We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrific Hotel; No regrets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking!
Ranked #28 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Terrific Hotel; No regrets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2005

It is a pleasure to write a review about this hotel. My wife and I stayed there for three nights during the first week of September 2005. We made reservations through Priceline and obtained a room with a queen sized bed for a bargain price of $110.00 per night.

Before we checked in, the hotel gave us the opportunity to look at a room with the queensized bed and one with a king sized bed. For an extra $20 per night we opted for the larger bed (and room). It was well worth it. The bed and sheets were excellent.

The television is an about a 24" LCD. Though the picture was fine, it was a little too small for the room. The desk staff was very kind and helpful. However, I am giving the hotel only an above average review instead of and excellent review, because of an event at check in.

My wife and I arrived several hours before the normal check in time. I was suffering from a splitting migraine headache. The fron desk staff tried to get housekeeping to make up the room to get us checked in. However, it took housekeeping about two and a half hours to complete their assignment.

Other than that one expericence, our stay was fabulous. The bell man serves as valet, concierge, and car valet, which is too much for one person. However, both gentlemen were enitrely helpful with directions and suggestions.

I forgot to mention that the hotel is centrally located. Fishermen's Wharf is just a short bus/trolley ride away. China town is a 20 minute walk away. You are just a couple of blocks from Market Street.

In short, here are my suggestions:

1. Get a king sized bed. Splurge a little. The room is larger, and of course, the bed is bigger.
2. Don't forget to go downstairs at 5 pm for free beer and wine; or at 9 pm for milk and cookies.

Our expericnece, over all, was above average. In my opinion, if all things remain equal, you will enjoy your stay.

Regards,

Scott

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    303
    64
    24
    21
See reviews for
46
388
90
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2005

We stayed three nights in August and loved this hotel. It was perfectly situated (metro stops, Embarcadero and most importantly, SBC Park for some concerts we saw). The staff were friendly and promptly rectified a billing error with no argument or hassle. Although we were never in when they had the warm cookies and milk, the fact that it was available made it even better. The standard room we had was tastefully decorated and "cozy" but fine for the amount of time we spent there. One note: we had thought the Y was free for guests to use, but in fact there was a $10/day charge. Overall, would stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

The young and friendly staff of the Harbour Court should give lessons to the staff of other hotels. One genuinely feels welcome and wanted and most of all comfortable immediately upon entering. It's just like everyone says. Fantastic location. Beautiful design. Small but well appointed and luxurious rooms. I especially loved the Aveda bath products and the incredibly soft linens. The view is unparalleled. I went for a self-indulgent weekend for my birthday and left feeling indulged and happy. Thanks Harbor Court!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2005

My girlfriend and I spent a lovely evening at this hotel. Much of the time we were in the hotel, we spent in the lobby, which is well decorated and has a lovely log fire which we both enjoyed immensely.

We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2005

Had a very pleasant stay for one night at the Harbor Court. We had a spacious room with a king. We could not get a view room though the staff tried to find us one - they were very helpful. Decor is modern which I liked, nice Aveda toiletries. Yoga channel which, which we watched but of course, did not join in. Location is great - close to the ferry building.

A tip - We had dinner at a great restaurant at the Ferry building, California Vietnamese - Slanted Door. There is also a great Mexican restaurant where we had lunch the next day.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.