We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Fishermans Wharf” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #105 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Close to Fishermans Wharf”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stayed here for the last two nights of our road trip around California, Our hotel room wasn't in the main block but in another block across the road from the reception - trying to park the car was even better in the tight car park they had under the hotel.
We had some walk with our cases to get there and felt a bit uneasy as it was right opposite Fishermans Wharf.
Fishermans Wharf is fine except for the touts on the streets spoil it - be warned they do hound you as we found on our first trip out and ended up $15 down.
We didn't find the staff very friendly either, especially as Virgin give you a free voucher for a drink & cookie but we felt as though we were asking for the world the way the staff looked at us - and they didn't have any cookies left!
The rooms were fine nothing special and if I had known I would have chosen a better hotel.
Be warned if you want to go and visit Alkatraz get your tickets well in advance as we spent a whole day queuing to get them and its a long day...and only just managed it in the end.
The trams are great and only round the corner, they take you right into town. We got to see most sights on the tram which was cool.
The golden gate bridge was quite a drive out but well worth it.
Also the block we were in had a virgin office next to it which we thought woud be helpful - NOT!!! they just weren't interested (a complete waste of time I don't know why they are there???)

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Watch out for street touts
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    1,041
    582
    180
    94
See reviews for
650
858
58
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

Stayed 3 nights here in a room in the Beach St site. A few blocks down to Ghiradelli Square, a block down to the main street fronting the wharf and Pier 39 an easy stroll of around 15-20 mins.

We had requested a room with 2 doubles, and on checking in requested a rollaway be put in the room. By the time we had crossed the street from reception, the boy from housekeeping was waiting at the door with the rollaway. Unfortunately, when we entered the room, water was coming through the ceiling, so we had to cross back over to reception to request a room change. This was done efficiently and promptly. It was a bit of a squeeze with the rollaway, but with only being there 3 nights, it wasn't a problem.

. Two of our party wanted to go to see the 49's football game, and the concierge, Ryan, could not do enough to help sort out tickets, and advice with transport.

Overall, handy location for the Wharf, cable cars & trolleys. Hertz, Avis rentals, one minute walk . Clean rooms, comfortable beds, staff we came into contact with, all polite & professional. All in all, hotel was o.k, but would not stay here again as we disliked the Wharf area.

If you are thinking of riding a bike over the Bridge, be careful if you are not a keen cyclist. The info leaflet said there was one small incline. From Fort Mason you have to climb a double incline, very steep ( everyone we saw were pushing their bikes up) without a cycle path - you share the road with the traffic. I am not saying this to put anyone off, just to let people be aware before they book. We made it ,and bought the t-shirt!

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — The area
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit the Wharf, don't stay there!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed here over a weekend in August 06. Location is fantastic, and parking was easy. Our room was furnished quite nicely. It's typical HI fare. For better rates, travel during off-season.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — high season prices
  • Tips/Secrets — travel during off season.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Fishermans Wharf on the second week of our honeymoon - first week of July '06. We had spent the first week in Las Vegas in heat of 108 degrees! Although we had been warned it would be cooler in SF, the jackets we had with us were not enough, so had to buy jackets from stall across the road straight away! We had luckily booked our Alcatraz tour tickets on the Internet in the UK because they were fully booked for the next three days! Book before you leave UK! The Holiday Inn was fine. Nothing to shout about, but perfectly adequate for our needs. We stayed in the room one night and had room service and the meal was lovely. We did notice that the staff at check in were a bit slow..... Didnt use Dennys downstairs at all. Went out for breakfast - our favourite was Johny Rocket's. "Happy Days" style diner, complete with jukeboxes on the tables. Also had very good breakfasts at restaurant across the street from the main building on Columbus. Ate loads of seafood - Crab House on Pier 39 was good on our last night, if a little bit expensive - although we did have champagne! The Stinking Rose restaurant was excellent - even if we did reek of garlic for the next two days! The Comedy club at the Cannery was good fun. Caught ferry over to Sausalito on last day - foggy and cold in SF but sunny and hot over there - great place for shopping ladies! Yes, Fishermans Wharf is a bit tacky, but can also be amusing (look out for the "Bush Man") and the Holiday Inn is well positioned for the F line MUNI trolley bus and the cable cars. Make sure you get a City Pass - excellent value for buses, trolleys and cable cars for 7 days. Had a lovely time - thanks SF!

  • Liked — View over Fishermans Wharf and Alcatraz Island
  • Disliked — Tacky Denny Restaurant on Ground Floor
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights. What a fantastic location, couldn't ask for any better. 1 minute walk takes you straight to all the shops, restaurants, trolly service, and harbour. The hotel was lovely, clean, modern, and all neccessary amenities.

One tip, don't bother eating breakfast at the hotel, there are plenty of cafes for a good morning breakfast. My favourite head down to IHOP! (Look up address in yellow pages in the hotel room)

Will definately be going back to the Holiday Inn at Fishermans Wharf!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

The full service Holiday Inn at the Wharf is an excellent location for tourists visiting the San Fransisco area. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we paid only 99.00 a night, won through Priceline.

There are two separate buildings for this hotel, the main building, and one on Beech Street. We stayed in the Beech Street location, and I was glad we did. There is parking right outside the entrance to the building, rather than in the underground lot., and it is a block closer to the Wharf.

Beech Street was great!! We walked all over town, and enjoyed our time in SF!

Don't hesitate to stay at the Holiday Inn at the Wharf.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

We (2 adults, 2 children ages 10y, 15y) stayed for 4 nights on the 5th floor. We had to use our key card in a special slot on the elevator in order to get to this floor. There were 2 computers and printers on the floor (also on other floors) with free internet access. ROOM: 2 double beds; mattresses a little too soft (perhaps old?) and our backs were sore in the AM. There was a TV, microwsave and refrigerator. Roomy, clean and comfortable. The view: looking at the beautiful houses on the hill and overlooking the pool. Highly recommend getting a room on this side of the hotel (North Pointe St.) instead of asking for Bay view-you can't really see too much bay and mostly buildings. Bathroom: clean, ok size. We were able to park our car in the underground garage and gain access to it at any time. The best part: when we checked out, we could still keep our car in the garage until 6pm. We are an active family who walks everywhere in SF 95% of the time and enjoyed being so close to the wharf, Nob Hill, China Town, North Beach (great Itlalian cafes), the churches, Coit Tower, and the Embarcadero. Watched firewords at the beach and it was nice to be able to walk a short distance back to our room. Everyone was very pleasant and had a quick ck-in and ck-out. There's an ok restaurant downstairs, but service is questionable-saw our waitress once when ordering and then sat around waiting for the ck after we finished. Recommend Pergarino's across the street. Cable cars are close by. The only drawback was in the early AM hrs, we could clearly hear the delivery trucks, garbage trucks, etc. Good part: did not hear any neighbors at any time. Pool: on the cool side. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Good for the price and yes, we would return.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.