We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, Close...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   580 Beach Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #57 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, Close...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Close to everything. Our family arrived here yesterday and opted not to rent a vehicle. We are a little more than a mile away from; the golden gate, north beach, the shopping district of San Francisco. We are less than a half mile from the Wharf.

A very well managed and clean place to stay. It is very clear that the team here takes great pride in their job and maintaining a functional environment for guests. The layout is a bit strange, but considering the lay of the actual land, it serves it's purpose. Tons of dining options, attractions, and places to visit.

Complimentary coffee in the morning in the bistro. On site breakfast is a bit pricey.

You may want to consider bringing your own towel. They are not as plush or large as Marriot frequenters might have come to expect.

Also, if you care about view it will be important in your planning to mention this. Our room looks directly at the parking structure of Fisherman's Wharf... but we aren't in here for the view (that's outside)...

The matriarch of our family is not completely one specific concierge. The other two she has visited with are both quite friendly.

Room Tip: 241 and 243 adjoin. Nice for larger families who are looking for closeness and separation all at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    300
    100
    20
    11
See reviews for
289
173
16
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is located on the Fisherman's Wharf, less than 10 minutes walk to Pier 39 and 5 min walk to Ghirardelli square and Hyde street where you can catch a cable car.
The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and the beds were very comfortable.
There is a cafe on the 2nd floor, it is convenient but the choice is limited.
The parking fee is $35/day.
Overall good experience, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during the month of March. The hotel was very clean and the staff always super friendly. The hotel is located within walking distance to many sights and we loved staying in this area. It is a very touristy spot, but you have easy access to bike tours, bus tours, and many other touristy things. It's good to be a tourist sometimes and the wharf makes it easy. Concierge was outstanding and attentive but help at the front desk was so so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

One block from the Embarcadero along the Wharf area - closer to the Hyde Street Pier section. We got fresh fruit from a Safeway grocery store a block around the corner, and coffee from Starbucks right by that. Parking was valet only at $36 plus tax per night, BUT...we recommend the parking garage 5 steps next door in the Anchorage Center - they have a hotel special for $25 all inclusive per night. Our rooms were reasonable at $209/night; we stayed a week. They give you a special ticket that gets you in and out 24/7 until you leave, and it's under surveillance and seemed very safe. Hotel rooms good size, clean, fridge in room. Breakfast service in hotel not complimentary, but it is available continental style for a la carte charge - they call it a "bistro." There is no big lobby since it's the Courtyard - not like the bigger Marriotts if you're not familiar with that - we like that though. We didn't eat there - too many other choices (see Peragmino's review for across street breakfast)! We walked to Coit tower, all up and down the Wharf, Aquatic Park, to cable cars, and we even walked back to our hotel from Chinatown! There are numerous public transportation options easy and close. Front desk so polite and friendly. If you're not familiary with SF area, there are lots of homeless, but they are not aggressive, and the Wharf is a very safe area - even to walk around at night. Only con was trouble with internet connection from laptop - worked great from ipad, but must have been a glitch with the laptop firewall (windows 8). We love Marriott hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floRida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is one block from the main Wharf section. It is close to everything including public transportation. They have a concierge with great suggestions and very professional. I wish I had used them to choose our tour bus company. We probably would not have been stuck with the horrible company we ended up with. That aside, this hotel is staffed with the nicest, most professional people. The beds are super comfortable. There is a restaurant for breakfast in the hotel. The rooms have mini fridges. They are next door to In and Out burger. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to purchase day passes for the transit system, they sell them at the Walgreens next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the first time I stayed at this hotel, and it's better than most Courtyard hotels in the chain. There was not any taxi's waiting outside when I wanted to leave in the morning, but I found one not too far away. So you might want them to call you a cab when you are ready to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicottville, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a great hotel with nice rooms and a perfect location right next to Fisherman's Wharf. It's the place to stay if you're in San Francisco and want to be near, but not in, the downtown area and next to the best sites, the Golden Gate bridge and the piers to take you out to Alcatraz and Angel Island. The lobby of this hotel is a bar, and the layout is different, but overall a good option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 580 Beach Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Courtyard Fishermans Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco
San Francisco Courtyard
San Francisco Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.