We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service made up for outdated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Financial District to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% Package
Ranked #77 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Service made up for outdated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and overall hotel is outdated and needs to be refreshed, but our stay was still good with the service. DJ at the front desk was awesome, he gave us a higher floor level for our honeymoon, answered any questions we had on the city, got a mini fridge up to our room extremely quickly and always remembered us when we walked through the lobby. I usually don't remember the names of hotel staff, but i made sure to remember DJ's just so I could give him some props. The rest of the service was also great, bell boys, other front desk staff. Everyone on the staff made up for a slight letdown in the hotel and room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We appreciate you very much, thank you for submitting these very kind comments and generous scores. I will make sure to recognize DJ by circulating your comments to our Front Office. Our team hopes that you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    827
    417
    136
    74
See reviews for
333
599
147
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for some meetings in April 2012. Chose this over the Fairmont because it is very close to the best Chinatown in the US. Upon check-in my room type wasn't available so they upgraded me - to the Presidental Suite! The room was somewhat dated yet very clean and extremely spacious. The lobby area is very modern and the location is excellent. The staff was atentive and helpful, giving me tips on the best places to get authentic Chinese cuisine. It was a memorable experience and will definately be where I stay upon a return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We thank youf for the generous scores and kind comments. Our team is very happy that you enjoyed the overall service and accommodations. We hope that our hotel will be your first choice whenever you return to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lobby has beautiful Chinese motif in colors, wall hangings and decor treatment. Excellent front desk and concierge staff. But the real joy is to watch the Chinese men playing games in the park across the street and the rest of Chinatown flowing uphill from there. The rooms are quite ordinary but it is a great location for sightseeing, good food and more. Maybe it was the days I was there, but it just seemed less corporate in style than most downtown Hiltons. In all it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the generous scores and kind comments. Our staff is thrilled that you enjoyed the overall service. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My family and I stayed for the Chinese New Year holiday at the end of February. Overall our stay was adequate. We would consider staying again only with reservations.

Staff: We made many phone calls to plan our stay. On the phone, staff they were rude to the point of being unprofessional, multiple times. Ie, asking about their holiday package: "I can't answer that question. You need to speak to X." And then just stopping there, not offering to transfer to his line, leave a voicemail or any followup. Each time we had to specifically ask to be transferred. Even then, were never got to speak to the person we were told to speak to- he never returned calls, and one day they finally told us that "He doesn't work here anymore." Again, no followup- ie who else to speak to or what to do instead.

Eventually a manager did address the original questions, but only after we specifically asked to talk to a manager because of how we were treated. He was appropriately responsive and upgraded our room. Also, when we arrived the front desk staff were actually incredibly friendly and helpful. We had no problems whatsoever with the staff in person. I don't know if they use a central call center for phone calls or if there is some other way to explain the incredible discrepancy in the phone vs in-person experience, but at least it ultimately ended well.

Location: Incredibly convenient to Chinatown. They are immediately accessible to a park with a playground which made it great for staying with kids.

Facilities: Rooms are small but this seems typical for the city. Cleanliness and in-room amenities were fine. The bathroom did have an odd sliding door with no lock, which some people wouldn't like; it was fine for us. The main problem we had was the noise level. We were on the 11th floor, and yet we could hear simple traffic noise and loud partygoers out on the street. We also could hear people in nearby rooms (not the hallway) having loud phone conversations. I read in a previous post that they are planning to replace the windows, which is definitely needed. But the interior noise would also make me think twice about staying here again.

If we needed to stay near Chinatown again we would consider this hotel depending on the customer service, and only after they replace the windows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for submitting your feedback about your past stay. It is very unfortunate that we failed to assist you when you first called. I assure you that we will follow up with our team to ensure that every guest that calls in is assisted with the highest levels of hospitality. On behalf of our staff, I, sincerely, apologize for this failure. We hope that you will give our team another chance in the future. Should you return and need assistance, please ask for the Front Desk Manager on Duty. Once again, thank you for providing us this feedback that will enable our team to improve our service and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I usually dislike Hiltons, and the megaplex in Union Square shows why. But its smaller cousin on the edge of Chinatown blows all that away.

The location is great, an easy walk downtown, to the financial district, North Beach and the Embarcadero. There are a slew of great Chinese restaurants within two blocks.

As for the hotel itself, the staff is fantastic. I arrived at 2 pm, a full three hours before projected, and because my room wasn't ready the desk clerk upgraded me to a top-floor suite which was simply fantastic (and had two balconies with city views). The food is excellent, there's a small wine bar in the lobby, the bell staff is friendly and hops to it -- whatever you need -- and the rooms are spotless. The bed was comfy and the bathroom amenities are a distinct upgrade from the typical Hilton. My breakfast arrived piping hot exactly to the minute when I had ordered it the night before. Not only that, the hotel is a major bargain compared with anything else you will find in the City.

Honestly, I don't even know what this hotel is doing in the chain. But the rest of the chain should copy it!

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor room and you will have a view for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Our staff is thrilled that you enjoyed the service and accommodations! We strive to ensure that every guest is cared for, valued, and respected. Thank you for providing this very generous review. We hope that you will return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Came here for a Scholarship Fund Banquet. The service and food was awesome. I parked downstairs. Parking was bargain especially in the Chinatown/Financial District area at a flat rate of $5 from 4pm to 2am. So well worth it as I had to get their early for the reception. And in SF, they like to ticket the meters b4 6pm. And Portmouth is like $3/hr. So I expected to finish the dinner and chat by 8pmish. So well worth the $5 bucks. So its good to know if I ever go with friends to downtown restaurants like Palio Asti or Broadway Cooridor.

I often park at the Hilton as its closer than the other parking lots that charge a flat rate (as those you have to bus it or walk far) as its in the heart of Chinatown, near North Beach, and the Financial District. On weekends its $7 bucks from 8am to 8pm which is cool. So I can stroll with the family to North Beach to have a sip of Joe on Columbus. Shop n dine in Chinatown. Its especially cool, as Portmouth is normally full, and this hideaway @ the Hilton is cool as often ppl think its more expensive as its in a hotel, but nope not in this case.

Oh, for those visiting SF, SF now charges for meter parking on Sundays. So if you forget to pay the meters - Ticket. They have an app call paybyphone for the meters which cool. Or you can park at the Hilton and "forget about it."

Also, if you're at the Hilton or staying their they have a good lunch buffet as well as brunch. They also have spa inside too on the first floor. I can't comment on that. My wife can though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you so very much for the kind words and generous scores. Our team is passionate about taking care of each guest. We love to hear from our guests. I assure you that we will share these glowing comments about our staff service. We hope that our hotel will be your first choice when traveling to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just Completed another stay at the Hilton SF Financial District. They continue to hit all the marks! Service, Staff, Hospitality, Great Location and Wonderful Facilities. Many hotels in SF treat you like a number, but everyone here seems to take pride in making your stay enjoyable. Thanks for yet another great stay!

Room Tip: Highest Floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Wow! Thank you, and please come back soon! We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Financial District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.