We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 8th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #134 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is very good. Everything is nice and clean. The staff is very service-oriented and gave a lot of advices to us (first time tourists from Denmark).

You should accept some noise from traffic, but you get to be close to public transportation opportunities.

We prepared our kids to see a lot of very rich people in California. Instead the hole family is in shock over the amount of homeless people in this area. The homeless's are walking around like zombies. Hope that America wakes up from the American dream and starts making a country where everybody gets a dissent life - guess that's not something the hotel can make much of a difference.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The transformation and growth in the Mid-Market area has brought an increased presence of SF agencies to deal with homeless issues both here and throughout the City. Unfortunately, these issues are prevalent and visible throughout the city. Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Civic Center and we hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    250
    232
    63
    58
See reviews for
115
178
76
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed two nights, booked each night separately. The front staff kindly combined them when I checked in, but might forgot canceling the duplication although he promised. So, I was billed both, two nights stay and another one night stay on the same day.

I tried to contact this hotel regarding this issue via email since I am based in oversea, but could NOT get responses at all, even though reminded a few times and, also, contacted via IHG Guest Relations. (I have GOLD status though..) Finally, I could be contacted with the hotel management TWO weeks after my first contact by just saying "your refund was processed.." without mentioning any apologies for the delay and wrong billing, even after a few FURTHER inquires to IHG Guest Relations.

Very insincere and unprofessional this hotel management looks. Due to construction of hotel building and its location (SF Civic Center), it also makes this hotel's atmosphere and experience worse.

Whatever you have higher status, I do NOT recommend this property if you want to have more than a fair experience of IHG.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Easy enough to drive to, they had garage parking. It was expensive at 40 dollars per day. The man on reception was pleasant and helpful. It was simple to get the street car or bart near by and Union square a short walk away. Homeless people everywhere at night is not what you want when you have a camera around your neck. We were changed to this holiday inn on our itinerary and I did not have a chance to check it out before arriving. Was a bit worried as earphones beside bed. Not needed just heard usual city traffic. Saw building site across road but did not bother us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re glad to know that our location was convenient for your needs. Parking in San Francisco is an additional expense as with most major cities with high-demand and limited real estate. As such, we aim to provide great value with our parking facilities including a secured, enclosed lot with 24 hour access and unlimited in-and-out privileges. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again when you next visit SF.
Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for a military homecoming/Giants game outing, which was a 2 day event. At the last minute, I wanted to get another room. The staff was very helpful, got me the best price for both rooms, & were very professional.

The rooms are standard but were clean. We stayed on the 10th floor facing all the construction, unfortunately. They start working very early and it was noisy at 5:30 am so we didn't sleep with the balcony door open on the second night.

The bartender in the lounge was very slow and not attentive at all. The pizza was below average but covered our needs that night.

The Hotel is conveniently located next to all modes of transportation and freeway close. We will stay in the future if we need a hotel inside the city.

Room Tip: Ask for room with odd numbers..quieter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re glad to hear that you were p leased with your rooms and the rate while you stayed with us to go to a Giants game. We are sorry to hear that there was noise that didn't allow for you to rest. We do our best to ensure guests are completely satisfied and if there are any disruptions coming from a source that we may take action on, going forward, please let Guest Services know and we will resolve the matter right away. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is a half a block away from the public transportation system (Bart, muni) underground, bus, and street cars. Also a good walk to many shops and restaurants. Though there are quiet a number if homeless around the area, it is still as long as you don't bother them, they won't bother you, as anywhere in the SFO area need to be made around of your surroundings. The hotel is very reasonable priced. I stayed at this property a little over a year ago and at the time they were doing some improvements. The property, lobby, and rooms were very clean. The front desk staff were very and extremely helpful. The property has a restaurant on site, an outdoor heated pool and a small fitness center. There is also washing facilities on site should you needed them and also offer free internet access wifi in the rooms. As far as getting around, unless your going to go to napa valley, you don't need a car. The public transportation system is very safe. Though there are homeless that hang out around the underground at the top and by the turnstiles and at times there can be bad odors smell of body odor or urine, there is no issues once past the turnstiles and on the actual train, bus, street, or cable car. They are clean with no grafetti. I would recommend the public transportation system. They have a clipper card that you can use with all the public transportation agencies. Though it costs $3 for the card, it's worth it. Can even get use the system from SFO or OAK airports.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the five stars! We are happy your enjoyed our location and took advantage of it during your visit! Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Civic Center and we hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The first impression of the Holiday Inn was not super- no wheelchair ramp, no easy way for us to get our luggage in and no porter at all out front. In fact, at 1300h when we arrived, no one at all helped us with all our bags.
However, the friendly, courteous and efficient service at the front desk made up for it. As a Priority Club member, the staff also made a point to recognize me and also helped gain extra IHG points!. The bellboy/porters could be very abrupt and appear uncaring. Even on leaving- they did not bother helping us with all our luggage (we had been to Bot Con in Pasadena and killed it buying Transformers).
Security measures added to this hotel include- swiping your card in prior to the lift taking you to your floor (ensuring no access via elevator for outsiders). The room itself was a relief- large room, clean, airy, smelt nice and had a small balcony where we were greeted by a hummingbird!. That was an amazing sight. Our room overlooked the pool- which was not a problem as it was closed at 2200h.
Wi-fi is complimentary and worked well during my visit. More than 2 devices could be connected at a time. Wi-fi passcode is given at check-in which saves me time from asking and very different from Starwood properties which charge you anything from $12-15 every 24 hours to have access.
The pool was good but we did not have time to use the gym. Instead, a very short walk took us to the Public Library, Civic Centre park, Asian Art Museum and City Hall. Indeed, there are very many panhandlers and homeless people in this part of town. However, one of those guys proved super helpful at the BART and helped us negotiate how to get tickets etc. I find a smile and kind word gets you through.
We did not try the hotel breakfast as we opted to do laundry- conveniently located at the 4th floor. Washing takes quarters- costs $2 and drying the same. Detergent is available in the gift shop downstairs about $1.25 and dryer fabric 0.50 a piece. It takes 35 mins to wash and 48 minutes to dry on permanent press.
Check-out was speedy and super efficient which we totally appreciate.

