We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   580 Beach Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #59 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Decatur, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here July 20th-24th with my family (3 of us). The hotel is steps away from everything Fisherman's Wharf has to offer. Plenty of stores and restaurants within blocks. Ghirardelli Square is 2 blocks away and you can catch the cable car right there which will take you towards Union Square and Chinatown. Pier 39 is only blocks away and offers restaurants, stores, entertainment and of course the sea lions, The room was spacious and modern and included a refrigerator which is always nice to have. The staff were more than accommodating and were able to help us when needed. You are also only 4 blocks away from "the crookedest street" Lombard Street. For breakfast you can use the Bistro at the hotel which closes at 9:30am or walk across the street to Andersen Bakery (on Beach Street) who serve breakfast until 11am. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    290
    97
    18
    11
See reviews for
280
168
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We took our grandson to San Francisco to visit his uncle and see the sights for his tenth birthday. The Courtyard was a perfect choice in terms of location and comfort. We had City Passes (highly recommend) and could hop on transportation one block away to anywhere in the city. We could also start our day by walking by the piers and saying good morning to the sea lions before noshing on sourdough bread for breakfast. We came in and out, depending on how nearby our activities were, and our room was always clean and fresh for us. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the staff always greeted us when we came through the door. All this and a senior discount!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Good hotel but a little quirky. You can't beat the location. You are around the corner from so many things like hop on-off tours, restaurants, and Walgreens. If you are on the street side, it can be noisy. We were up very early for morning tours so it wasn't an issue for us. But you do hear the street noise. There is laundry with free detergent and fabric softener. The machines are $1.50 each. The stairwells lock behind you so if you just want to go up or down a flight, you are forced to the lobby. Kind of a pain when there was a wait for the elevator and I just wanted to go down one flight. Also they thought I was crazy when I asked for To Go cups to take coffee with us out of the hotel. They have glass mugs in the room but no plastic cups to take with you. These are minor things though. Everyone seemed very nice at the front desk. Early in the am I had to wait about 5 minutes for someone to assist me.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at this property. The rooms were clean, nothing fancy, no breakfast as is Courtyards policy (except the Bistro which we did not try). The great benefit is the location - a block from the F-line - the trolley that took us for 75 cents a day (we are seniors, save your receipt and you can use it all day). Also, they did have a mini refrig which I did not see on the website. Walking distance to Walgreens, Safeway, and many restaurants. We read that there was a noise problem - I asked for a quiet room - never heard anything and we go to bed early. Very expensive property, as is all of San Francisco, but we did not rent a car, and this hotel is not on one of the hills, so easy walking for us. Doubt if we will be back to San Francisco, but I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

two blocks to the wharf but the area is dirty, the hotel needs a facelift and I would look elsewhere. staff were friendly. park your car in the deck next to the hotel and save yourself a few dollars. Valet is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia c, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate your review. Your comments about the area will brought up with the Fisherman’s Wharf Merchant Association. We will review your observations about the property. Thank you for the compliment on the friendly staff. We offer valet parking as a convenience for our guest at a value much less than our competition. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel has great access to waterfront, close to trolley, ferries, cable car, and bus/bike tours. Nicely updated rooms, good beds and AC unit. Service great, stored our bags when we arrived early, rushed room, and called us when ready. Valet $15 cheaper per nite than local competitors. Park your car and forget it-would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Could not have asked for a better location. That's what you pay for and that's what you get. Average room with a view of the In and Out Burger court yard. Linen a bit dingy and rugs showing their age. Staff helpful when around. (Early check out and no one was home.) Back to the convenience. In the heart of the Wharf and within walking distance to most attractions. That was worth the inflated cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 580 Beach Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Courtyard Fishermans Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
San Francisco Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.