We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views of the Bay and great customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking!
Ranked #29 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stunning views of the Bay and great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Harbor Court for two nights in late June, in a bay view room. I was so happy we stumped up the extra money for the view, it was well worth it. The view of the bay and the Bay Bridge, both during the day and at night was stunning. If you can afford it, do book the bay view room.

We found the room to be of ample size and clean. I love all the extras you can buy at this hotel from the mini-bar, not just alcohol and chips but things you may need like a toothbrush! The staff were very friendly and helpful, I was very impressed, totally customer focussed.

I liked the idea of the wine tasting each afternoon however, we never made it to one. We were always out doing something! Still a great idea though. The iced cucumber or orange water in the lobby is a great idea too, I really appreciated a glass of this each time we returned to the hotel.

The location of the hotel is great too, very well located for catching public transport and visiting attractions such as the Ferry Building. While the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, we found there were lots of good places nearby you could eat at.

I was very impressed by the Harbor Court and the Kimpton approach and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    302
    64
    24
    21
See reviews for
45
387
90
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Be advised, the rooms are tiny. There's not much square footage around the bed, but, the bed is super comfortable and the bedding great. The bathroom is small, but the water pressure is wonderful and so are the provided toiletries. The wine, cocktail and beer provided during evening hospitality is top notch, but, they provide only pretzels as snacks. They offer free bicycle rental and the bikes are cute, helmets are provided. We had a great visit. This hotel is great and the staff is attentive. We spent three very comfortable and entertaining day. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

After some travel woes at the San Francisco airport we decided to head downtown to get a better view and some entertainment. We chose Harbor Court due to it's proximity to the promenade and its not too far from the Wharf if you catch a pedicab. The room was tastefully decorated and we had a beautiful view of the bay and a bridge that was lit up at night that looked like twinkling stars. They also hosted a free wine tasting in the evening. Our stay was definitely a de-stressor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was very excited to stay at this hotel on a recent business trip. The website shows fantastic views of the Bay Bridge from the rooms. Unfortunately(and I paid quite a lot) my room was very tiny and dark with no view whatsoever (unless you count the rooftop vents). The staff are very nice and you get a glass of wine upon check-in, which I appreciated after a day of travel. The overnight parking fee is outrageous at $52. Would not stay here again unless guaranteed a view room. Also, there is no room service. You can order sushi from next door (also really expensive) but that is it. Better places to stay in downtown S.F.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

OK, I stayed here with Boy #1 last July and got a ridiculously good rate for a Bay View King room. Last year, we used the secret word at got free room service breakfast for two days. Yay! There was cookies and milk and root beer floats every night at 9:00, and Boy #1 and I padded down in pajamas (I was slightly more modestly attired) for the freebies each night. Based on that perk alone, Boy #2 selected the Harbor Court as the locale for this year's trip with Momma.

Bad news - ridiculously low rates were no where to be found this year. We secured a Queen View room for more than double the cost. Yikes! Curse you improved economy! But the above and beyond customer service is still the same. We knew the secret word (think the Pee Wee Herman Show without the screaming) and scored free room service breakfast again this year. Yum. Root beer floats discontinued - boo! but cookies and milk still available at 9:00. To an 8-year-old boy, being allowed to have cookies and milk after normal bedtime is downright decadent. Vacation Momma is WAY nicer than At-home Momma.

Front desk staff (in particular Ree) were very friendly and patient with Boy #2 and I. Even showed interest when he was sharing his vast collection of pennies that had been smashed by the F-line trolleys (hours of entertainment).

If I was rating based on last year's rates, the Harbor Court would be a five star experience by far. But my ratings are based not only on customer service, but also on value. I wish a 4 1/2 star rating was possible, but alas TripAdvisor makes us choose.... Still love the Harbor Court, and continue to stalk ridiculous rates.....

Room Tip: If you can swing it - bay view is the way to go, but more costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at Harbor Court. We reserved at queen room with a view. Our room looked directly across from Bay Bridge, which was spectacular with new lights. The room is compact but comfortable.

On great amenity is that they offer bikes (only 4) which are in great condition. We came into the City early and took the bikes down the Embarcadero to the 2 America's Cup venues. Each of these venues have valet bike areas, very convenient!

At 5, the hotel offers wine/beer reception, which was nice.

There are a number of good restaurants within blocks including Boulevard, Pier 23 and a host of bay front restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - only across the street from the harbor, great view from the Bay Bridge.
All was great, except did not like that I got a view of the A/C Kitchen vents of the rooftop. That and PARKING...to park with them I paid $52 bucks...Overall, everything was great, would totally recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the city. Customer service agents were great!!!

Room Tip: Inner rooms are not a good view, upgrade to bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.