We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking!
Ranked #30 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great location a few minutes from the Bart station at embarcadero so transfer to and from airport was easy and cheap. We paid a bit extra for a Bay view room and it was worth it - what a fabulous view of the Bay Bridge to wake up to - and just as good at night when it's all lit up. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the wine reception every evening is a nice touch. Before you go, join the Kimpton loyalty programme ( free) which gives you free wi-fi throughout your stay, and a $10 mini- bar voucher. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    302
    64
    24
    21
See reviews for
45
387
90
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed overnight awaiting our cross-country train trip on Amtrak. The station was across the street so extra convenient the following morning wheeling our bags across the street. There was a wonderful farmers market Saturday also across the street on the waterfront and we grabbed a peddie cab to the Fishmen's Wharf but it is walkable as we walked back. I suggest Pier 23, funky lil dive bar but the most incredible red snapper taco's !! And the Waterbar across the street from hotel has $1.00 oysters from 11:30am to 3pm. The wine reception in the evening was nice as was the coffee in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel was chose due to the proximity of business. Arrival was nice and staff was very attentive. As I missed the wine hour due to late arrival, I was served free wine to the room. What a kind gesture!
During check in I asked, if the room would have a nice view. I was told, harbor view would be for additional 80$ per night, which would have brought the price per night to >>400$ plus taxes. Therfore I declined.

Coming to the room I was very disappointed. Such a small room. Even with european measures, this was a tiny room. Walking around the bed was nearly not possible, although I only had my carry-on suitcase with me. As this was only a short stay, I kept my clothes in the suitcase and placed it on the desk. This way it worked. The room was very dark and I regretted not to to have a torch light. The view through the window did not allow any daylight, only views of walls and pipes.

Towels in the bathroom were not clean and also replacements were spotty (I do not like yellow spots on former white-now gray towels). Shower gel and all that stuff was provided in big bottles, mounted to the wall, as in a cheap B&B.

The bottle of water in the room was 6$ and still in a plastic bottle.

The wine hour was really brilliant and all the staff I spoke with, was very kind and attentive.

The biggest downside is really that it is absolutely overpriced for the small room and lack of view. Housekeeping could be improved, but the staff is already the best asset they have.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here as he was working late on his company project milestones. Our room was small but cozy and had a partial bay view. The hotel staff here are very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the complimentary use of their bikes on a beautiful Sunday. We were able to walk easily to many great nearby restaurants, including the ferry building/plaza. The wine reception in the evening was a nice touch. They served pretzels too but I suggest offering cheese or nuts to accompany their wine. The infused water in the lobby was very refreshing. Their coffee in the morning was also good. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was on a business trip to San Jose area and before flying back to east coast, I wanted to take in a game at AT&T Park for the SF Giants. I got tickets on StubHub and then proceeded to search for hotel in walking distance near the ball park as I did not want to drive back to San Jose after the game and wanted to enjoy the game without worrying about the drive back. There was not that many options within walking distance, but ended up finding the Harbor Court Hotel which seemed like a good hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel was ok, I ended up booking the Baseball Package rate which was cheaper than my AAA and company travel agency rates. The ballpark is about a 15 minute enjoyable walk from the hotel. It was really pleasant on the walk back at night after the game as the Bay Bridge was lighted up for the laser light show. The room was very small - just look at the picture, but I was fine with it, as I did not spend much time in the room except for sleeping. The wifi was free if you join their hotel frequent guest club which also came with a $10 discount towards the mini-bar. There are bars and restaurants next to the hotel along with food court in the Ferry Terminal building. I would consider staying here again, if I need a hotel near the ballpark.

Tip: I found a tip from a TripAdvisor review, park your car in the parking garage near the hotel instead of using the valet service at the hotel. The hotel uses the same garage, but the rate is much cheaper parking yourself rather than go through the hotel service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a room overlooking the Bay Bridge, which was lovely. The hotel is beautifully decorated and while the rooms were small they were well appointed. A fully stocked mini bar, great room amenities. I loved the wine hour each afternoon, it's those little extras that make for a great hotel. Unfortunately there isn't much happening around this hotel...it is a couple of blocks walk to get to a busier area with more restaurants etc but I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A two night stay at this wonderful hotel was far too short. Beautifully renovated and well appointed, this hotel brings classic styling in a convenient location.

Located near the intersection of Market Street and The Embarcadero, visitors will find heaps of dining from Cafe's to fine dining, along with a multitude of great bars & grills, bistros and coffee shops. The Harbor Court is located a short walk from Pac-Bell park, home of Giants baseball, to the South west. To the north and west is San Francisco's famous Embarcadero and a couple of blocks up is the Ferry Building. Public transportation, buses, BART stations within a 5 minute walk, at most.

Shopping of all sorts is nearby.

Views of the abound, and while it lasts, the light show on the Bay Bridge is spectacular and just across the street.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a bay view room
See more room tips
Green Features: Like most hotels in San Francisco, you'll find it very eco-friendly
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.