We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place right on the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 50% on Parking
Ranked #27 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place right on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here one night. The night before he SF marathon. Highly recommend for marathoners. The start/finish line is right outside the door! The rooms are small - maybe 12x20- but clean and the view of the Bay Bridge from water water side rooms is fantastic. The beds OK. The service staff were very helpful and outgoing. It's an older property, but everything was clean and everything worked. Room 612 was fine.

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    271
    60
    23
    20
See reviews for
40
361
83
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
llanelli
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A superb hotel. Don't be put off by reference to sushi cuisine. There are numerous restaurants within a short distance. Ferry terminal close by. Superb light show from the room. Manager Tom could not be more helpful. Special thanks to Sandi in reception. When you have travelled thousands of miles the assistance you are given is invaluable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I'm so delighted to hear you enjoyed your room, and our service, I will be sure to show Tom and Sandi your very sweet mentions of them! hope to see you again on your next globetrotting adventure! Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having lived in San Jose for many years, we would often visit San Francisco, but would rarely stay in the city. Nine years ago we moved east, and were on a two-week tour on northern California. San Francisco was our last stop and since we wanted to see the art installation known as The Bay Lights, we opted to stay at The Harbor Court, which faces the Bay Bridge. Located right on the Embarcadero, several blocks from Ferry Market, the hotel has modern rooms in an old building. The rooms are small but efficiently planned, and the two windows we had on the bay side gave us great views of San Francisco Bay. A large “living room” provides plenty of seating for the evening wine bar and morning coffee and tea, and cookies and milk are offered at 9 every evening. The Japanese restaurant Ozumo is next door, and provides room service. The room service meal I had one evening was both delicious and inexpensive, and Ozumo has a great reputation in the city.

The only problem occurred with our friends’ room. We all checked in after 3, which is check-in time, but their room wasn’t ready. After an hour-and-a-quarter, when they checked, the room still wasn’t ready, and a manager was called, who then offered them an upgrade to a king-size room (king-size bed only – the room was still small). Seeing the size of the rooms makes it hard to understand how a room could take that long, if not longer, to actually clean. Otherwise, we had no complaints, and will likely stay there again when we’re in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Baayside rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear your friends enjoyed the complimentary upgrade, but sorry that it took us a while to prepare the room for them to check in. We hope to see you next time you come home to the West coast! Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Kimpton hotels are all alike in one thing, their great and friendly service. Not only did they give you a glass of wine upon arrival and had fresh baked cookies out every night at 9pm but they were also just a pleasure to deal with. The view from my room of the bridge was truly unique and impressive. The location is right near the ferry building so extremely centrally located for my work visit. The only thing it doesn't have is a gym but they offer yoga mats and yoga tv channels which I thought was cute. Overall it was a nice hotel with clean modern rooms and I would definitely recommend it if you are looking to stay in that area of the city.

Side note-the bed pillows I found to be awesome for some reason.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi there - Just wanted to mention that although we do not have our own gym, the beautiful YMCA is located right next door and our guests can purchase a discounted $10 day pass to use the facility, which includes a swimming pool, basketball court, every fitness class you can imagine, and more. Please definitely take advantage of this the next time you visit! I really appreciate you taking the time to review us, and am so happy that we seem to be a great fit for you! Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in May at the start of a three-week trip around California. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and efficient. The hotel has a lovely large lobby with refreshments available most of the time. The early morning tea/coffee was much appreciated, as there are no in-room facilities. The manager’s complementary wine tasting set up each evening nicely. Our room was on the smaller size but was spotlessly clean with everything we required. Despite being a terribly poor sleeper in strange beds, the bed provided me the best sleep I have had in my 40 years of traveling with work and on holiday. The hotel does not have a bar or restaurant but does have access directly to the sushi bar next door. This appeared to be constantly full of bright young things obviously relaxing after a day in the nearby financial district. Not for me but I am sure does it for others. There are a number of eating establishments nearby catering for most tastes. We tended to drift towards the Ferry Building most evenings. But what made this hotel stand out was the staff. Everyone was very approachable, friendly and went out of their way to help. Some staff were accompanied by their dogs adding to the homely feel of the place. If I am in SF again I will certainly consider this place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Wow! "Best sleep ever"? What a huge compliment! My Director of Houskeeping will be on cloud 9 when I show her your flattering words...thanks so much, we're thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit with us! Just a couple of things to note, although we do not have a Kimpton restaurant here, Ozumo is not just next door, it is our restaurant/bar, and they provide our in-room dining as well. Also, it's true that we don't have coffee pots in the room but, we have loads of them available, so if you would like one in your room during your dtay, just let us know and we would be happy to have one there waiting for you! Thanks, Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is a gem. My husband and I stayed for five days last fall. My husband was attending a conference and I was on my own most days. The decor was a pleasing palette of jewel tones and warm wood tones that give this structure an old world feel. Wine was offered in the lobby each evening. Caught the city tour bus directly across the street from the hotel, walked most places I wanted to explore, enjoyed the market and food choices in the Ferry Building directly across the boulevard. Also, took the ferry to Sausalito for a day trip from the Ferry Building. My only complaint was the size of our room, fairly small, more a New York City size room. Very comfortable bed, quiet, clean and a pleasure to come back to at days end.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view. It is lovely at night....
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Enjoyed a nice 3 days and nights at this Hotel.
Staff were very friendly and attebtive

While there was no restaurant or gym facilities the restaurant next door was affiliated and very nice,.. Also the location on to embarcadero meant that running along the coastline was always more preferable

Free beer and wine from 5-6 pm was a nice touch, as were the free bikes to go for a cycle around fishermans wharf. Coffee in the morning was really good

Only downside was the room 408, while the room itself is lovely and well equipped with a large widescreen tv and all the items you'd expect which had no sea view , i was looking at ducting when i opened curtains. I left them closed

Room Tip: look to get a sea view if possible 408 was pretty grim view, the room itself was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, General Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I'm especially happy that you enjoyed our coffee from a small local company called Bicycle Coffee. I switched to them almost 2 years ago and they've been a big hit! i'm also happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, Ozumo, they do such a fabulous job! While we don't have the usual standard gym in our hotel, we do have the YMCA located right in our building! They offer a discounted $10 day pass for our guests, and it's worth it as they have everything you could want, including fitness classes, swimming pool, basketball court and so much more! We'll look forward to seeing you next time, thanks again! Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.