We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #93 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Aberdeen, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“San Francisco Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location. Able to explore the city in all directions, easily and quickly. Having the cable car stop at the intersection made things that much easier. Staff was helpful and plentiful.
Only down side was transit back to the airport, outsourced service. Driver rude, not a smooth transition from hotel back to airport. Bart was cheaper and actually more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Found the room to be fairly quiet. "View Room" on the west side had a nice view and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
This is just what reviews are for. I wouldn't have heard about your shuttle experience any other way. Thank you for taking the time to let me know. Our experience with them is usually quite positive. However, you mentioned a great alternative. A short bus or taxi ride will connect BART to the hotel. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    450
    253
    74
    44
See reviews for
192
353
71
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway with my teenage daughter in August, 2013. The hotel is located on California and Van Ness, which is at one end of the California cable car line. This line takes you through China town and to the financial district. The front desk, housekeeping, and bell staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean with a great view of the city. The hotel has a laundry room in the hotel, which is located near the pool. I was able to do a load of laundry and swim while I was waiting. The pool is small, about 20 yards, but big enough to do some laps. It is not on the roof, but it still has a great view of the city. The only average part of our experience was the dining room. The food was good, but the wait staff were loud and two of them got in a fight in the dining room while we were there. Overall, I would recommend the hotel for its location, price, and rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
You found the best Cable car stop. I like to ride it up and over Nob Hill and down towards the waterfont before taking a ferry ride. Your visit sounds like a memorable visit with your daughter. We should recommend your multi-tasking idea to other guests; swimming and laundry! Thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a quad room for 2 adults and 2 teenage children, the room size was fairly small so we were quite cramped. views and location were great, especially being at the terminus of the tramway! We took the breakfast buffet ONCE, food was ok, but found the 90 dollar bill(once tips and tax added)very high, especially as we didn't eat very much! all in all a good experience though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
You're absolutely right, the tramway (Cable car) is ideal for getting around the city. It allows us to be away from all of the other tall buildings, which in turn makes it possible to offer great views. I'm happy that you enjoyed both the location and the view. I also understand that feeding an entire family in the hotel can be expensive. The price you mentioned seems to reflect the full buffet for four people. If we are lucky enough to have your business again in the future, I hope the breakfast package (Room and breakfast) works better for your family. Guests also have the choice of a continental breakfast or ordering off the menu, both of which are more economical. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Although not the fanciest interior the Hotel is very clean, comfortable and a good place to stay for a few days if you visit San Francisco. Especially the staff is very friendly and helpful. Even when you have unusual requests they were extremely supportive. We walked to Fisherman's Wharf but there is a bus stop near the Hotel and you can take the bus as well to visit all the usual spots.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
It's one thing to have a clean hotel, but it's an entirely different matter to have staff dedicated to providing service that goes above and beyond. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived at this location and an error had been made on the reservation. The check-in person not only corrected the mistake but upgraded our stay to one of the top floors. The View was AMAZING! If you can afford the extra money (about $25.00 a night) we thought it was well worth it. We could see Alcatraz from our room.

My boys were craving cheese cake so we stopped by the lounge and they both said it was excellent. We were able to get trolley car tickets in the store off the lobby and hopped on the trolley car just out the front door.

The parking was expensive $40.00 per night, but it was great to be able to get in and out as we needed. Talking to other people it sounded like rates in that area run $30.00 to $40.00 a night everywhere.

Room Tip: ask for a view of Alcatraz
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I love to hear when the staff responds to problems and provide exemplary solutions and service. Each vacation and hotel will experience different issues, but it's in the solution that we remember whether the trip was a positive one or not. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We got several two double bed rooms for a family get together. As recommended in prior reviews, we got rooms on upper floors and the views were excellent - big windows overlooking the city and the lights at night. These rooms were not huge but comfortably sized. They were nicely but generically furnished and clean. The staff here was friendly, but was somewhat disorganized when we arrived at the same time as a bunch of other people. We bought the breakfast with the rooms, which was a good idea as it is $25 for a serve yourself buffet otherwise, plus an automatic 15% gratuity for a larger group even though you serve yourself! The breakfast was complete, but could have been more healthy with the addition of some whole grain and more vegie options.

Room Tip: Get upper floor room and add breakfast to room charge when you book room. Keep number of cars to a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It is an honor to host you and your family at our hotel. You've made some excellent suggestions. The packages that include breakfast, parking, cable cars, or shopping makes sound choices. They are often more economical than purchasing everything separately. Although our breakfast already includes granola, fruit, and juice, I will be sure to pass along your request for additional vegetarian choices. This is important because the first meal of the day is too vital to be an afterthought. Secure parking garages with 24-hour access and in-and-out privileges are all comparably priced. Some better rates can be found close by if some of those features are not necessary. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the city soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The title says it all. We stayed two nights and were surprised how close Fisherman's Wharf is, along with a host of other places. Restaurants and bars on Polk street are 100 ft away. One will walk quite a bit in San Fran but the Muni passes really helped (ride buses, trolleys, and the famous cable cars)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
The muni pass may very well be the best way to see the entire city. It's great to hear how well the location worked for you. We'd love to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.