We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location not great, Service ranks a 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 8th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #138 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Location not great, Service ranks a 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had not planned ahead for a business trip and ended up booking at this hotel based loosely on the 'close' proximity to the event I was attending. Based on the pictures, the lobby looked great and the bar/restaurant appeared nicely updated. Much like the chain where I am a member. However, the cab pulled up to the hotel - not such a great area of town and I literally almost stepped in dog poop getting out town and there were panhandlers right there asking me for money. I checked in and the front desk staff was extremely professional and helpful. I needed to arrange a ride almost immediately and there was a town car available right outside (appeared that the gentleman worked the hotel) however, they were smoking from a hookah pipe as I walked up. (a touch unprofessional) I asked if there was a cab to the convention center and he said it was a $20 minimum charge so I walked off to hail a cab. Well, he chased me down and what would have been a $7 cab fare was $10 (although he was standing around doing 'nothing'). Not such a great start. The room although clean smelled like a dirty baby diaper. And there were warnings about not opening doors after 6:00, etc. Not too comforting as a woman traveling for work. I had forgotten some essentials and stopped at the gift shop, right in the hotel. they didn't allow you to charge to a room and didn't take Amex. I am there for business and the wifi kept dropping connections and made it almost impossible to email and conduct business. BUT. it was included in the price of the room. Enough of the negatives..just needed to get those out of the way.

Ok, since I travel much with work, I will tell you what can make or break a stay....Service! And this hotel offered some of the best service that I have experienced anywhere. From the front desk, who was super friendly about storing bags, giving directions, making restaurant reservations, fixing a broken latch on my suitcase, to the housekeeping staff... whoever trains and manages this staff as well as the staff itself should be acknowledged.

One of my coworkers met me for a drink at the bar (great looking bar for the hotel, by the way) and the bartender treated that establishment like it was her own. The kitchen didn't open for an hour after we were there and we just wanted some snacks with our drinks. (the bar didn't offer peanuts, etc.) She ran to the gift shop and bought some out of her own pocket. Very friendly and helpful about the area and kept us engaged. the last night I was there, she ordered from a local restaurant as their kitchen wasn't open yet. I ordered a drink and she made the call and made sure I had some utensils to take to my room and even called room service to pick up the boxes, etc after I was done. I wish I had gotten her name, someone needs to give a huge 'Atta' Girl' and possibly a raise to this gal. I stayed August 26 - 29th and was in the hotel bar area at 5:00. Hopefully that will assist in identifying her. She and the rest of the staff made up for the location and some of the shortfalls. Check out was efficient and quick.

I wish there were minor improvements to the hotel itself, however, if I could pick it up and move it to a bit better location, the service would push this to a 5 star hotel..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Holiday Inn Civic Center recognizes that guest satisfaction is in the details and we are pleased your experience reflected such care and you felt you received some of the best service you’ve experienced anywhere. We will be sure to share your praises to our staff about the consistent, great service you received from the front desk to our bar, 50onEight. Our hotel does not have any driver staff, but we do provide the service of arranging a cab service for our guests at their request. The bandwidth of our hotel is currently underway to be expanded to a 100 mbps fiber optic pipeline to increase wifi accessibility in our guest rooms. We regret if the location was not as you expected, but are pleased to share with our future guests that there are many current local initiatives and innovative projects in motion to enhance the neighborhood and deliver a renewed SOMA/Civic Center district. Thank you for letting us know how we are helping fulfill our vision of creating great hotels guests love through first-rate service and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to San Francisco as a valued guest.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    277
    251
    69
    60
See reviews for
119
191
81
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After checking, once I reached the room, saw this one page instructions of don't talk to strangers, don't open door after 6 in the evening. without checking credentials or checking with front desk and so on.itgives you an idea of the city or the area you are staying. The last I read such instructions was when I was staying in port of Spain about 4years back. To be honest I would give a miss to such a hotel. Surprisingly there was no fridge in the room but was available on charge. Learnt from the guide the next day that the city as such was safe but not the area where the hotel was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, August 28, 2013
As a gesture of care and consideration, our brand offers all of our guests safety tips during their travels. It is not a suggestion of the local neighborhood, but rather just an extension of our hospitality in an effort to give travelers additional helpful ways in which they may enjoy their journeys safely and comfortably. We appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with our property.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

