We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for transport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good location for transport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very functional and comfortable hotel. Handily located for public transport with bus stops outside on routes to Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. Also out to Golden Gate Bridge with one easy change. California Street Cable Car stop just aroung corner. Buy a MUNI Passport for $21 whiich allows 3 days travel on all public transport incuding cable cars. Available from the very helpful Concierge in the shop. For breakfast try the Village Cafe just around the back of the block. Looks a bit rough and ready but provides excellent choice at value prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear JackPoulton,

It sounds like you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco. Our location is perfect for accessing public transportation to see the city. Buying the MUNI pass was a great idea. I hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    510
    288
    77
    46
See reviews for
218
410
81
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice rooms and nice views, room was clean, very busy check in, the main reason we stayed here was the location, 2 blocks from where our sons live, also can walk to many great places to see-
Grace Cathedral, from there see the small but very cool Cable Car museum.
There was an odd smell coming from the sink, close the drain, fill the sink, shut the bathroom door,
and all is good. My husband never noticed but it bothered me. Otherwise I would have given a higher rating. Bedding was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sharon D,

It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The views from our hotel are great. The housekeepers strive to supply clean rooms and your experience is proof of that. The smell from the sink is disconcerting. There must be some problem with the trap. If you can reply with the room number you staying in, I can make certain this is taken care of for the next guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

It was a nice and modern hotel with a great view of the city even though the windows hadn't been cleaned for ages. The room was very comfortable and clean and the only negative thing was the elevators making a quite loud and annoying sound which made it hard to sleep so ask for a room as far away from those and you should be fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Johannes v.

Thank you for your comments. I agree, the views from this hotel are amazing. I am happy to announce that the windows are being cleaned and will be finished in a few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is what you would expect for a Holiday Inn. Somewhat worn down and old, but clean. My room did not have a view of the bridge. My main complaint is that the location is very bad for walking around SF. There is a trolley line nearby (California St), but it is $6 per trip, so it got quite expensive. The hotel is not near any of the tourist attractions or Union Square.

The free wireless was plenty fast for email and web browsing. There is a charge for faster internet, but I didn't need it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Kelly B,

I am happy to report that the hotel is being updated and upgraded beginning in December. If you have a chance to visit us again, I am certain you will be surprised and pleased. I agree, the cable car can get expensive. If you visit the city again, purchase a MUNI pass. You receive unlimited rides on all buses, trolleys and cable cars (not BART), $14 for one day, $21 for three days and $27 for seven days. This pass opens up access to the entire city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I stayed for 3 nights, 5th floor next to very noisy lift system, a lot of rooms in hotel are next to the lifts!!, if you get one - change it. Shabby hotel in great need of renovation. Room space adequate if a little scarce - telly didn't even work, not much space to put things. Bathroom ok and water hot. We had a poor view from our window, noisy location but we were in a city location which gave us excellent tram system access. Location a little on the rough side, places to eat nearby, get on and use tram, 3 day pass excellent value at $20. Used the naff pool once and once only, it is outside and cold, supposed to be heated! However towels are supplied free of charge. In a nutshell I wouldn't use this hotel again. However wow what a city San Fran is, loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear micwic,

It is disappointing to hear that your stay with us do not go well. I am very sorry about that. I hope you will have a chance to visit San Francisco again. The hotel is being updated and upgraded beginning in December. We are all excited about the positive changes that will be occurring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here while in San Francisco for 5 days.

Hotel was very good. We were placed on the 22nd floor which offered a great view.

The location is excellent. You can easily travel to parts of SF with Bus stops right outside the hotel and a Cable car stop on California Street (which is next to the hotel). Buy a Muni Pass and travel the buses and cable cars as single trips on a cable car are $6 one way, but a 7 day pass is only $27. You can buy these from the Hotel's gift shop.

Breakfast was good. Offering Continental as well as hot (though 5 days of Scarmbled eggs got boring).

There is a pool on the 6th floor, but we never used it.

Rooms were well sized and clean. Beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a high floor when booking. Away from the street noise and much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear MrFreeperson,

It sounds like you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in San Francisco. That we supplied you with a comfortable and clean room is good to hear. Our housekeepers take pride in their work. I will make sure to show them your comments, as well as the restaurant staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, england
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour and we loved it. We were on the 21st floor and over looked the road but were not troubled by road noise at all and enjoyed seeing the city lit up at night from our window. The room itself was comfortable with the choice of soft or firmer pillows and we slept well. Location was good within easy reach of local buses or the famous cable cars. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on restaurant, there were several eating places nearby. All in all loved San Francisco and were happy with this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear littlemillie,

That you were happy with the hotel and loved the city is what we strive for. San Francisco is such a unique city, it sounds like you made the most of your time here. Hope you have the opportunity to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.