We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for fisherman's wharf - more business than leisure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #91 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Well located for fisherman's wharf - more business than leisure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you're looking for a well located, clean, half-decent hotel near Fisherman's Wharf this place will certainly do the trick. It's just a few minutes walk from the piers and the Ghiradelli chocolate factory, the staff are friendly and the rooms are nicely laid out with big beds and bathrooms. However, it had an inescapably business feel to the place - everything is aimed at short stops with the necessary amenities rather than being geared towards luxury or a relaxing stay.

The room was comfortable and we even had a good view out the window of Coit tower and down towards the city. The bathroom only had a shower, but it was a large, walk-in one and there were nice toiletries. The cleaning staff were a little over-eager to get into the rooms, but kept the place in decent shape.

One of the big features they also advertise is that they have a pool. We went down one afternoon to have a look and while it nice to have the option, it was quite small, full of kids and there were no towels. Probably good for a quick swim if you want to freshen up after a day sightseeing, but don't plan to sit around it for a prolonged period of time.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but the sports bar downstairs looked OK, and there is a Denny's underneath the Holiday Inn across the road which was good for breakfast. There is also a nice place down the street called Hollywood Cafe which is definitely worth a visit.

We also stayed at the Tuscan Inn down the road, and can definitely stay that although there was nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, if picking between the two it wouldn't be the Hyatt that we would return to.

Room Tip: Ask for something on a higher floor - the rooms have floor to ceiling glass windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    589
    243
    88
    35
See reviews for
394
506
50
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for three nights last year and were impressed with the service by staff and our room was nice and clean, the cleaner did a great job! The location near FW made it easy for us to get to the wharf. The ferry to Alcatraz within walking distance. The local tram was just around the corner and was a joy to ride into the city centre and surrounds. Woolworths was around the corner and is a great place to get your meals and to buy fresh fruit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We just spent five nights here after visiting LA and before going to Vegas. I knew how touristy Fisherman's Wharf was but if you do choose a hotel in this area, I think the Hyatt is a good choice. We had two interconnecting rooms and although the decor was a little dated, they were spacious and clean. Knuckles, the onsite restaurant is very good and the Starbucks coffee is a real bonus. We also ate at Hollywood Grill, which is opposite the hotel, and is well worth a visit (amazing breakfasts). If I was staying in this area of San Francisco again, I would stay here and would recommend it. All the staff we encountered went out of their way to be helpful - very high level of customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very good location. Rooms were quite small but probably what you expect from a city hotel. Got a room by the jacuzzi which was quite noisy throughout the night. Rooms were very clean and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Pros
1. Location - on fishermans wharf, 2 blocks to the piers, 1 block to cable cars, great dining
2. Rooms - excellent rooms, all that I would expect from a Hyatt
3. Service - Great service, very nice front desk, the manager is wonderful
4. Food - Very nice buffet - higher end food

will certainly stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Iliketravel101010:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed our great location, and excellent rooms offered. We will make sure to recognize our Chefs at Knuckles at the Wharf. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyler tx
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice, we upgraded a package to a suite, lots of room. Very clean, and I can be a nut about cleanness! the coursierge was extremely helpful, spent a lotmof time with us as we did tours , play and dinner reservations for a week.
Enjoyed Knuckles every am for breakfast wonderful selection of fresh fruit and pasteries daily.....all in all wonderful. During remodel a women did not help with shower, If you, like me have never used a shower cap, prepare...in order to turn on shower you will need one to not get head to toe soak.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Hyatt was a very comfortable place to stay. Very good service and the restaurant was pretty good too. Good beds, pillows, linens, climate control. We stayed there during the 2012 US Open Golf tournament. Very convenient for public transportation, lots of restaurants and shopping close by. Only criticism is that the wi-fi should be free. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.