plus.

I had a very quiet room with a comfy bed. Woke up rejuvenated every morning. The hotel is a short walk away from Pier 39, has good access to public transportation and excellent restaurants. People mentioned that it has expensive parking but hey, I slept better knowing that my car is safe the whole night with just a few dollars more compared to public parking.

You will never go wrong staying in this hotel if you plan to spend your vacation in SF.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. It's great to hear you had a wonderful stay in San Francisco. We're glad you enjoyed our quiet guest rooms. Our hotel is a quick walk to Pier 39 and we're happy you were able to take advantage of our location. We hope to welcome you back.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    580
    234
    84
    33
See reviews for
386
494
50
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have stayed at a number of Hyatt hotels internationally. I found nothing wrong with the Hyatt at fishermans but if you expect it to be as good as its counterparts in Europe and Asia you may be disappointed. Bathrooms are not quite to the standard of other Hyatt hotels I have stayed. For the money I would probably chose to stay elsewhere as you can get better bang for your dollar. Having said this there was nothing wrong with my experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We booked this property based on other reviews and location.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are large.
We stayed in a king room - it has a really spacious bathroom, however there is no tub.
The maids take pride in keeping the room fresh and clean.
The restaurant serves yummy food, don't sit at the bar though. Grumpy bartender. - see my review on Knuckles.
They have a great gym!
The location is perfect. Close to all the important tourist locations.
We were here for the MLB World Series and were not disappointed with this beautiful city.
Thank you Hyatt, you did go beyond to see that we felt welcomed and when we had concern, you put that to rest ASAP.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear travelcoleen:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. We appreciate you going out of your way to share feedback about your time during the World Series. It's great to hear how well our location worked, not only for going to AT&T park, but also the other local attractions. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel with excellent and friendly staff. Good size room. Great location to tour SF Fisherman's Wharf, Alcatraz, the Embarcadero and other nearby San Francisco locations. We had an inside room and it was really quiet - something I really appreciate in a city. We had lunch at their restaurant and found the food very fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear CaliforniaOsprey:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent hotel stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. We're delighted to have provided a peaceful getaway. It's great to hear how well our location worked for you to visit local attractions such as the Wharf or Alcatraz. We will pass your feedback to our Executive Chef of Knuckle's at the Wharf. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect spot for just about everything you would want to do in the city!! We stayed on the 3rd floor, during the BUSY crazy weekend of Oct. 4-8th. America's Cup, Fleet Week, Giants, 49'ers, Bluegrass Festival...yet we never felt crowded, ignored or rushed.
We were well treated and served, during our stay. The rooms are nice, very clean and all the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and professional.
Starbucks is served at the Cafe for early risers. We ate in the restaurant a few times...mainly snacks and some pretty decent clam chowder. Walking distance to just about everything and lots of public transportation close by.
Would absolutely recommend this hotel for business, pleasure or both!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, USA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This Hyatt is a 5 story building a block or so from Fisherman's Wharf with all its tourist attractions and restaurants. The smaller size of the building makes it a cozier place and the service reflects it. After I checked in the front desk addressed me by name and made sure I got the FedEx package that was sent for me. The pool and hot tub are in the courtyard in the center of the building. The pool was a nice size but because it's surrounded by five floors of rooms it was in the shade for much of the day.

The health club had plenty of cardio machines (5 treadmills) but no weight stations. The room had a safe and coffee machine but no fridge. I didn't have a car but it looked like there was only valet parking available and my guess is that it's pretty expensive. The hotel has a restaurant but the Hollywood Cafe across the street is supposed to be good for breakfast. They were full when I was there so I walked down a couple of blocks to Joanie's Diner for a delicious and inexpensive breakfast. The Hyatt made for a good base for a visit to Fisherman's Wharf.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I planned an extravagent month long honeymoon and this was the first stop. We stayed at this property for 4 nights and could not have been happier. We checked in with Luz who gives the appropriate amount of eye contact and makes you feel like she is happy you came there. Our room was originally booked as a double bed via our travel agent, but upon mentioning to Luz that we were celebrating our honeymoon, she bumped us up to a King bed, which we thoroughly appreciated. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in because we were several hours early, but they gladly held our bags and advised us they had a restaurant in the hotel, Knuckles. One suggestion, get the Roasted Chicken Tortilla Soup. I have tried a lot of them and this one was out of this world and the table side presentation was nice. I wish the staff would part with the recipe :). When we had our bags held, we received a 15% coupon off per bag that was held, for the restaurant.
Luz called my cell phone when the room was ready and we headed on up, which was still several hours before normal check in. The room was beautiful and smelled like clean cotton. Everything in the room was very modern, pristine, and up to date. There was no fridge in our room, but they are available in other rooms. The shower was European style, large, and had a glass partition. They stocked the bathroom every day with fresh supplies.
Another surprise that we did not expect, the front desk sent up a bottle of Champagne with truffles and apples for us just because we were on our honeymoon. They made our stay very special.
The hotel is in a great location. They have a mall located within walking distance, a great breakfast place across the street, and you can also walk down to the harbor where there are a multitude of options. This hotel is located near Pier 41.
The staff is extremely nice and went out of their way for any guests requests. While I was waiting for the concierge, another guest asked them for crutches and they managed to provide a pair. What can't this hotel do? OUTSTANDING and well worth the money!!!

Room Tip: Advise if there is anything special you are there to celebrate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you providing such a detailed review. I am honored that you chose our property to kick off your honeymoon. It sounds like you really enjoyed the service that Luz provided. I’ll be sure to share your wonderful comments. I’m glad that you found your room to be well appointed. We want our guests to be very comfortable and have everything they need to make for a memorable experience. I appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with us. Your recommendation is our greatest compliment. I hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.