We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place in busy tourist area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #95 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Peaceful place in busy tourist area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel with excellent and friendly staff. Good size room. Great location to tour SF Fisherman's Wharf, Alcatraz, the Embarcadero and other nearby San Francisco locations. We had an inside room and it was really quiet - something I really appreciate in a city. We had lunch at their restaurant and found the food very fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear CaliforniaOsprey:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent hotel stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. We're delighted to have provided a peaceful getaway. It's great to hear how well our location worked for you to visit local attractions such as the Wharf or Alcatraz. We will pass your feedback to our Executive Chef of Knuckle's at the Wharf. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    605
    264
    96
    39
See reviews for
410
528
51
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect spot for just about everything you would want to do in the city!! We stayed on the 3rd floor, during the BUSY crazy weekend of Oct. 4-8th. America's Cup, Fleet Week, Giants, 49'ers, Bluegrass Festival...yet we never felt crowded, ignored or rushed.
We were well treated and served, during our stay. The rooms are nice, very clean and all the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and professional.
Starbucks is served at the Cafe for early risers. We ate in the restaurant a few times...mainly snacks and some pretty decent clam chowder. Walking distance to just about everything and lots of public transportation close by.
Would absolutely recommend this hotel for business, pleasure or both!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, USA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This Hyatt is a 5 story building a block or so from Fisherman's Wharf with all its tourist attractions and restaurants. The smaller size of the building makes it a cozier place and the service reflects it. After I checked in the front desk addressed me by name and made sure I got the FedEx package that was sent for me. The pool and hot tub are in the courtyard in the center of the building. The pool was a nice size but because it's surrounded by five floors of rooms it was in the shade for much of the day.

The health club had plenty of cardio machines (5 treadmills) but no weight stations. The room had a safe and coffee machine but no fridge. I didn't have a car but it looked like there was only valet parking available and my guess is that it's pretty expensive. The hotel has a restaurant but the Hollywood Cafe across the street is supposed to be good for breakfast. They were full when I was there so I walked down a couple of blocks to Joanie's Diner for a delicious and inexpensive breakfast. The Hyatt made for a good base for a visit to Fisherman's Wharf.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I planned an extravagent month long honeymoon and this was the first stop. We stayed at this property for 4 nights and could not have been happier. We checked in with Luz who gives the appropriate amount of eye contact and makes you feel like she is happy you came there. Our room was originally booked as a double bed via our travel agent, but upon mentioning to Luz that we were celebrating our honeymoon, she bumped us up to a King bed, which we thoroughly appreciated. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in because we were several hours early, but they gladly held our bags and advised us they had a restaurant in the hotel, Knuckles. One suggestion, get the Roasted Chicken Tortilla Soup. I have tried a lot of them and this one was out of this world and the table side presentation was nice. I wish the staff would part with the recipe :). When we had our bags held, we received a 15% coupon off per bag that was held, for the restaurant.
Luz called my cell phone when the room was ready and we headed on up, which was still several hours before normal check in. The room was beautiful and smelled like clean cotton. Everything in the room was very modern, pristine, and up to date. There was no fridge in our room, but they are available in other rooms. The shower was European style, large, and had a glass partition. They stocked the bathroom every day with fresh supplies.
Another surprise that we did not expect, the front desk sent up a bottle of Champagne with truffles and apples for us just because we were on our honeymoon. They made our stay very special.
The hotel is in a great location. They have a mall located within walking distance, a great breakfast place across the street, and you can also walk down to the harbor where there are a multitude of options. This hotel is located near Pier 41.
The staff is extremely nice and went out of their way for any guests requests. While I was waiting for the concierge, another guest asked them for crutches and they managed to provide a pair. What can't this hotel do? OUTSTANDING and well worth the money!!!

Room Tip: Advise if there is anything special you are there to celebrate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you providing such a detailed review. I am honored that you chose our property to kick off your honeymoon. It sounds like you really enjoyed the service that Luz provided. I’ll be sure to share your wonderful comments. I’m glad that you found your room to be well appointed. We want our guests to be very comfortable and have everything they need to make for a memorable experience. I appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with us. Your recommendation is our greatest compliment. I hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place is in a good location, just a quick walk to the cable car and Ghardelli square. The rooms are very nice, the bathrooms are modern and the bads are great. Pool is nice but has issues with shade. The restaurant attached to the hotel is pretty cool, try the Pork shoulder, its fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great hotel, right on Fisherman's Wharf. Good bar and restaurant on premises, very helpful staff.
Very comfortable and clean. Would definely stay here again. You can request a refrigerator in your room if you would like. Laundry facilities on each floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itumbiara, GO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice location near the Fishrman's Wharf and pier 39! The cable car end line is one bock away, in front of a Starbucks, and it is the best transportation in San Francisco, you can go everywhere. Lombard street is nearby too, but you can go there by cable car too. Breakfast is not complimentary, but there is a nice cafe in front of the hotel that you can have a good breakfast for one half of the price. Parking is very expensive, about $ 25 a day, but there is a public parking lot nearby which is half the price. Knucles restaurant has a limited menu, but is a very pleasant place to have a drink. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The bathroom is nice and cleaning service was spotless. I recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.