We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking!
Ranked #28 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
“Worth Every Penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I can't say enough about the staff, location, cofort and beautiful views at this hotel. My wife and I spent 5 days at the hotel to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We couldn't have picked a better place. We thouroughly enjoyed ourselves as the hotel is beatiful. The rooms are small but nicely appointed. You pay top dollar but the value is definitely there. The view of the Bay Bridge and the harbor is spectacular if you choose a bay view room. There are many restaurants and bars nearby. There is also easy access to street cars, BART and other transit and you can access the many attractions in the area easily including the Ferry Building, Coit Tower, Fisherman's Wharf, Alcatraz, A T and T Park, shops and other fun things. We had a blast and the hotel was the base for all our activities.

Room Tip: Get the Bay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
sr0berts0n,
Thank you so much for your extremely thorough review. Your positive feedback is very important to us as it is the best measure of our success. We know that when it comes to finding accommodations here in San Francisco the options are seemingly endless. Therefore knowing that you opted to stay at the Harbor Court Hotel on your 30th anniversary, is extremely special to us!

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    303
    64
    24
    21
See reviews for
46
388
90
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

2nd time I've been to the Harbor Court in San Francisco as a single woman traveling on business. Hotel is very centrally located near to downtown San Francisco. Most things like downtown, AT&T Park, Embarcadero and Union Square are a short walk from here.

Hotel is intimate, and spotlessly clean with very unusual mini-bar items and amenities like animal print robes and slippers, and umbrellas. The entire staff is very friendly and really goes out of their way to try and help with whatever you need. I left a note for the maid asking for shaving cream, and it was in my room when I returned.

The rooms are small, but well laid out and cozy. The beds are very comfortable with high end linens for added luxury. There are some rooms with million dollar views of the San Francisco Bay, with mirrors on the other side giving the feeling of being surrounded by the beautiful bridge and bay.

I've stayed in other Kimpton properties in other cities like Chicago & Boston and have never been disappointed with the consistency of this small chain.

There is always a great restaurant attached and the Harbor Court is not exception. Ozumo is a fabulous Japanese restaurant and a popular local scene that delivers as room service to the Harbor Court. There is a wine hour each night after work, and in the evenings there are fantastic cookies in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is perfect in many ways. The location is very close to the Embarcadero the Ferry Building, which is full of places to grab food. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The added little touches is what sets this hotel apart. The beer and wine hour was great - a chance to mingle with other guests and even some live accoutsic music. The only downside is the room size - they are a bit on the small side but we didn't spend too much time in it so it didn't bother us too much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'm usually terrified of hotels in the $200 range in San Francisco, but this one was clean and well kept-up. People working there were nice and I enjoyed the free cookies in the lobby :) I also enjoyed the 12:00 PM check-out time ... I hate having to wake up early to check out of a hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced inward so we just got to see another side of the building. If you're from out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Cynthia E.,
Thank you for staying with us at the Harbor Court Hotel and for your incredible feedback. We are glad you mentioned our competitive rates and that in your experience our value exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great location - room was on the small side, but the view can't be beat ! That being said the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The entire staff goes out of their way to accomodate you and make you feel welcome. I also loved the fact that they are dog friendly. Being a dog lover it was nice to go away and see people on vacation with their dogs :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale, ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

the location of this hotel cannot be beat! it's close to the water and ferry building. yank sing, for dim sum, is across the street, and there are a few other restaurants close to the hotel. perks at this hotel included cookies, wine, an ice-cream float station, and movie screenings with popcorn. the hotel is pet-friendly. perry's restaurant, on the same street, has yummy, crunchy breadsticks. the only downside of this neighborhood is that all of the coffee shops close down after business hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Generationx,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
As you noted, our unbeatable location is home to wide ranging culinary options. The financial district however, while being an incredibly convenient and lively neighborhood may sometime lack after hour business alternatives otherwise found in the walking distant downtown scene.
We sincerely appreciate you sharing your great comments on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

One of the best things in this hotel, aside from location, is the pillows. The bed, sheets and pillows were genuinely comfy and made for excellent sleeps. My room was small and no view but no real reason to spend time in it. Staff were also excellent. Small issue was not having a bedside electrical outlet. Clearly an issue with a previous guest because night one there was a power bar next to my bed which was very handy but strangely it disappeared on the second day and despite being on hands and knees there was no obvious spot to plug in computer etc. I also really like hotels with ipod players so another bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Rubber_Duck_Author,

Your positive feedback is one of the main sources of our success, so thank you for sharing it through Trip Advisor.

In-room electrical outlets are located on the desk, and in most rooms also on the bedside. For the convenience of the guest we also provide surge protectors upon request and availability.

I would like to thank you for your insight as it will help us better serve our guests in the future.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.