We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Francisco Financial District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #90 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“visiting friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Hilton is located perfect for a walk through China town...actually a 5 minute walk from where President Obama ate. We come to San Francisco and always enjoy seafood and Chinese food.....sounds crazy, but living here in Phoenix, you miss some of the things from home.
The staff at the Hilton were on point for our stay. You MUST try the cucumber water at the check in counter....simply a refreshing way to begin your stay here.The concierge was VERY knowledgeable about local bars and restaurants. It seem he had personal experiences at each place we asked him. The room service quality of food was lacking, but the prices were "reasonable"
Parking your car is in line for most San Francisco hotels..$50.00/day self park and $60.00 day for valet.
We have been looking for a reasonable priced hotel for our San Francisco visits and I believe we finally found ours.....

Room Tip: get an odd number room above the 15th floor for some great views...even numbers face tall buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We appreciate your kind words for our Concierge. Our staff is thrilled that you enjoyed our service and accommodations. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    661
    323
    115
    67
See reviews for
257
476
129
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago. The location of the hotel is great, quick walk to so many places, china town, fisherman’s wharf, Ghirardelli square etc.
The hotel itself is nice and clean, but I would say the staff here are a little unfriendly and unaccommodating, which is very unusual in America as typically the customer service is the BEST! They do not seem to go out of their way to help and the reception staff seem to treat you as if you are inconveniencing them when checking in. But perhaps we caught them at a bad time.
Secondly, there is nothing they can do about this, but the elevator does take ages to get up and down the building, so prepare to wait.
Other than that, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We thank you for bringing this lack luster performance to our attention. I assure you that our team will review this with each Front Office staff member. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and are humbled to see that our efforts fell far short of our goal. Our team hopes that you will return and give us another chance to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great location. Clean room and clean bath room. Employees attitude need improvement. Their helpfulness did not seem to be genuine (from the front desk to the bell-hop). Allow early check-in is a plus. Room service needs improvement. On the whole, my experience is not too bad. I gave my stay a B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We thank you for submitting a review. We are saddened that we failed to ensure that you were cared for, valued, and respected. Our team will take immediate action to correct this. On behalf of our staff, I, sincerely, apologize for any inconvenience that we caused. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The property is located in a great location. Most everything is within walking distance. Great restaurants nearby- Chinatown, Credo, Fisherman's Wharf-Boudin, Little Italy, etc. The hotel service is great as well. Starbucks cofffee in the lobby, free boarding pass printing, and beautiful hotel. The water in the rooms is expensive so walk downstairs and buy your own at a little shop or at the starbucks. Beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are small. You can hear some construction noise in the mornings so bring a white noise machine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for the generous scores, especially in light of the noise that you experienced. Our team is excited that the new triple glazed windows are being installed at this very moment. We hope that you will return to enjoy the added insulation of these double pane windows. I'm sure that any white noise will be elivminated soon. We appreciate you. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I must say, one of my worst experiences every
banging and noise from construction starting at 8AM and going well past 5PM - asked to be moved and would not
room service-get a voice mail that they do not open until 6:30 PM--doesn't help when you are flying in from east coast
you get a voice message to leave your order and they will return call in 15-20 minutes --never did
once ordered dry and cold food
understand in the China Town district but does the entire menu have to be Chinese related food?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_sanfran, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. We regret we were not able to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expected, particularly with your dining experience. We are very sorry that our room service was not up to par and will use your feedback to ensure we are delivering all meals in a timely manner as well as with great quality. We are constantly updating our menu offerings and your comments will help us improve in this area. The noise you experienced is not typical of our hotel and we're very sorry for any inconvenience this caused to your trip. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here many times before, even back when it was a Holiday Inn! This time, my wife took me to this Hilton for the night as part of my birthday week celebration. They have rooms with no view and rooms with truly spectacular views that the Union Square Hilton can't come close to and it's much fresher than the Fisherman's Wharf Hilton. I'm a Diamond member and they were to give us an upgraded room with a view of Coit Tower (We've had that before, it's awesome if you can score it!). Unfortunately, when we were about to enter the room, there was already someone in there, a very nice and understanding couple! So we went back down to the front desk and the staff was horrified that this had happened! They apologized and went to find us another room. Since it was only for one night, they gave us the Penthouse Suite with a city view! Amazingly huge room! So that part of the service was great!

After check in, we spent a few hours at their spa Tru. It's a really nice posh spa with champagne while you wait! We had a couple's treatment called the Pair's Polish, pretty awesome, I'll have to write a separate review for that.

Here's the crazy part, the next morning. We went for a run along the Embarcadero in the morning and got back to the room at around 11:30am. We wanted to order room service to enjoy this amazing suite but room service seemed to be a problem on a Sunday. First off, room service was just a voice mail asking you to leave your order and they'll call back to confirm it... when will they call? shortly? That's not acceptable for this level of hotel! Next I called the hotline... it rang 15 times with no answer! We gave up! Oh... lastly, breakfast stops being served by 10:30am... on a Sunday?

Fortunately, this hotel is super close to all sorts of restaurants as you are next to Chinatown and North Beach. There are both excellent touristy restaurants and restaurants frequented by locals. We found an amazing diner called Mo's Grill in North Beach less than a half mile from the hotel where we had excellent pancakes and egg's benedict... oops that'll be another review!

Finally, after breakfast we strolled back through North Beach and Chinatown to the hotel. When leaving, I was dropping off my hotel key and mentioned the bit about room service to the front desk attendant, he rolled his eyes as if he knew that was a problem. At this point, my belly was full of a delicious breakfast from Mo's Grill, so I was still smiling.

Room Tip: This hotel has rooms of the bay and Coit Tower but are harder to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are very thankful for your kind remarks. I am very sorry for the initial failure with your first room. I assure you that we will review this with our Front Desk. Our Food & Beverage team is closely monitoring the room service procedures. We hope that you will still return to stay with again. Thank you for submitting a guest review. We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our stay was too short at this beautiful hotel. We loved staying here, view from our room of Coit Tower and San Francisco Bay were stunning!!! It was a free upgrade at check in that was most appreciated. We stayed on the 24th floor, the room was very clean and the staff was very nice.
I love the location of this hotel it is in a prime location in San Francisco, across the street form Chinatown, in the middle of the Financial District, 5 minutes away from north beach and few minutes from Embarcadero, Coit Tower and fisherman Warf, few blocks away from Union Square.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dir_of_Front_Office, Front Office Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Wow! Our staff is thrilled that you enjoyed the service and accommodations. We hope that you will to stay with again. Thank you for submitting a guest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, Lombard Street and the Golden Gate Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Financial District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.