CONS: although i felt comfy and have been in far dodgier places, my husband felt unsafe especially at night time.
Speaking to a friend who has lived there 11 years, she explained that because of the climate and also the park in that area; most homeless will congregate there especially. Basically, the newly rich 1% in the I.T industry have displaced a lot of people from their homes- they can pay more, so landlords kick out the lower wage earners. SF has always been an expensive city so you see the poor, the mentally unwell and unlucky down and out in San Francisco.
The smell was also a turn-off for my husband. I thought Paris Metro smelled worse plus can hold my breath longer. Some of my patients smell worse so it did not bother me.

PROS: the rooms, the services,the amenities-pool, gym, laundry, the location- close to trams, buses, BART and MUNI. Walking distance to Market area, UN Plaza and Civic Centre. Free Wi-fi!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors to avoid street noise if you are a sensitive type. I slept reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re glad to know that our rooms, amenities and helpful staff met the needs of your business trip to San Francisco. Thank you also for expressing your concerns. Being in the heart of a highly-populated urban city, we are located in a diverse community. As safety is always a first priority for our hotel, we do implement security measures to reassure guests with confidence and comfort. Holiday Inn Civic Center takes every measure to keep our guests and their belongings safe and secure. An individual must have an activated guest room key to access all elevators, restrooms, guest rooms, and facilities, as all entry ways have key scanners that must verify guest status before enabling entry. The neighborhood is undergoing a major transformation and we hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I spent a week in this Hotel. Close to the worst Market's zone, but enough safe, at least during the day. Lots of homeless browzing around, walking up and down, close to the hotel, or sleep on the sidewalk. Nevertheless, isnt the worst zone to be at SF. 15 minutes from downtown Union Square. WI-FI work in the room. A couple of computer plus a print machine available for customers . ATM machine in the Hotel. Could became very expensive, during week-end. Parking available. If you take a rate free of breakfast should be cheaper. Breakfast is nothing at all: Not a piece of fresh vegetable, only scambled eggs or boiled, some kind of salty cheese, stinky croissant, bred. Because of lot of variaty of people caming from Japan and China the hotel could be very jammed. Washer and dryer machine available for the clients. Pool and gym room. Consigliato anche se si trova nella zona di Market St, zona piena di barboni e pazzi. 15 minuti da Union Square. Wi-Fi in camera. Ci sono 2 computer per uso collettivo più una stampante. Bancomat presente. Lavatrice/Asciugatrice a disposizione. Piscina e sala pesi. La colazione è veramente scarsa: uova bollite, o strapazzate, nessuna verdura, un po' di frutta. I dolci meglio lasciarli perdere .Prendete la tariffa senza colazione. Hotel nella media ma che può diventare caro.

Room Tip: Meglio senza colazione, specialmente se siete Italiani. Vi abbassa anche il costo della tariffa. Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Assistant to the General Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The transformation and growth in the Mid-Market area has brought an increased presence of SF agencies to deal with homeless issues both here and throughout the City. Unfortunately, these issues are prevalent and visible throughout the city. Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Civic Center and we hope to welcome you again for your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm regards, Holiday Inn Civic Center San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Address: 50 8th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a AAA 3 Diamond, full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco s Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the Jubilee Restaurant/Conversations Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $29 per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.