We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great, very helpful staff - noisy location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Financial District to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% Package
Ranked #77 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good but not great, very helpful staff - noisy location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week in September on business. A very large hotel a bit off the beaten track even though it is right on the edge of Chinatown. It is a 10 minute walk to Union Square and a 15 minute walk down to the Ferry Building on The Embarcadero. The hotel lacked any real character but the staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a King room on the 18th floor which was a good size with usual comfortable bed, loads of pillows and good linens. Huge desk stretching from one wall to the other, looking out the window, which was great to work at. Numerous power sockets too. Wireless was not free. Next to the bed resting on the base of the bedside light was a small pack of new earplugs. I thought being 18 floors up would mean it would be relatively quiet - understanding that San Francisco is a lively city. Unfortunately night one street noise continued to about 4am and the old metal windows did little to cut out the noise, so I spent the week with ear plugs fully operational. Light sleepers be warned. Le Meridien on Battery St I find is a better all round hotel but that little more expensive.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_sanfran, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you felt we lacked character. I hope the view from your guest room and our friendly service helped make up for it. Next time you are here, stop by our gift shop for a traditional Chinese tea tasting for a truly unique experience full of character. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    827
    416
    136
    74
See reviews for
333
599
147
706
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night and found our rooms to be clean and very comfortabel. We really didn't spend to much time at the hotel, but everyone we came into contact with was very friendly, helpfull, and professional. The hotel was one block from the center of China Town, and a short walk to the cable cars. Once again the rooms were very well laid out, and the view amazing. As Hilton Gold members we had access to the lounge for breakfast. There was an excellent selection, and a hot item as well. I will definately be staying here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_sanfran, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. I’m happy to hear you had such a great experience, and had a chance to enjoy the Executive Lounge. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a hotel that is strongly recommendable. The service is awsome, food is excellent and the staff is on their toe to give you service when ever needed :)

I will definetily be back at this hotel next time in San Francisco.

Room Tip: I had room in the 21st floor, and I slept really good all night long. Despite a little bit noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_sanfran, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for recommending us! I’m so glad we reached and hopefully exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are Hilton Honors members and got upgraded to the Executive level floor. It was great- 26 floors into the sky. The executive lounge was large and comfortable and offered a great breakfast and happy hour in the evening. We thought we had been moved to a Bay View room, which we weren't, and therefore were subject to the view over Chinatown. The view wasn't as bad, but certainly could have been better. Luckily we didn't spend too much time in the hotel! The rooms are a nice size, clean and comfortable. Sadly, a lot of the outside noise echoed between all of the buildings and was easy to hear overnight. We were thrown out of bed the first night we were there because of a fire truck going through the city. Great location for taking off on adventures through the city. Staff was very friendly and outgoing and made sure that our needs were met. Had a pack and play for our son, which fit very well in our room.

Room Tip: Try to get a Bay side room- very good views. Would also recommend going for a higher room, as anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_sanfran, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks for your review. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with the noise and city view. Next time you are staying with us, please let us know ahead of time if you prefer a bay view. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel "will do" for leisure or business but I didn't feel anything special about this property. I would suggest it is best for business travel rather than leisure. On the plus side, the rooms are well situated for the business traveler, but not a desk, but rather a full wall to work with ample room and plug in's for devices. The flat screen television is nice and it's large. We only at once in the restaurant, for breakfast, and it was just plain bad to awful. The buffet food was "old and cold" the service non-existent, wrong orders brought. Another significant drawback to the hotel is that taxi's don't come to this hotel. The rooms feel on the small side, although they're adequate. This hotel is just fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_sanfran, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I’m sorry to hear we didn’t “wow” you. We graciously welcome both business and leisure travelers, and hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I got upgraded to Hilton Financial SF through a Priceline bid and was thrilled with the result. The staff was superb and the setting in Chinatown was most enjoyable. I had two guests from Guatemala on their first visit and they had an experience they'll never forget. Hilton threw in a complimentary breakfast buffet (not part of the Priceline offer) that was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_sanfran, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
It’s nice to hear you had great visit with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We almost always stay at Hilton properties, what can we say, we love their beds!! We stayed here for 1 night, just for a place to stay on our "date night". The hotel was pretty busy, but all employees were nice, and happy to help. The rooms were clean, moderately sized, and had a large desk that went from one wall to the next, even a cordless phone.
The showers, IMO, suck. I like hot showers, this was barely warm enough for me to tolerate. However, my bf thought it was perfect. So if you do not mind not having a really hot shower, this shouldn't be an issue.
The only other thing about the rooms, is I could still hear everything outside, even though we were on the 12th floor. I could hear buses all night. Annoying.
Since we were running hours late for everything, we decided to order room service. It came quickly, and was very good, especially the tempura chicken skewers (wish I had ordered two plates!!) However, I ordered my burger well done, it was barely medium-well. I am not one to send food back, so I forced myself to eat about half of it. Upon check out the next morning, I brought it to the attention of the desk clerk, who apologized, and corrected the problem for us. More than he needed to do.
The location is right Chinatown, which is about a 30 min walk to AT&T Park (can't come and miss a Giants game!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MM_sanfran, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Financial District, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks for the good review and great details. We’re pleased you chose us for your “date night.” Our “right in the heart of the city” location does bring some “city sounds,” but it sounds like our great staff, easy access to fun parts of SF and the Chicken Skewers helped to make up for it. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Go Giants!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Financial District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.