We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable view of the Bay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 50% on Parking
Ranked #29 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Unbelievable view of the Bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wow, we stayed in this hotel during Fleet Week, and were not disappointed. Found the hotel very classy, quiet, and the staff were great. The room we had on the Bay side ( Embarcadero ), was small, and not a lot of room, but quaint. The beds were situated in such a way you could sit on them, open the window and catch the breeze off the Bay, and watch the boats sail right on by. During Fleet Week, what a sight, The Blue Angels flying right by your window, fire works at night, and a variety of navel ships travelling back and forth. We have stayed in numerous hotels around SF, but this one had a view you can't beat. Close walking distance to Pier One for coffee, restaurants, and shopping. 20 -25 minute walk to Westfield Mall on Market or Union Square, and on the way lots of restaurant. You'll need to take a cab or cable car to Pier 39 as that is a bit of a walk. The only draw back is there is no restaurant in the hotel, but several close by. Try Perry's for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, two doors down. The YMCA is right there as well. For the price it's a bit expensive but you'll enjoy what you get.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bay side, 4th floor or higher so you can see the Bay and not the foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    269
    61
    22
    21
See reviews for
40
361
83
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I came for a quick turnover business meeting and had a bonus free afternoon and evening in SF. For someone otherwise unfamiliar with the city, this is a premier location not only for views but ideally located as a jumping point for all tourist activities. Directly on the embarcadero, this hotel is could be snooty but is absolutely the epitome of hopsitality, freindliness and general SF vibe. I was very surprised at the genuine friendliness of all employees, from housekeeping to the service staff. The staff definately make this hotel. I borrowed the hotel's complimentary bicycle which was adjusted for me and offers helmet, bike lock & basket. I was easily able to cross the street to the embarcadero main bicycle path and made my way to Pier 39 for all bay & bus tours. The coffee service area and lobby are well- appointed and expect to see guests & staff with their pets which lends to the overall appeal. My room was small, dark with outdoor shaft view but well appointed, great bedding and..well, this is SF after all. Thanks Ree, Vaughn,Chris, Daniel- I'm making a point to come back with my kids and pets next!!

Room Tip: Rooms vary greatly in size throughout, ask for a larger room if needed up front from staff"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Harbor Court for two nights in late June, in a bay view room. I was so happy we stumped up the extra money for the view, it was well worth it. The view of the bay and the Bay Bridge, both during the day and at night was stunning. If you can afford it, do book the bay view room.

We found the room to be of ample size and clean. I love all the extras you can buy at this hotel from the mini-bar, not just alcohol and chips but things you may need like a toothbrush! The staff were very friendly and helpful, I was very impressed, totally customer focussed.

I liked the idea of the wine tasting each afternoon however, we never made it to one. We were always out doing something! Still a great idea though. The iced cucumber or orange water in the lobby is a great idea too, I really appreciated a glass of this each time we returned to the hotel.

The location of the hotel is great too, very well located for catching public transport and visiting attractions such as the Ferry Building. While the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, we found there were lots of good places nearby you could eat at.

I was very impressed by the Harbor Court and the Kimpton approach and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Be advised, the rooms are tiny. There's not much square footage around the bed, but, the bed is super comfortable and the bedding great. The bathroom is small, but the water pressure is wonderful and so are the provided toiletries. The wine, cocktail and beer provided during evening hospitality is top notch, but, they provide only pretzels as snacks. They offer free bicycle rental and the bikes are cute, helmets are provided. We had a great visit. This hotel is great and the staff is attentive. We spent three very comfortable and entertaining day. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

After some travel woes at the San Francisco airport we decided to head downtown to get a better view and some entertainment. We chose Harbor Court due to it's proximity to the promenade and its not too far from the Wharf if you catch a pedicab. The room was tastefully decorated and we had a beautiful view of the bay and a bridge that was lit up at night that looked like twinkling stars. They also hosted a free wine tasting in the evening. Our stay was definitely a de-stressor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was very excited to stay at this hotel on a recent business trip. The website shows fantastic views of the Bay Bridge from the rooms. Unfortunately(and I paid quite a lot) my room was very tiny and dark with no view whatsoever (unless you count the rooftop vents). The staff are very nice and you get a glass of wine upon check-in, which I appreciated after a day of travel. The overnight parking fee is outrageous at $52. Would not stay here again unless guaranteed a view room. Also, there is no room service. You can order sushi from next door (also really expensive) but that is it. Better places to stay in downtown S.F.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

OK, I stayed here with Boy #1 last July and got a ridiculously good rate for a Bay View King room. Last year, we used the secret word at got free room service breakfast for two days. Yay! There was cookies and milk and root beer floats every night at 9:00, and Boy #1 and I padded down in pajamas (I was slightly more modestly attired) for the freebies each night. Based on that perk alone, Boy #2 selected the Harbor Court as the locale for this year's trip with Momma.

Bad news - ridiculously low rates were no where to be found this year. We secured a Queen View room for more than double the cost. Yikes! Curse you improved economy! But the above and beyond customer service is still the same. We knew the secret word (think the Pee Wee Herman Show without the screaming) and scored free room service breakfast again this year. Yum. Root beer floats discontinued - boo! but cookies and milk still available at 9:00. To an 8-year-old boy, being allowed to have cookies and milk after normal bedtime is downright decadent. Vacation Momma is WAY nicer than At-home Momma.

Front desk staff (in particular Ree) were very friendly and patient with Boy #2 and I. Even showed interest when he was sharing his vast collection of pennies that had been smashed by the F-line trolleys (hours of entertainment).

If I was rating based on last year's rates, the Harbor Court would be a five star experience by far. But my ratings are based not only on customer service, but also on value. I wish a 4 1/2 star rating was possible, but alas TripAdvisor makes us choose.... Still love the Harbor Court, and continue to stalk ridiculous rates.....

Room Tip: If you can swing it - bay view is the way to go, but more costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.