We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #100 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in January and the location was perfect! It is within walking distance to Pier 33 for our Alcatraz tour, very close to the the Hyde Street cable car turnaround, and it was very easy to access all the activites that the Wharf has to offer. The room was clean, modern and quiet. The elevators were a little weird and funky, but so is life. The bed was comfortable and the price was right. I recommend it highly. There is on-street parking if you rent a car, but I dont recommend parking in their lot. It is pricey. All-in-all a great choice!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear SJKOO99, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and thank you for your feedback. We will have our Elevator company come and inspect our elevator and we definitely hope to see you next time when you visit San Francisco again.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    1,126
    629
    188
    100
See reviews for
696
928
68
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed there a few nights for my first trip in San Francisco.
First of all, I did not really enjoy the location, the famous Fisherman's Wharf. This is a personal point of view, but this area is over touristy for me: souvenirs and ugly tee-shirts shops at every corners, overpriced restaurants, some hawkers and nothing really special too see. Also, there is only one tram line that brings you here, which makes it necessary to go back to the center of SF to access most places of interest in the city.
Now the hotel. I have nothing to really complain about, except maybe the price of the rooms, which is quite high compared to what you get. The room I got was comfortable enough but it would not harm refurbishing it. The check-in was fast and the employees were friendly and helpful. Wifi was slow. There was no breakfast available in the hotel when I was there, as they were busy repainting the restaurant.
In short, neither a good nor bad experience, just average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Marloud, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and thank you for your feedback from your stay here with us. We apologize for the breakfast not available while you were staying here with us as we are going through a refresh, it is now back in business. Beside the tram, there is also bus and cable car that brings you to Fisherman Wharf as well, so there is more than 1 transportation available as well. Thank you for your feedback about our wifi and we will have our internet provider company take a look into it.

Thank you and have a nice day
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Let's put all of the positive side of location, view, indoor environment, room cleanliness, etc etc aside. Just for one thing I love the most:

During my stay, my iPhone 5 completely bricked after a failed system update, and I have no laptop with me, then I decided to use the computer at business corner, to help to bring the phone back to function. So here I am, had my phone connected to the computer, installed the iTunes, downloaded the system installation file (1.2GB file size), executed the command to force-install, all was done in thirty-minute, which is the time limit for using the computer. During the whole thing, I even helped someone next to me to arrange the document layout and reduce pages to print.

In my opinion, only hotels with efficient and productive service could keep their guests stay in high-efficiency and enjoying being in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear rodger0007, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and we are glad that your stay here was "worth the pennies". Beside our location, view, indoor environment and room cleanliness, we do have a effective business center for our guests to use and we are glad that it works out perfect for you. Our business center is completely free of charge for our guests. We hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco again.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Having never been to SF we weren't sure where to stay. This hotel is in a great location for the 1st time traveller. Located within the Fisherman's Wharf district it's close to all forms of public transport & sightseeing tours.
The hotel is very comfortable & although currently undergoing renovations it did not make any difference to us. Rooms are spacious but shower water pressure is weak. Also it wouldn't kill the reception/concierge staff to smile every now & then.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear jdelor, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco. We would like to welcome you here to San Francisco for the 1st time and we are glad that you chose our hotel. Our hotel is located at the heart of Fisherman Wharf and lots of places are within walking distance. We are just going over a refresh instead of a full renovation and thank you for your feedback about our staff not friendly enough, we will remind them to smile to all our guests.
Hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed in the main hotel rather than the annex. Check in was quick, efficient and the person on the desk provided useful information to first time visitors. The room was clean with plenty of towels and house keeping did a good job cleaning the room. An added plus was free wifi in the rooms although it could get erratic but again it is expected.

The location was an ideal base to explore the city and a 5 minute walk to the cable car station and a bus stop was outside. As a result we decided not to hire a car during our stay and managed fine.

We did not try meals at the hotel and can't comment on this although they have a coffee shop that was fine.

The one negative was that being near the lobby there was noise from people passing by which during our stay was school basketball teams. Although it makes for a longer walk to get to your room if you want complete peace go for rooms further away from the lobby. This was minor and did not detract from our stay.

Overall it was a great hotel at a reasonable price

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear ecossetraveller1745, thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and thank you for your feedback from your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and thank you for the good rating. Our staff are all helpful and friendly and our housekeeping does a good job to make sure all our rooms get cleaned spotless. We apologize for the noise from your room but we do have security on site which can control and give warning to our guests if they are too loud. Thank you again and we hope to see you again next time you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The door stuck and as my friend described it, I had to 'Miami Vice' the door open by hitting it with my shoulder. (Which considering I already have one bad shoulder, made for an unpleasant experience.) Housekeeping helped me the first time, and then only had to open it once more after that as my friend and I had adjoining rooms and used her door to enter and exit. Other than that, and the view of the dumpsters, the hotel was fine. We were only there for one night as a Girls Night Out before she went back home and I went to visit family on the other side of the Bay. Within walking distance of lots of great spots including Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli and 2 great bars we found- The Lounge and Kennedy's Irish Pub and Indian Curry Restaurant. They should also make it clearer that they charge $40+ tax for parking overnight in their lot. That was a surprise upon checking in, but since we planned on walking while there, was less expensive than staying elsewhere and using cabs/ meters, etc. I might stay again.

Room Tip: If you need a lot of bathroom space, this may not be the place for you. Bathrooms were very small an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello Jen H,

Thank you so much for staying with us as well as taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I just wanted to inform and thank you that I have had enginering look at the door in question in order to have it working properly. It truly is a great location and close to just about everything. Thank you so much for staying and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Hotel was a little dated. Good location - walking distance to all amenities. We were in the sister hotel which is on the next road. When we popped into the other one to check out we realised it was much nicer than ours and seemed newer with a better restaurant etc.

Went for an early morning walk (due to jet lag) and found a brilliant breakfast place called Hollywood cafe which is around 5mins walk from the hotel. The portions were huge and the food was lovely! Would defo recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Lauren B and thank you for your feedback from your stay. We are located in the heart of San Francisco. We do have 2 buildings which both belong to Holiday Inn, maybe next time we could put you in that building instead. Hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco again.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.