We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, convenient to SF sights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #107 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
San Diego
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great location, convenient to SF sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great for tourist visiting San Francisco. It is located within a 10 minute walk of the Fisherman’s wharf, Pier 39, Embarcadero, Cannery Row, Ghirardelli Square, North Beach and Chinatown. Several restaurant options in this area along with shopping and tours (land and water) to areas around SF. The hotel room was clean and functional. There is self-parking for $40/day and wi fi is free. There is a restaurant, small bar and tour desk in the hotel. My room didn't have much of a view, but I think some of Bay views. The staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant and tour recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco SolarT and you are correct, we are in a great location, we are close to a lot of sightseeing places as well. Our staff will do our best to provide the best customer service to all our guests.

Hope to see you again next time in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    914
    514
    162
    87
See reviews for
551
744
55
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Expecting some sort of standard at the large price charged as a pre-paid international traveller. Greated at the main reception then shafted to the old area in the next street. Told it was quieter but our room was above the noisy ventilation shaft. Room dirty and tired looking. Hairs on the bed, in the bed and in the basin. Glassware was dirty and there was not enough towels for us all. Sheets were threadbare and pilled. Very 'unfriendly' style of accommodation. Cheap and nasty charging top dollar. Get online and book yourself something better- don't trust your agent if they have booked it for you! MUCH better out there.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Or don't get booted to the other part of the hotel over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn FIsherman Wharf San Francisco Lynda G and we apologize for issues you have with you while you were staying with us, we will make sure that our housekeeping department is aware of this feedback and will not happent again. PLease give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future and we will make sure it will not happen again.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Managemnet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmar, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wanted to stay a Saturday night in San Francisco during Labor Day weekend, but all that I checked were full. Went onto Travelocity and the first hotel that popped up was Holiday Inn on the Wharf. The price was right, so I booked it and was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel was immaculate, a block from the wharf, excellent view of the wharf from our room and just an all around great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the wharf
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Wanda H and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are only one block from the wharf . Thank you again and we hope to see you again in San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great walking distance to Fisherman's wharf. Hotel is pet friendly, but there is no area for pets. We stayed for 3 days and we have to go out to the park for our small dog. Parking is too expensive and they don't pro-rate. We arrived close to midnight and still charged us for a day parking from 6pm to 6am.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco and thank you for your feedback for our hotel. We will try to work on to see if we can create an area for pets. We are sorry to hear about the expensive parking fee but we charge the parking accordly to other hotels around the area. Hope to see you again next time in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal - one block from Fisherman's Wharf. Walking distance to a lot of attractions and to any other kind of transportation to see the not so close attractions. Plenty of parking. The room was nice - clean. The hotel restaurant is quite expensive and the food is not that great. My only major complaint was the noise from the street all through the night until dawn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf san Francisco and thank you for the feedback on our hotel, we will pass the feedback to our director of food and beverage to improve our food quality. We apologize for putting you in a room faces outside but we do have rooms with faces interior views and maybe next time you stay with us, we will be happy to give you an interior one.

Thank you again and hope to see you again in San Francisco
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very conveniently located one block off Fisherman's wharf main drag!
Service is a little sub-par for a known hotel chain.
If you are a light sleeper do make sure that you have earplug as the street noise is very pronounce!
We had two rooms (unfortunately on 2nd floor); every so many minutes we heard street car (tram) passing by right outside our rooms. None of us got much sleep that evening.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver L, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello cjmbj,

Thanks for your feedback.
Good to see you enjoyed our location.
Sorry you didn't get enough sleep due to the street noise. Fortunately, the hotel does have earplugs available upon request for guests not use to the city noise. Also, quiet rooms are available in the middle of the Wharf building.

Please feel free to contact the hotel with any additional comments or feedback.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 4 nights around Labor Day weekend (aug 28th ~ sep 1st), we found this well located hotel thru some research here at TripAdvisor. As a matter of fact, the location is really great, the staff is friendly and rooms are big enough for my little family (2 adults and a 6 yo). At first I thought the room a little bit smelly (like old stuff), but got used after the 2nd day.
The only bad thing about my stay: I forgot a travel folder with some personal belongs and cash inside the room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi Mamaralfs

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf San Francisco are we are glad that you enjoyed our stayed here with us. We tried our best to provide the best customer service to all our guests. Regarding your lost and found item, have you get in contact with our housekeeping lost and found department to see if we found it in the room? please feel free to contact us at 415-771-9000 and we will be happy to check that for you or you could get in contact with any one of our manager on duty as well so we could check that for you as well.

Hope to see you again in San Francisco
Holiday Inn Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $41 per day. Reserve your stay at our pet-friendly hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.