We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an extended stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good for an extended stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 for nearly three weeks on a business trip. The hotel was selected and paid for by my employer, so I am really unable to comment on the value of the hotel compared to others available in San Francisco. The decor could have used a little freshening/cleaning (just signs wear and tear, like scuff marks on the walls). The room itself was clean, and the housekeeping staff were very friendly and accomodating throughout my stay (due to the duration of my stay, I had my room serviced only every other day). While I would have really liked to have a microwave in the room, which the hotel does not have an option for, there was a decent sized refrigerator. That, combined with the fact that there is a Whole Foods one block away, was very convenient for a long stay. Sleep quality was good- some street noise that was easily blocked with earplugs, but no real noise problems from adjacent rooms and the hallway. There were good transportation connections, to include the cable car, right outside the hotel. I mainly did a lot of walking for excercise, and if you can handle walking the hills, there are some nice restaurants in the neighborhood, especially on Hyde St. I gave this hotel only an "average" rating because although I was satisfied with my stay, I think that the location may be a bit less desirable for those who are visiting solely for tourist/vacation reasons. Also, although I found the location to be perfectly fine, there are some rough areas nearby if you walk the wrong way not knowing where you are going. This is common in any big city, but some people may find this a concern and prefer to stick to more "tourist friendly" areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Senior Contributor,

We rarely have guests stay for such a long period of time. I am glad that the housekeeping staff took good, consistent care of you. Most of them have been with us a long time and are very good at their job. Some good news, the hotel is being upgraded beginning in December. I hope you will have a chance to stay with us in the future to experience the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    510
    288
    77
    46
See reviews for
218
410
81
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We just got back from a vacation in San Francisco We stayed at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway on Van Ness Ave. In San Francisco We loved this hotel , the room was very clean the staff very friendly and the location was great. Its right next to the cable car stop and steps away from the bus which goes to fisherman wharf. I would highly reccommend this hotel if you ever go to San francisco

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Senior Reviewer,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear positive feedback about the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. I hope you will have a chance to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ok value for the location. Don't drive an SUV there as you will have trouble parking. Oh, and it's $45 per night for parking! Rip off.

Location was good, rooms were fine. The air conditioner was so noisy that we couldn't leave it on st night and there were works going on to the windows etc that we weren't told about until we were checked in and in our room.

Overall not bad, not great, but not bad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Kodabel,

I can certainly understand your comments regarding the cost for parking. While the price seems high, it is appropriately priced for the area.

We offer additional benefits that other lots and hotels do not. Upon arrival, we will accept your car as early as 7am. While you're here, we offer in and out privileges 24 hours a day. The car can also be left well after the check-out time of 12 noon, up until 4pm with no additional charge.

There are less expensive parking lots in the area that are open from approximately 7am to 11pm but are closed overnight. They do not offer in and out privlidges so the clock starts ticking everytime you return. If you are just storing your car while you are here, this may be a good option for you.

We will also take a look at the A/C and get it fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

got a great rate on line. Hotel its located 1/2 a block from the California cable car line.... if you have a rental car and willing to take a chance park on Pine Street for free after 8 or 9 pm ( verify pls) except for cleaning days Tue-Thus - also verify- pick up your car before 9 am. Hotel parking fee its $40.00. avoid rooms close the ice dispenser.. too much noise. buy your passes at the store/convenience store - 2 lovely helpful ladies. Hotel room is basic but comfortable. I think the hotel needs some updating but ok for just a few days in this busy, fascinating city.

Room Tip: higher floor away for ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear martytoronto,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. The two ladies in the gift shop have been here for over 30 years and as you mentioned, they are extremely helpful to our guests. Their intimate knowledge about the city and activities is invaluable. It is also important to note that the hotel will be getting updated beginning December of this year. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to visit us again to see the transformation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed just one night here at the end of a two week road trip in order to catch our flight from SFO the next morning. This is a great location downtown, away from the more tourist-overrun areas, but still walking distance to Union Square. The streetcars are nearby, too. The rooms are typical Holiday Inn...nothing spectacular but clean. The staff was friendly, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to get the views. And ask for a room where the windows were recentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear kyhoma,

It is great to hear you enjoy your stay at the Holiday Inn. We will share you comments with the staff. They strive to offer quality service and cleanliness so it is always good for them to hear that their efforts are being recognized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel really has all you need for a comfortable stay, ranging from bed quality, good service, good property maintenance, free internet etc.
The only thing one could desire is the addition of a free basic continental breakfast for the same price

Room Tip: Corner rooms look great... when you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Luc V,

Thank you for all your positive comments. The entire staff make every effort to ensure our guests have a enjoyable and memorable stay. We hope you have an opportunity to visit San Francisco again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights prior to a conference I was attending. Location is ok- on the corner of Van Ness and California, so MUNI buses and Cable Car are readily available. The room was good-sized but kind of tired. Still it was clean and the bathroom had a good shower. The major problem was I was right next to the elevator banks and it took a while for me to fall asleep due to the noise. The view from my window of Nob Hill was spectacular and it is just around the corner from Polk St, if bar-hopping is your thing. It was a decent place to stay but not especially memorable.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear kt3,

We truly appreciate your comments. It is great to hear the room was cleaned well, we will let the housekeeper know you thought so. We have had some feedback that the rooms need to be updated. I am excited to mentioned that we will begin renovating in December. If your conference is in the city next year, please stay with us. You will be happy with the result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.