We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Francisco Financial District to your Saves list
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% Package
Ranked #77 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

A Good Choice!
My wife and I stayed at the Hilton SF Financial District for 4 nights for a New Years getaway. Before our trip we poured over reviews of hotels in San Fran and decided that rather than spend a lot of money for a dumpy hotel at the Wharf or Union Square, we would rather get a nicer hotel for the same amount by selecting a place outside the tourist trap areas. It turned out to be a good decision!
This hotel is on the edge of the financial district next to China Town and North Beach districts, and is a short walk to Union Square. A 5 minute walk down to the waterfront, jump on a trolley car, and couple minutes later your at Fishermans Wharf or Pier 39. The California Line Cable Car is a few short blocks away from the hotel. We had no problems getting anywhere in SF, its a very compact city. Ask for a Bayview Room, and request a high floor away from elevators. The rooms are not huge, but very comfortable, and the bay view will blow you away! Granted the windows are single pane and you can hear a bit of noise from the streets below, but we didn't find it to be a big deal. We had no issues with elevators, and the staff were very accomdating. During our stay we took a look at some of the other hotels we could have chosen, and to be honest, I think we made a good choice. Some of the hotels in the Union Square district are on the edge of the Tenderloin District (a very sketchy part of the city) and not a good idea to walk around late at night. And while hotels near Fishermans Wharf are very convenient to the tourist traps, there is more to see in SF than the tourist traps. If I had to find fault with this hotel, it was that we asked for a high floor when reserving, but had to insist on it when we checked in late (midnight) and they had us down for a 9th floor room, we asked for the higher room, and ended up with the 17th floor. And don't let the door men talk you into taking a town car to the airport when you check out, our cab to SF International was $36 and the town car was willing to come down to $50. We did not eat at the hotel as it seemed pricy, but the area is surrounded by incredible restaraunts for lunch and dinner, for breakfast try Mamma's in North Beach, its a short walk. Union Square is less than a 10 minute walk down Kearny St to Market St.
Tip: Purchase a Muni-Pass either at the airport information booth, or at the Cable Car ticket booths, it gives you unlimited rides on Cable Cars, buses, Trolley Cars etc. for your stay. We were not driving, but be warned parking in SF is a nightmare and expensive.
We loved SF and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Higher end hotel for same price as tourist traps, and beautiful view.
  • Disliked — We reserved a high floor room, but had to ask again for it when we arrived.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    827
    416
    136
    74
See reviews for
333
599
147
706
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis Mn
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

My wife and I had an enjoyable 3 nights between Christmas and New Years. Our 14th floor view of Telegraph Hill and the Bay was wonderful. There were times we couldn't see the Coit Tower for the fog, but it was allways magical. We had a meal and a breakfast in the restaurant and both were excellent. We had the same waiter both times, and he was very friendly but didnt intrude. I think some of the negative reviews that have been posted have been from priceline-type guests who may not get rooms very high up or bayside. The single-pane windows do let in a bit of street noise, but complete silence wouldn't be right either. SF is a city!
Another nice feature is a pedestrian bridge directly from the hotel to a major park in Chinatown. The hotel is at the very western edge of the financial district and is the nearest big hotel to Chinatown, with its narrow, crowded sidewalks and perhaps the best people-watching in the city.
One other thing, we have Hiltion Honors membership, and that may account for our good room location.

  • Liked — Location, full service hotel, good price
  • Disliked — That the hotel allows pets. Some people can't keep their dogs quiet.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

Parking is offensively expensive! $48.00 per night vs. $26.00 across the street. The location was bellow average. It is in the heart of Chinatown, a car ride to everything a vacationing family would like to see (Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Shopping, non Chinese food etc....) No cotts or roll away beds available in the double room. Room itself was nice, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

I stayed here on a 4 nights break from england and chose the hotel because i got a great deal through orbitz and wanted to stay central with a hotel brand. Union sq shopping wasnt my thing but it took 10-15 mins walk. The hotel is next to friscos landmark building the Transamerica pyramid which you cant appreciate until you view it from a distance. Chinatown in next door up a hill, broadway and the many adult clubs are like 2 minutes walk away ;)


The hotel itself was clean as hilton standards expect, staff were always helpful giving directions etc. I got a 'bay view' room which was awesome, if i hadnt then i would have been faicing a building and oit would have been bland so request bay view. Room was spacious, had the usual amenities, bathroom was very nice and modern, shower great.

Ididnt eat in the hotel but had a few late beers and the bar staff were nice and liked to flirt, expecially the women! Its a bit of a trek to fishermans wharf but an enjoyable walk. took 20 minutes to walk to pier 33 for the alcatraz ferry. use taxis if you must but you wont get the frisco experiance. I would stay here again definately as its far away from the castro area if you get my drift!

  • Liked — Location central
  • Disliked — Being central is great but it does mean you are 10-15 mins walk from the cool stuff in all directions
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Franciso
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

hotel service is terrible. no housekeeping provide and we have to use old bed sheet that we used the day before. Try not to stay in this hotel. only 2 star or less terrible terrible teriible.......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Liked — no
  • Disliked — no
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

I stayed at this hotel at the end of October and would suggest it to others because of its location and value. We walked everywhere from this hotel and thought it was perfect for its central location. We did not eat at the restaurant but stopped in the bar a few nights which was quite nice with very good bartenders. On the downside, and its been mentioned in other reviews, the elevators are very slow during peak times and the walls are paper thin. The shower in the room next door sounds like its in your room. The room size is very good and the amenities are average. The bay view rooms are beautiful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSquaredC2
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

I recently stayed at this hotel in the financial district. Usually, when I go to San Francisco, I stay in Union Square, but I was looking for some last minute weekend deals and decided to try out this area. This is the second time I stayed in this area of the city.

The hotel is very nice - the rooms are nice and modern, and a bit cozy. But this is San Francisco - which, much like Chicago and New York, the rooms can be small. But the amenities were top notch, and the free internet access was a bonus. The only things I noticed were that the elevators are slow on the way down - especially during the core check out hours. And the bar staff couldn't be bothered with a few questions. Other than that, it was a decent location.

A couple of blocks from Embarcadero Center, it's about a 10-15 minute walk to Union Square, right next to the Transamerica building. I stayed on a weekend, so the streets weren't as busy as it probably is during the week. One plus was that since it was a Saturday night stay, I was able to park on the street. I heard that hotel parking is $48, but I paid $3/hour on the street and then after 6pm, the meters are free, as well as all day Sunday. I would stay here if you don't mind walking and looking for a little more value and comfort. I wouldn't stay here if walking isn't something you're looking to do much of. It gets pretty scarce later at night on the streets between Union Square and the hotel, but there always seems to be someoone walking by. I had no issues walking home at 2 in the morning.

I recently discovered this area as a cheaper alternative to Union Square the week before and stayed at another close by property as well.

  • Liked — Great alternative to Union Square
  • Disliked — Not as ideal if you're looking to be close to the Civic Center area
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Francisco Financial District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.