nice hotel (recently renovated), friendly staff with good insights on nearby attractions. parking is $45/day. lots of other lots nearby where you can park for cheaper (including one next door, that is much cheaper). many rooms have lovely views of the city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are pleased our recent renovations and guest room views were to your liking. Friendly and well-informed guest service is an extension of our continuous effort to create great hotels guests love. We are glad to hear our staff was able to assist with your local entertainment inquiries. Parking is an additional consideration when visiting the city of San Francisco and we do our best to provide comparable rates. Our hotel does offer 24 hour in-and-out parking privileges whereas many other nearby parking establishments enforce limited operating hours as well as in-and-out restrictions. But if you are not planning on using your car to travel the city, there may be some local alternatives that might better suit your parking needs. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Civic Center and we hope to welcome you back to our great city soon.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The staff at this hotel couldn't be nicer. They were welcoming, friendly, helpful, from the reception staff to the doormen to the staff on room service - all first class in every way. We stayed for a full week and this level of service was consistent throughout. The downside of this hotel: wi-fi connectivity was patchy and this was very frustrating when trying to do emails -the reception staff did their very best to resolve the problem but the connection was still erratic. We could have done with a fridge in the room. A water cooler in the lobby would be a great addition, as well as better quality coffee in the rooms. Trips to the local coffee shop for water and coffee add to the cost of a week's stay. If you're staying here in this hotel be aware that the local area is tricky - a lot of homeless people around. We had to get taxis late at night when returning to the hotel, so add this to the cost of your stay. A hotel in Union Square may be more expensive for a room rate but could be easier to walk home to at night time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, August 23, 2013
First class service is our standard at Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center and we are glad to hear you felt welcome and well-served as a valued guest for the duration of your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the wifi and are pleased to inform you that we are currently coordinating installing a 100 MBPS fiber-optic pipeline to better expand the bandwidth offered at our hotel. In addition, Holiday Inn Civic Center has an on-site business center that is free access to all of our guests. We know guests need reliable and fast internet access whether traveling for business or pleasure, and we are taking steps to enhance our facilities to suit their needs. Our hotel does offer the option of having a refrigerator in your guest room for an additional charge. Just let Guest Services know you would like one and they will arrange it for you. Thank you for feedback and we appreciate having the opportunity to host your stay in San Francisco.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I really couldn't tell you much about the amenities, seeing as to how we didn't really use any. As for the customer service--top notch. Over the phone, at the front desk, in front of the hotel, my friends and I were taken care of every step of the way. The hotel is nice and clean. The location is pretty good. It isn't super close to the places you might want to check out (walking distance ranges anywhere from 5-20 minutes), but it's right in the middle of all of it, which is exactly what I was looking for when booking my stay in San Fran.

Room Tip: Call to confirm your reservation and add any notes you might have to it. Ask for Linda to help you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Top-notch guest service is our specialty at Holiday Inn Civic Center and it is our pleasure to take care of your stay every step of the way. Being located in the heart of the city and less than one block away from many affordable forms of public transportation makes exploring San Francisco from our property easy and accessible. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate you choosing Holiday Inn Civic Center for your travels.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are here for 2 nights. we got in and check in was easy. Got to our room and it was nice. WE did not have a fridge, even though there is a spot for one. We did have a balcony. I love balconies. Not a great view, but we could still open the door and step outside. The lobby is very nice, clean and pretty. There is a restaurant in the lobby, we did not try it, there is a full bar and the menu does look good.
the hotel is right by market street, so buses and walking is great. It is a noisy, but you are in the heart of San Francisco, so you have to expect that.
If we are in this area again, yes we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you - it is a great compliment to receive a five star review from a guest! Every room has its own private balcony at Holiday Inn Civic Center and we are pleased you enjoyed the access to outside. Should you stay with us again, we highly recommend our restaurant, 50onEight, as we just introduced a brand new menu! We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel and we would be honored to welcome you back as a guest.

Jessica Vertiz
Holiday Inn San Francisco Civic Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loenen aan de Vecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

good location near Market street. Friendly staff, clean rooms. No fridge in the room. We stayed on the floor where the swimmingpool was so we had slidingdoor in the back and could even sit outside on the roof. Small swimmingpool. Parking garage at the hotel. We like to walk so we walked to Fisherman's Wharf which took us about 40 minutes with a steep hill in the beginning. Lots of homeless people around the hotel, they are somtimes loud but they don't bother you. Not far to walk to the beginning of the cable car!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_SFCC, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Holiday Inn Civic Center is pleased you enjoyed our location, friendly staff, and clean guest rooms. We do offer the option of having a refrigerator available in a guest room for an additional charge – just let Guest Services know you would like one and they will arrange it for you. Parking is limited in a big city such as San Francisco, but we gladly offer a secure parking facility with 24 hour in-and-out privileges to our valued guests. Thank you for submitting a review for our hotel and we greatly appreciate you choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Civic Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Address: 50 8th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a AAA 3 Diamond, full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco s Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the Jubilee Restaurant/Conversations Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $29 per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.