We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Financial District to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% Package
Ranked #76 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A friend of mine and I stayed here for a weekend in June. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk (0.6-0.7 mile) from either the Embarcadero or Montgomery Street BART stations, with no hills of any consequence. It's at a convenient location, very close to Chinatown and North Beach, and without the throngs of tourists you encounter in the Union Square area. You have to walk a few blocks to get to good restaurants, so in that respect, it's a little less convenient than Union Square. Our room was was on the fourteenth floor and faced south. The view was nothing special, and I imagine rooms on the north side probably have a better view. The room size was decent - larger than in many boutique hotels but not overwhelming. Along the entire length of the outside wall was a countertop/desk, which provideed lots of space to lay things out. The new-looking windows didn't open, and they seemed to make the room quiet. There was plenty of hot water and the plumbing fixtures were modern. In fact, the entire hotel interior felt pretty modern and up-to-date.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
It's always a pleasure to see that one of our valued guests enjoyed the service and accommodations. Please come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    825
    416
    136
    74
See reviews for
332
598
147
706
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A number of staff members milling around and no one helped bring bags up the stairs at the entrance of the building. The room smelled of cigarette smoke and the staff was unpleasant and unhelpful in changing my room. Hallways are dreary and smell old and musty. I would not recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are saddened that your stay fell far short of exceptional. Our Hilton Brand promise is to ensure that every guest is cared for, valued, and respected. It is clear from the first impression that we did not capture this level of service. I assure you that we have taken appropriate steps to review this with our team that was on duty during the over night shift. On behalf of our staff, I, sincerely, apologize for any inconvenience that we caused. We hope that you will return and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I got a good deal on a high floor room just prior to our wedding in April. We arrived from the airport with muted expectations, but were very pleased upon arrival. Staff was courteous and friendly. Room was very clean and quiet, and offered a spectacular northern view of the Bay, Telegraph Hill, and Russian Hill. While it claims the financial district as its home, the hotel really lies on the edge of Chinatown/North Beach. This is not a five star hotel but for the money, we found it to be a better than average city hotel to rest our heads for a couple nights.

Room Tip: High floor, north facing rooms offer sweeping views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for submitting a guest review. Our staff is thrilled that you were pleased with our service and accommodations. We are here to ensure that you are cared for, valued, and respected. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed d at this hotel for 3 nights in June.

Location and getting to the hotel

This hotel is located right on the edge of the financial district but also right by China town. It is about a 10 minute walk to Union Square and shopping, and a 20 minute walk to Fishermans Wharf... So all in all the location is pretty good. We arrived in rush hour and it cost us $48 plus tip in a cab from the airport. Going back to the airport the Doorman offered us a house car for a flat rate of $55...



Service

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the service and accommodations. Thank you for making our day! Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I'm a Hilton HHonors Diamond member and found this hotel to be a nice choice for our vacation to San Francisco. Typically I would recommend this hotel to business travelers instead of vacationers (as it is a little further away from Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square, the locations of the other two Hilton properties), but if you are Diamond the Executive Lounge makes it worthwhile. Open 24 hours, the lounge offered a great breakfast and evening snacks/hot food. Bottled water, coffee, hot chocolate and soda are available around the clock. It's great to grab a few waters before heading out into the city and useful after a day of sightseeing to come back to food and drink.
Our room was standard, but clean and comfortable, two attributes always appreciated after a day out and about in the city. We were also sent a complimentary fruit plate and bottle of wine because they found out it was our anniversary - nice touch!
My only regret is that they didn't have a pool. Normally, when traveling for work I don't have time to use a pool even if available, but on vacation I always enjoy a little time in a pool - not a deal breaker though.
Overall I would recommend this Hilton for both business and vacation travel, especially if you are a Diamond member.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the bay and it was always nice to look out in the morning and watch the fog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for submitting a guest review. Our staff is very thankful for the generous scores and kind comments. Happy belated Anniversary! We hope that you will return and stay with us again for the next year's celebrations! We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I knew this place in the past as the Holiday Inn. It's not really in the Financial District. More like the edge of Chinatown and North Beach. I had never stayed in the hotel in its last incarnation as the Holiday Inn, but I had wandered through it before as the Holiday Inn so I had quite a bit of trepidation when my wife told me she had reserved two rooms for us.

