We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #105 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 week tour of California and used this Hotel for 3 nights at the start and 2 nights at the end. The hotel is in a great location for the piers, ferrys, restaurants and other tourist stuff.

As mentioned in previous reviews it is possible to walk into the centre of SF from this location but we cheated and used the Cable car from Hyde St and then The tram system to return.

The hotel is very very clean and has everything needed for a great stay but I would recommend eating out elsewhere as both Dennys & Brooklands in the hotel are very overpriced. Street noise was not a problem but I would recommend asking for a room on the 5th Floor business level as this has restricted use by using your room card to access it via the lift.

The staff are great at this place and will bend over backwards to make your stay perfect. They even have a free daily limousin service to Union Square if you are a priority club member (which is free to join).

Only negative about this hotel is the price you have to pay to use the underground car park, $39 a day plus tax but parking elsewhere can be a nightmare as we heard one guy complaining that he had got locked in another car park across the street.

We will definately stay here agian if we visit San Francisco in the future.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Charge for parking.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    1,040
    581
    180
    93
See reviews for
648
857
58
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

We stayed at Holiday In Fishermans Wharf on 9/26 and 9/27. You could not ask for a better location than this hotel if your destination is Fishermans Wharf or Pier 39. We stayed in the main building which was very nice. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was a little expensive at $44 a day, but that is the going rate for SF hotels. All in all it is a wonderful place to stay at Fishmans Wharf.

We highly recommend a restaurant called Scoma's at Pier 47. It's a seafood restaurant whose clam chowder is the best I've ever had.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price of parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

After driving up the Pacific Coast Highway from L.A. and getting into San Fran around 5 PM, we found the Holiday Inn at Fisherman's Wharf to be a welcome stop on our recent vacation. The location is excellent for those that don't mind a little walking. It is only about 2 blocks to Jefferson Street and all the action down at Fisherman's Wharf. The check in was easy and soon we were on our way to our room. Spacious, clean and bright are three words to describe it. Staff was very courteous and more than happy to answer our many questions about the sites in and around the Wharf.
One thing about the parking. If you read the Holiday Inn's website, you will see that there is a $39 a day charge. This might seem pricey but it is right there at the hotel. There are parking garages in the area but would be a walk and a question of security. We only stayed one night there but were allowed to park in the parking lot to 6 PM or after. We checked out and loaded up the car with our luggage and then went sight seeing all day without having any concern over our things. It was well worth the money.
Overall I would be more than happy to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the San Francisco area. I will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — The location to Fisherman's Wharf. You could walk everywhere from the hotel.
  • Disliked — The fact that we only stayed 1 night there and day in San Francisco. Other than that, maybe the parking charge.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf from Aug 28- sept 1 and couldn't be happier. The location is ideal, you can walk to any of the major pier's, Ghirardelli square, the cannery and it's on the major bus lines if you want to catch the bus to Golden Gate Bridge. We heard no exterior noise at all, the room was super clean, as was the bathroom. All the toiletries were stocked when used and towel refreshed without issue. The bed was so comfortable that I got a fantastic nights sleep every night -which is unheard of for myself in a strange place.

There is a Starbucks and Walgreens across the street for your late night snack runs. There is a very overpriced Denny's in the hotel (we stayed at the Beach st. location) but 2 blocks away is a far more reasonable and better tasting IHOP. If you are relatively fit, you can pretty much walk anywhere in Downtown San Fran, we walked all the way from Union square, thru China town to Lombard st then back to the hotel.

The desk staff were very helpful when we were asking about food in the area, with directions and where to go. If you are going to San Francisco to "see the sights" this is the place to be - Enjoy!!

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

Good location for all the tourist things, Alcatraz, city tours etc. Over priced hotel compared to others we have stayed in in the States, but SF has that reputation anyway.
Room was large, clean and nice.
Staff were OK when we checked in but on check out weren't as nice. We had our bill come through the door in the morning with 2 phone calls we hadn't made. They weren't for much at all but I still called down to say we didn't make them. The guy on the front desk said he would take them off but (in his words) "they are only for a buck and a half anyway". Not the point really, we didn't make them and if they add these onto every other guests bill and they don't ask for them to b etaken off then they will make a lot of money!!
Would I stay here again...... probably not. It was the ONLY hotel available we could find at the time, so I would probably look around for something better for your money.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sept with my husband- we stayed in the 2nd building across the street from the main building, which was a bit of a pain for check in and check out as you are lugging your cases across the block, tho it wasn't too far. Couldn't fault the room really, clean, spacious tho air con unit (like many hotels) was pretty noisy and we had to have it turned off at night.

Good location for Fish Wharf and for walking to piers that did tours ie Alcatraz (which I would deff recommend). Cab to Union Square was about $15 each way if I remember correctly. There was a store right across from the 2nd building which sold pretty much everything, from toiletries to snacks and water/drinks etc.

My main gripe here was the parking charge- we paid $88 for 2 nights, self park, across the block from our building. Just to compare, we only paid $36 in total for 2 nights valet parking in an LA hotel later that week and just $70 for a whole 7 nights self park at a resort in Maui, Hawaii the week after. Way too steep. If I remember correctly, there was a Hertz and an Avis across the street from the 2nd building where we could have picked up a car after our stay in SF for our drive down the PCH to LA. A cab from the airport would have been cheaper than our 2 days car hire and parking charges. Having said that, we drove out of the city to Muir Woods and saw some amazing coastline along the way so we were glad we had the car but you can easily do without one if you are staying in the city.

We ate at CheeseCake Factory one night (in Macy's), it was too windy to sit outside but would have been cool to do so if weather was better. Good portions, tasy food etc only downside was that our mains were brought out when we were still in the middle of our starter but would still recommend it and the cheesecake was amazing- we go it to take out.

Breakfast at on site Denny's tho convenient and tasty was expensive- $50 with tip for 2 breakfasts and 2 OJ's.

I think the parking charges would put me off staying at this place again and it's a shame as there was nothing wrong with the hotel itself- maybe all SF hotels charge excessive parking but if you have a car, look around for other places. If you won't have a car, then this would be a good choice.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

When my wife and I stayed here at the beginning of September for 2 nights, we got offered a room in the new building across the street which we took, but the check in desk didn't actually make it that clear you had to walk a block with your cases to get to the front door of the other building. Also, when they said that the new building has quite limited parking, what they should've really said is it only has 4 spaces! So you have to park your car in the main car park and walk across the street each time, which is only really a hassle on check in or check out. But be very aware if you are staying here and you have a car, it ain't cheap. Our conversation at check in went something like this:
"So do you have a car with you?"
"yep"
"are you going to be wanting to park it in the hotel car park?"
"yes please"
"ok no problem, just place this on the dash, and you can pay for the car park when you check out"
"ok thanks, oh how much is it by the way"
"oh it's 40 dollars a night plus tax"
"sorry i think i just misheard you, I could've sworn you just said 40 dollars a night"
"yes that's correct, plus tax"
"................"
So be warned, 2 nights parking will hit you with a bill for 88 and a bit dollars, which is steep for 5 star hotels let alone a Holiday Inn.

The new 2nd building also has a Denny's in, which we used for breakfast one morning. 2 breakfast's and 2 orange juices came back with a bill for $40. Again, not what I'd call a cheap Denny's breakfast.

The rooms were clean and spacious, and can't really fault them at all. Plus the hotel is in a great walking distance from everything in fisherman's wharf, and a cab to Union Square was about $20.

I'd recommend staying here only if you don't have a car. Otherwise steer clear and find somewhere else that doesn't want to bleed you dry.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.