We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oddest Shower Design Ever” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #104 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Oddest Shower Design Ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is fine. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are a decent size. The rooms either have been or are in the process of being remodeled; including the bathroom which had the oddest shower I have ever been in. There is NO door. There is a stationary glass wall separating the kamode from the shower but there is no door or curtain to open/close. The shower "head" is in the ceiling and you have to step into the shower in order to turn the water on. Unless you have long arms, you end up getting doused in cold water just to turn on the shower.

Other than that, the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    650
    288
    120
    51
See reviews for
460
568
56
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I had a business conference in Vegas and came to San Francisco for a long weekend afterwards. We like being in the Fisherman's Wharf area and chose the Hyatt as the nicest hotel in the area. I can't say enough about how helpful and accomodating the entire front Lobby staff was. Everyone went out of their way to make sure the room had all the amenities that we needed. The hotel itself was clean, recently updated and in a perfect location. Short walking distance to many major attractions in additon to a Safeway, Trader Joes and numerous family type restaurants. A great stay in a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Captain38:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your time spent at our Hyatt at Fisherman's Wharf. It's great to hear how helpful the entire Front Office employees were. Hyatt takes great pride in our associates offering great customer service. They will be recognized for their efforts. We're delighted to hear they ensured you had all of your necessary needs met for your stay and in your room. We hope to welcome you back again. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Hyatt at Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco in December.

The best part of the hotel is its location. Other than that it was a very standard hotel with almost no personal touch.

The room looked small and kind of dark. There is valet parking for about USD 44 plus tax. This is way too expensive so we parked on the street overnight for free right outside the hotel. Just remember that you need to feed the meter at 7am. For us this was not a problem as we were jet-lagged and would wake up early anyway.

What I really did not like was that I made 2 phone calls to San Jose from the hotel phone. The first one lasted one minute and cost 8 dollars. The second call lasted 2 minutes and was 9 dollars. When we were checking out I saw the calls on the bill and could not believe my eyes. I still find it totally rediculous to be charged 8 dollars for a call of under 1 minute from San Francisco to San Jose. The receptionist told me my calls were "long distance" and that she never uses the phone at hotels where she stays. Really?! I couldn't believe the explanation. After I asked who I should speak to, she waived the charges for one of the phones and blamed AT&T for setting high prices.

Overall, I would most likely not return to this hotel and I am starting to question whether I would like to stay at another Hyatt again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Don't expect the upscale highrise Hyatt. This is a Hyatt upgrade of an preexisting building. All of the buildings in the wharf area are the same height, so don't bother requesting a room with a view. This is about a location convenient to the wharf/touristy area of the city.

Our room was very nice and comfortable (flatscreen t.v., upgraded bed linens, nice bed, travertine bathroom tile and vessel sink) and we were able to check in at 10:00 a.m. Staff are super friendly and helpful. The lobby is small, as is the parking area for check in. There is a nice but pricey restaurant and bar. Coin operated washers and dryers are conveniently located on each floor.

Bus stops are nearby as is a cable car ride up to the Coit Tower area. Nearby are restaurants like Denny's and Ihop, McDonald's, In and Out Burger, and then nicer spots west of Fisherman's Wharf and near the Alcatraz pier. Car rental agencies are a block over in case you want to rent a car for the day to go to Monterrey, Saulsalito, etc. The BART stop and Alcatraz pier are a 10" brisk walk away, and there are no hills, so plan the extra walk time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here again in May 2010. We had previously stayed here back in June 2007 for our honeymoon but loved San Francisco and this hotel so much we came back! The hotel was still just as good the 2nd time around, its near Fishermans Wharf, Ghiradellis Square, and in all a great location!! Safeways supermarket is two blocks away, and there is a starbucks just behind the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly and to be honest its one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.
In all we absolutely loved this hotel and hope to return to San Francisco at some point, we'll definitely be returning to the Hyatt.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
We appreciate you sharing the details of your stay with us. We're glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed staying with us again. We're delighted our staff was able to help make your stay one to remember. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I just stayed at The Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf for 2 days. First, I would suggest that you look for any special deal that includes parking. Parking in the Fisherman's Wharf area, and downtown SF for that matter, is very expensive. A taxi ride from the airport, SFO, will set you back about $60.00. On occasion, the Hyatt has a Town Car that will take you back to the airport for $65.00, plus tip. The good thing about that is that you can add it as a room charge. If you are only staying one or two days, a car rental may, in fact, be cheaper and give you more flexibility. If you can find a deal with parking, then the rental is the way to go.
The Hotel is ideally situated for hanging out at the Wharf. It is not actually on Fisherman's wharf / Jefferson Street, which is, In my opinion, a good thing. It is only 2 blocks off the wharf area, which makes the area less noisy and crowded. Additionally, right behind the hotel is the starting station for the Powell & Mason cable car line, which will take you to Union Square and Market Street, and all the upscale shopping. Coming back from Union square you can take the Powell & Hyde cable car line which will take you, and ends at, the Ghiradelli Square/ Victorian Park area. This is also the west end of the Fisherman's wharf area, so you can walk down Fisherman's wharf and then back to the hotel with ease. An additional note about the cable cars: a single trip costs $6.00, but a day pass costs $14.00. So if you are going to try to take more than just one round trip, or get off and on - like stopping in China town on the way to Union Square, then the day pass is the way to go. When trying to get back from Union Square, I suggest that you go the the starting point of the cable car line at Powell and Market Street. The cable cars tend to be full by the time they get to Union Square and if you are lucky enough to get on one, it will probably be standing on the outside and hanging on. That is a true San Francisco experience and fine for 20 somethings, but not so much fun for seniors or people with shopping bags.
The hotel itself is a typical Hyatt. The staff are friendly and efficient. The room are clean and well appointed. The King room we stayed in was roomy and had a desk with plenty of plugs for the computer and charging phones, etc. Note that there is a $9.95 per day WiFi charge.
The hotel has a restaurant / sports bar. The food is fine but, as with any hotel, a little pricey.
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I always suggest asking for the top floor, in this case the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear onlyslightlyLost:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf. We appreciate you going into such detail about your recent stay. It's great that you were able to enjoy you time in the Wharf area, along with jumping on the cable car line, right outside of our hotel, and conveniently explore other areas of the city.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Your referral is our biggest compliment.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the water and the Golden Gate Bridge. It's also within walking distance to Ghiradelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf. The cable car station is close too which can take you to lots of other places in the city. The hotel was up-to-date and had very comfortable beds. We loved having Knuckles, the sports bar next door. We booked the free parking special which also came with a breakfast buffet at Knuckles. The buffet had hot & cold options and was a nice spread, more choices than most. There were also made-to-order omelets available. We also enjoyed Knuckles at the end of the day for a drink and some football. The concierge at the hotel was helpful & had lots of recommendations for things to do. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#111 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 2,860 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman...
#70 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#15 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#88 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman'...
#63 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 555 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. Exciting attractions are nearby, including PIER 39, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. At San Francisco's most European Hyatt, you'll find 313 guestrooms and suites, 19,000 square feet of Conference Space, Outdoor heated pool and fully equipped fitness center. Automated Business Center available 24 hours, high speed wireless capabilities in guestrooms and function space, and Concierge Services. Knuckles Historical Sports Bar & Grill voted #1 Sports Bar in San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Hyatt Fishermans Wharf
Fishermans Wharf Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.