So we pulled into the driveway. The first impressions delivered by the parking valet and bellman were a bit off-putting. Rather brusque. Holdovers from the Holiday Inn? Check in process was OK, but the put us on two separate floors. One room was on an executive floor and the other was lower down. That caused some issues. We decided to not pay the $60 dollars for the valet and decided to park in the city-owned structure across the street for $28. Sure, there was no in/out privileges. But this is San Francisco, a very compact city that you can either walk to your destination or take a cab if you have to.

They did nicely remodel the interior of the hotel. The interior is now very sleek with Asian touches. It no longer had the smoky tacky smell and look of the old Holiday Inn. Our rooms... were really small. They were remodeled in that corporate Hilton fashion. One whole end of the room, (where the window was located) was occupied by a wall-mounted desk/tv stand. The main problem with that is that the various cords that controlled the curtains were located in a far corner of the window. I had to climb on the desk to close the curtains in one of the rooms, or otherwise someone in the building across from us could look right in.

Some other reviewers have mentioned the bathroom doors. They are sliding, not the open and close type of door. To me, it didn't matter. I think they had to resort to this given the narrowness and size of the rooms or significantly decrease the size of the bathroom. The bathrooms themselves are pleasant enough.

Overall, small but comfortable enough rooms. People who give the first impressions, the bellman and the parking valet could have better interpersonal skills. Definitely better options to stay in San Francisco, but acceptable as we were never in our rooms much except for sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We thank you for submitting a guest review. Our team is saddened that our first impression at the door fell far short of our goal. I assure you that we will review this with our team to bring our service back up to standard. On behalf of our staff, I, sincerely, apologize for any inconvenience that we caused. We hope that you will return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Overall and Good
- I think the best part about this hotel is the location -- next to old and new Chinatown, not far from Union Square, and on the street where many of the hop-on/hop-off buses frequent
- Excellent courier and package-holding services
- Nearly all of the staff are friendly, except for one or two at the front desk staff who don't seem to mind watching you wait over 20 minutes at the concierge desk while they could attend to your question too; a bit understaffed at times too at the front desk. They're not unfriendly but I would say they should be more assertive and don't seem to be able to handle comments, questions, or complaints
- That said, excellent concierge who is willing to phone attractions and restaurants for you
- Decent lobby with nice-sized breakfast restaurant, although over-priced at $23 per person
- Rooms have good views...we were on the 21st floor and had a nice view of the Transamerica building and a north city view
- Reasonably-sized rooms and bathrooms
- I was here on a conference so I'm not sure what the usual rates are...my impression based on our group rate is they would be on the higher end
- Very friendly room staff who would always say good morning to you and quite often ask if everything was ok in your room
- Nice soft beds, with plenty of pillows on each bed
- Massaging-shaped soaps in the bathroom is a nice touch
- Close to some nice restaurants, including Sauce on Belden Place, which I would consider a hidden jewel
- Clean, safe area
- I would recommend this hotel, especially for business travelers

Negatives
- The door to our bathroom was a sliding door that barely covered the length of the doorway, so someone walking by it could definitely peek into it without really trying
- The elevators weren't the fastest and the waits varied from 1 minute to about 5-6 minutes; for a hotel with over 20 floors, they might consider high-floor elevators vs. low-floor ones; just an observation

Room Tip: High floors have better views but longer elevator waiting times so pick one depending on what's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We thank you for submitting a guest review. Our team appreciates your feedback that will help us further improve our service and accommodations. I, sincerely, apologize for any inconvenience that we caused. We hope that you will return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Financial District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.