We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer Service and Quality Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 50% on Parking
Ranked #27 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rowland Heights, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Customer Service and Quality Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Harbor Court Hotel (March 29-31) and was impressed at their hotel. The lobby and lounging area made me feel very welcomed and at home, even though my home was 500+ miles away from me! The entire staff was very kind and hospitable, which definitely added to my comfort and relaxation. The rooms were great, especially for the weekend rates! I definitely plan on staying at the Harbor Court Hotel whenever I visit San Francisco!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    277
    61
    22
    21
See reviews for
43
364
84
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was so pleasant at Harbor Court that I want to stay there again the next time we visit San Francisco. The room was small but so comfortable! The bed was a dream to sleep on. And the view of the bay and the bay bridge from our room was just amazing. The decor in the hotel is very appealing and I love that it is pet friendly. There were many people there with dogs and I had occasion to meet 2 very sweet pooches.

Staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. I never got the chance to participate in the wine event each evening because we were out and about at the time it was held. But would have loved to do that. Also, the room was very quiet. I did not hear any noise from the other rooms which was very nice!

The only downside to our stay was that the cost of parking at the hotel seemed pretty high - $45 a day plus taxes. But I have been told that parking is expensive everywhere in San Francisco so it may not be out of line. It was my first trip to San Francisco so I'm not familiar with what is considered normal for parking costs.

The weekend was made perfect by having such a wonderful hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location of the Harbor Court Hotel was great. We were right on the Embarcadero, had a view of the Bay Bridge, and felt safe. The staff was nice. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary, so they had some treats waiting for us in our room when we checked in. We rented bikes while we were there and they stored them overnight for us. (They had 4 bikes that we could have borrowed for free, but we didn't want to hog them by taking them all day, or plan on using them only to find that they weren't available.) The cookies and milk at night was fun, and it was refreshing to always have iced lemon and orange water available when we came through the lobby. We had a view room with a king bed, which we found a spring special price for on their website. The rooms are kind of small especially when the king size bed takes up so much of it, but we didn't need anything huge. We didn't use the YMCA next door, but apparently that is available as an exercise option. We preferred to go walking along the piers, jogging, and biking out to the Golden Gate Bridge for our exercise. One drawback to the view rooms is that the traffic can be noisy in the mornings, but we would definitely stay here again if we are in San Francisco again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Kimton gets customer service. This is the second Kimpton property I have stayed at in SF and it was great. From the valet, to the housekeeping staff, to the front desk, everyone we encountered was a delight. I love the fact you can walk out the back door of this hotel and you are right on the Embarcadero and just a block away from the Ferry Market Building. Super close to transit as well.

We had an interior queen room, and, while it was small, it had everything we needed and was very clean.

I appreciate that they allow pets, with no extra fee and no size restriction. Our dog enjoyed her visit as well and there is a little park spot right on the Embarcadero for quick pet relief.

Be sure to sign up for their InTouch membership so you can get free WiFi and a $10 minibar credit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I used to stay in this hotel all the time, in fact it was my preferred hotel in San Francisco. First couple of trips I got a lovely room on the top floor with view of the Oakland Bridge, then it all went downhill. Fifth trip I got a tiny room, I forgot to pack my cat otherwise I could have told you if there was room to swing it. I doubt it. The view was of the roof and scenic air con unit and the noise! San Francisco in June is hot. If you can't open the window because you need industrial earplugs then it is even hotter. So, I dealt with all this, for $239 it seemed like a bit much to shoulder, but I did it.

Then they left my room door open. Obviously the maid forgot to take the snib off when they cleaned it. When I got back at 11pm I found my door open I immediately checked everything and yep, some stuff was missing, notably stuff that was near the door, some new trainers, a coach purse and ironically $20 that I had put in an envelope and put in the drawer ready for the maid.

They were apologetic and took it seriously, but then when I tried to claim it back, the trouble started. They wanted receipts and basically would not make any recompense until I produced those. I sent what I had (only one for the sneakers) a couple of times via email and then after a couple of calls to them to check the progress and having them tell me 'we will call you back' I gave up and vowed to never stay there again.

Hotel itself is patchy. Some rooms are gorgeous with amazing views, some are small and dingy. Location is not great (about 20 minute walk from Union Square) and expensive for what it is. Much better hotels in SF.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. One of the best times I've had traveling anywhere. We got upgrade to a Bay View room and that was amazing. The views are awesome. The location is great, across from ferry building and on the water. the staff was excellent. From their recommendations to their friendliness, overall they were all great. The nightly wine hour was fun and the morning coffee/tea was great. The room was nicely updated and clean. the bed was extremely comfortable. We slept very well and it was quiet too. I definitely recommend staying in the Bay View rooms.

Room Tip: The best rooms have to be the bay view rooms, they are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I returned to the Harbor Court in November 2012 for the first time since 2005, and my stay was as good as the first time around. I can't say enough about the service. There are little things that make your stay fantastic - the cookies and milk, and wine hour - and the fact that they have coffee out super early for those of us on East Coast time! The rooms are on the small side, but very comfortable. The location is easily walkable to the Ferry Building. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.