We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Convenience to Wharf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #100 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Expensive Convenience to Wharf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on stopover, at USD300 a night, probably because of Americas Cup. Very convenient for walking around Fisherman's Wharf area of town. Free wifi in rooms, good lobby area, helpful staff at front.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi there Faberge36,

I am so glad you found our staff helpful and our area convenient for walking to all the attractions in the Fisherman's Wharf area. I do hope so see you again soon and thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    1,128
    630
    189
    100
See reviews for
700
928
68
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LLandudno
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A really well located hotel. Easy to get to all of the major attractions. Comfortable beds, well maintained, clean & quiet. Nothing outstanding to say, but a good choice in San Francisco. Staff were all very polite, courteous & helpful.
Make the effort to cycle over the Golden Gate Bridge - it's a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hey there happygirltraveller,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us the opportunity to provide you with a great stay. Hope to see you soon again at a Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our recent visit to California. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the fisherman's wharf area of SF. Also the rooms are clean and tidy, but the beds are small compared to American beds that we are used to. There was three of us and our room had two double beds, but the beds were small. Myself and my husband are not particularly big, but we kept knocking into one another, so after 4 nights we were pleased to move on, otherwise we wouldn't have got a lot of sleep. There is a Denny's at this hotel, so it was a good base if you wanted a quick meal, but note, the prices were inflated because of its location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi AnnaMarie-Glos,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We really work hard on providing a great hotel guests love and I am happy we were able to provide a bit of that for you at the Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf. Safe travels and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5 days, Pros: location, room size. Staff very friendly, comfortable beds, good sized rooms, clean, HDTV. Cons: needs updating bathrooms long in the tooth, called about leaky faucet, hair dryer broke, we had ground floor room got woke up by the trash truck early one morning Would stay again but hopefully they do some updating

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Bill K,

Thank you for the post. I am so glad you enjoyed our staff and service. I am sorry for some room issues that you may have encountered during your stay. I do invite you to stay again as we will be going to have a refresh of our rooms this winter. Until then I hope to see you at a Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Yes, this is a hotel for sleeping. The hotel staff is absolutely friendly, but the PARKING is pricey. It cost 45$ to park, alt it IS common for Fishermans Wharf and even typical areas of San Fran, it is IMPOSSIBLE to find free parking. The hotel is conveniently located, that is great. They have free WiFi and 2 Business Centers, 2! The room is clean for San Francisco! They do not have free breakfast, but I ate at Denny's in the lobby. Now for the room. It is way expensive for the quality. The rooms are small, very small. The bathroom is outdated and goofy looking. But they have 3 elevators, very nice for this busy hotel. Now here are the pros and cons
UPS: Outdoor pool
Comfortable beds, could take one home any day
Nice fitness centre
Clean for San Francisco
Nice 2 story lobby and meeting rooms
Excellent location, near many typical attractions in SF
DOWNS: Old and outdated, in need of major renovation
Small rooms, this hotel is NOT for people who like to hang around in the room
Oddly shaped bathroom
So in other words there are places better than this one. I would try other places first.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the action only if you HAVE to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Mitchell G,

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. It is so true that parking is at a premium here in San Francisco but just like our rooms we strive to give the best value for our area. I am glad you found our rooms clean and that you could take one of our beds home any day of the week. It is true our location cant be beat. More importantly I am also glad you found our front dest "absolutely friendly". I also thank you for listing more ups than downs and do hope to see you again at a Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel meet all the standards of holiday inn. Very well managed. Concierge was very helpful. Clean. always a parking space. A handy restaurant. No WOW factor here but it certainly did not disappoint either. I felt for San Francisco this hotel offered good value.

Room Tip: They will give you upgrades with your priority club card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi stevetinaflood,

I thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your thoughts on your most recent stay at Holiday Inn. I am so glad you found us helpful as well as our rooms clean. I also wanted to thank you for finding us a value as we do work hard to provide that for our traveler. Thank you so much for staying and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here as part of a larger tour of the Western US.

Location couldn't be better - just off the Wharf so many places to eat and a 30 minute stroll down Columbus in to the centre of town. It's also at the end of the Cable Car stop however I would recommend that you get that in town to ride back as the queues are massive...

There is a Dennys within the hotel so fine if you want that burger or breakfast.

The room was great however we backed on to the alley behind the hotel which meant that when the rubbish started being sorted at 3am it was noisy - who wants hours of forklift trucks stacking bottles to interrupt their sleep... so I would ask at reception where you are when you check in...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel J, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello Cran4,

Thank you very much for posting you thoughts on your last stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your hotel room as well as the location surrounding us. Having a Denny's is a plus as our traveler has a place to eat 24-7. Thank you so much for staying with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf

Address: 1300 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travel or San Francisco, California vacations, Holiday Inn San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf hotel welcomes you to the Bay City. When searching for top San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, stay in comfort at our full-service San Francisco lodging. Walk to attractions including Pier 39, Alcatraz, Bay Cruise ferries and Ghirardelli Square. Hop on a cable car outside our hotel to visit Union Square, Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown and AT&T Ballpark. After exploring the area, retreat to our San Francisco, California hotel to unwind in a room appointed with high-speed Internet access, in-room games and pay-per-view movies. For dining, enjoy a meal at the 24-hour Denny s or head to our Bristol Bar & Grill for a tantalizing meal and a drink. Additional on-site amenities include: laundry facilities, fitness center, an outdoor heated pool with sundeck and secure parking is available for $43 per day. Reserve your stay at our hotel in San Francisco, CA to be greeted with attentive service and superb accommodations in an unmatched locale. For spectacular savings, book a San Francisco travel package or hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.