We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #91 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
st helens
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour across America. Good location right next to the cable car line so had no difficulty getting on one. Clean hotel with friendly staff. We had a corner room which was very nice. We had made a request for a high floor but this could not be accomodated but on our last night there was a lovely surprise in our room to help us celebrate our special event. Thank you it was really very thoughtful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I’ve heard so many great tales about that tour. It sounds like the most amazing trip, especially when you have something special to celebrate. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    547
    302
    80
    48
See reviews for
234
438
89
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was here in August for 3 nights and I enjoyed it, My room was clean had a nice view of the sunset from my room, The check in staff were friendly and helpful, I had no problems with the elevators and I was in and out every day...

Great location to transport as they have a bus stop across the road for coming back to the Hotel and one just on the corner down from where the hotel is, that goes down Van Ness Ave. which only costs 2 1 dollar notes, There is also a cable car which is very close by too... You can buy day passes from the Gift shop inside the Hotel which includes Buses, Cable cars, which covers all of the main parts of San Francisco..

I found the two ladies that worked in the Gift shop extremely helpful ! Also if you are after a great breakfast or lunch do try New Village Cafe located on Polk street which is only a 5 min. walk as the food is great and very affordable !!

Overall my stay here was Great and I would recommend this Hotel to my Family & Friends !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Mmm, I love it when guests recommend great places to eat. We sure appreciate so many thoughtful remarks. Potential guests can learn so much from reading reviews about the passes you mentioned, the renovated rooms, and the staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here sometime ago on the 25th floor facing the Pacific. Whilst not the best hotel in town, it's position at the end of the Californa Line gives it at envious position. Our trips into town travelling up and over Nob Hill were fantastic. Add to it that the hotel sits on the fire line from the 1906 earthquake (Van Ness Ave) it all adds up to a great, affordable place to stay. You can just see the Golden Gate Bridge through the other buildings, and if facing the pacific you can marvel at the mist rolling in through the streets, all the better when high up. The restaurant around the corner, made out of an old cable car serves great food.

P.S. the date specified is incorrect, I stayed here in 2000, but the system does not allow me to enter anything earlier.

Room Tip: If staying here, ask for a room level 20 and above, views are great no matter which way you face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Don’t worry, reviews get better with age. Although I think 13 years may set a record. The history and location do make this a unique spot. It’s also the only cable car stop without long lines. I believe the restaurant you’re speaking of is Portuguese, and it’s called the Grubstake. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I went for a holiday to San Francisco recently, after much research in which hotel to stay at we decided on The Holiday Inn, 1500 Van Ness Blvd. The location was awesome, we were able to walk most of the downtown and wharf area without transportation. The hotel is right at the cable car on California St which is great. The staff were friendly and helpful

The down side to this hotel is we paid a premium for a harbour view which we didn't get ,we were on the 26th floor so the view of part of the city was good. We did not find the room particularly clean and it was small and dated.The parking was such a premium $40.00 per day. you can park one block away for $30.00 a day in a public underground. Worth the 5 minute walk. For the cost of our room I think there is better value in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Our Grand View rooms always have views of the bay. Depending on which direction the room faces, the amazing views up there will include downtown San Francisco or towards Golden Gate Bridge and Sausalito. I'm happy that you were able to find parking that better accommodated your needs. Local options are handed out at the Front Desk, and work well if you don't need in and out privileges or 24 hour access. I hope our location is ideal for you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We had a room on the 11th floor with great views over the city ( if its not foggy). The room was very clean and tidy and well appointed. The hotel was in a good location for public transport and cable cars with bus stops and the end of line terminus right next to the hotel. We got a day ticket from the shop in the hotel which covered, buses, trams and cable cars. The pools on the 6th floor and was clean and in good condition with towels for swimmers. The lifts take a bit of getting used to, and we had fun watching people get in the lift to go up and the door opening and closing a few time without going anywhere. All in all a a nice city hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. The elevators actually include one of our many security features. Without swiping a room key, they won't go anywhere. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed with family for 5 nights. They don't have an official hotel shuttle from the airport but not much of an issue since there are plenty outside of SFO. We checked in very late in the evening and were surprised to find that the bellhop was off. Normally not an issue but we were travelling for a long time and had 8 large bags and 4 carry ons. My brother, being our only male companion, had a hard time getting everything loaded on the trolley. Check in was quick, no issues with the room. Got upgraded to a city view which was nice. Hotel provided a list of restaurants near the area as well as a vicinity map which was helpful. Rooms were pretty clean, beds were nice, however found it weird to have no utensils in the room (though it was easy to get one from downstairs). Ice is only available every other floor. Also, there is no microwave in this hotel. The one thing we found kind of annoying though was that we kept getting only 3 towels when we had checked in as a party of four. Got some help from the concierge and she was pretty helpful. We also booked an airport shuttle from her and it was cheaper than the going rate at the airport.
Location is actually pretty good since it's pretty much near fisherman's wharf and union square. When I say near, I mean it's a couple of stops from the muni bus that runs in front of the hotel and the tram on the street beside it. It's not walkable near like if you actually stayed in the Fisherman's wharf area or the Union Square. Don't be put off though because the hotel is secure (requires card in the elevator) and there's not a lot of people roaming the streets in front of it (unlike the wharf are and union square). If you're a day tripping type of person, this is very ideal. Also seems to be the hotel of choice for a lot of tour companies.
Overall, for long stays with families, seems to be a good choice for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
You were generous to provide so many of your experiences at our hotel. I agree with all of them. We absolutely must identify when families or parties of 4 are staying with us so that we can replenish the rooms accordingly. Thank you for picking our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here one night over a weekend in September. This hotel has a good location and a friendly staff. Bad restaurants attached to it, but that's not necessarily the fault of the hotel (though it reflects badly on the overall experience). Located close to Philz Coffee, which contains the best coffee I've ever had.

One interesting thing happened, the power browned out for the elevators. The response from staff was largely non-responsive. People continued to try and get on the elevator, and the only advice from reception was that "the bar still has 20 minutes open - get a drink!"

Waiting for half an hour to get back up to the room on the 20th floor was a bit of an inconvenience. But this kind of thing is sporadic and I don't want to fault the hotel for it happening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I definitely appreciate feedback from that night in September. The power failure took out the entire neighborhood for awhile. We opened up the stairwell for the guests that decided to walk up, but our response could have been better for those that decided to wait. I have begun to hear about Philz and will be sure to get down there to try it soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.