We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Canberra
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed for five nights as a sole traveller and managed to get a room on the 23rd floor overlooking the west of the city out to the Bay. My room was very comfortable with a gorgeous king-size bed, flat screen tv offering cable tv and movies. The room was a good size and had a nice desk, roomy fridge and lovely bathroom. I ordered room service a few times and the meals came quickly and were delicious - good value for money too. The pool area was inviting and I also used the laundry facilities and small gym.

Room Tip: My room on the 23rd floor offered a great view to the west of the city and out to the Bay near the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Like you, I have always preferred a fridge instead of a mini bar. Room Service will be excited to hear of your experience. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    506
    285
    77
    46
See reviews for
216
406
81
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A fantastic hotel. A good sized room t.v. coffee machine safe and more, all the facilities you need. What a view from the upper level! Our room was on the 21st floor. Hotel not far from Fishermans wharf and Union square. The buffet breakfast very good as was the food in the bar of a evening. Local bus service good, a ride on the world famous cable cars a must. 2 days not long enough time to spend in this special city with it`s friendly locals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are honored to be a small part of your tour. Your positive comments about the breakfast buffet will be passed along to the chef. Thank you for sharing these memories with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was a great hotel. Great location, excellent service, and very nice room. The only negative we had was several hotel keys did not work and were staying on the 26th floor. So it was a long way back down! Also our parking card never worked so after hauling our huge suitcase up and down stairs to get to the garage then we would be trapped and couldn't get outside. Then would have to haul it all the way back to the lobby. But once we got there they were great to go with us and physically open the door for us. It was just a hassle but many things were in San Francisco. We did like this hotel and I'm glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
It's great to hear that your overall experience was very positive. Clearly, the electronic key issue needs to be resolved. I am happy to hear that the staff took good care of you as soon as you came to them with the problem. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My room on the 18th floor was terrific , with a great panoramic view and a big desk to work. I loved the room -- it was clean, felt modern, and had a good bed. No closet -- you get a smallish wardrobe to hang your clothes so could be tight for more than one person.

Location is pretty good, with the cable car around the corner (but it's an expensive $6 to ride) that will get you to the financial district. Internet access was free and easy (no annoying passwords). Parking at the hotel is very expensive at $40+tax with in/out privileges. Room rate was relatively lower (with corporate rate), however, though does not include breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I couldn't agree more about the views. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the desk, wardrobe, and cable cars. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband, myself and daughter stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 1 - 4 July 2013. The room was well appointed with everything we needed. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Everyone spoke even those who were just walking by. Aida in the gift shop was very helpful with information on how to get about and what to go and see. Well worth having a chat as her advice proved just right for us. The day we were leaving my husband and I went to collect our hire car which took considerably longer than expected. We left our 18 year old daughter with all our luggage at the hotel. David and other members of staff took it upon themselves to keep checking up with her to make sure she was okay, even to the extent of providing her with food and drink at no cost to ourselves. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It may be slightly out from the centre but you can ride the cable car at the end of the block and take in the magnificent views on the way down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
These are the kind of experiences that keep us coming back to work every day. Thank you for staying at our hotel and giving us the opportunity to make your visit exceptional. Aida, David and the rest of the staff will be overjoyed to hear your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ealing,london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Looking at the map at home in the UK this hotel seemed kind of out in the sticks. How wrong we were.Literally around the corner was the start /terminus of a cable car line. To change lines the conductor calls out the change. Get a MUNI card from the gift shop - each cable car ride costs US 6 dollars the MUNI card costs 14 dollars so 3 rides and you have saved plus it is also good for the buses, etc. The gift shop will also sell you tickets for trips- we went on a day trip down to Monterey,17-mile drive and Carmel, pick up and drop back at the hotel. There are loads of eateries behind the hotel in Polk Street. Have breakfast at the New Village Cafe, a family run greasy spoon run by a Korean Mom and Pop. Excellent breakfasts at very reasonable prices. We ate breakfast there several times and Mom came to shake our hands when we told her that, alas, we would not be there the next morning as we were going home to London. Have dinner at the Bamboo, opposite the Village Cafe, also in Polk Street. It seems to be used by he locals as a popular carry out which, given that there are other Chinese cafes, speaks for itself.

Room Tip: I ticked spa in error.yet again choose high for a good view and if you swim go early otherwise you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Your review was kind and generous. We also enjoy having the Cable Car and great restaurants so close to the hotel. It woud be a pleasure to host your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I spend a few nights in this hotel and we can't really think of a bad thing to say! Our room had a beautiful view of the city in a VERY clean room! The hotel staff were very friendly and the concierge staff in the gift shop were very helpful. Extra points for having allergy friendly pillows! Even more points for having fridges in the room. This is good if you would like to buy items at a grocery store so you can save money by not eating out every meal. The hotel is very close to the California Cable car line and many bus routes. The location is also very central in that you can access the many tourist points in San Francisco from about equal distance. AAA members get a discount as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It is always wonderful to hear a great review about the service. The staff will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.