We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the harbor court!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking!
Ranked #28 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
glendale, ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“love the harbor court!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

the location of this hotel cannot be beat! it's close to the water and ferry building. yank sing, for dim sum, is across the street, and there are a few other restaurants close to the hotel. perks at this hotel included cookies, wine, an ice-cream float station, and movie screenings with popcorn. the hotel is pet-friendly. perry's restaurant, on the same street, has yummy, crunchy breadsticks. the only downside of this neighborhood is that all of the coffee shops close down after business hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Generationx,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
As you noted, our unbeatable location is home to wide ranging culinary options. The financial district however, while being an incredibly convenient and lively neighborhood may sometime lack after hour business alternatives otherwise found in the walking distant downtown scene.
We sincerely appreciate you sharing your great comments on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    303
    64
    24
    21
See reviews for
46
387
90
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

One of the best things in this hotel, aside from location, is the pillows. The bed, sheets and pillows were genuinely comfy and made for excellent sleeps. My room was small and no view but no real reason to spend time in it. Staff were also excellent. Small issue was not having a bedside electrical outlet. Clearly an issue with a previous guest because night one there was a power bar next to my bed which was very handy but strangely it disappeared on the second day and despite being on hands and knees there was no obvious spot to plug in computer etc. I also really like hotels with ipod players so another bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Rubber_Duck_Author,

Your positive feedback is one of the main sources of our success, so thank you for sharing it through Trip Advisor.

In-room electrical outlets are located on the desk, and in most rooms also on the bedside. For the convenience of the guest we also provide surge protectors upon request and availability.

I would like to thank you for your insight as it will help us better serve our guests in the future.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were there to meet up with friends. We were given such a warm welcome, just in time for the free wine! The location is fabulous if you want to enjoy the Embarcadero and Ferry building without being too much in the hustle and bustle of Union Square. The hotel is clean, dog friendly and, comfy. I slept better than at home! Already booked a room there for my next trip.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Bay View, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Julie R.

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent review. Exceeding our guests’ expectations and creating a unique, personalized guest experience are paramount. We are happy that your review noted our location as a sanctuary, the amenities and the service provided.

Thank you also for securing a second booking with us again, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location (middle of the Embarcadero), superb customer service, clean & inviting hotel. This was out first stay at a Kimpton Hotel and we were impressed. We will definitely stay here again as well as look for other Kimpton hotels when we travel elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
CedFam,

Please accept our most sincere gratitude for staying with us and for your excellent and valuable feedback.

I am glad to learn our location was convenient to you, and that on your first Kimpton experience, our superior customer service, clean, and inviting property left you willing to return.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I checked into the Harbor Court yesterday to end our West Coast trip on a great note. Has not disappointed one bit! Location is ideal, we have a FANTASTIC view of the Bay Bridge from our room. Road noise minimal. Customer service exceptional! Room cozy and well furnished.
Just a note to the people complaining that the rooms are so small, GIVE ME A BREAK! As described on their website, the rooms are "cozy". Not huge, not a box, but cozy. My wife and I slept very well without a problem on the extremely comfortable bed.
We will definitely be back to the Harbor Court in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
NakasBronx_NY,

Thank you for taking the time to post such amazing comments. We are thrilled to hear we were able to provide a good conclusion to you and your wife’s West Coast trip.

We would love to have you back as our guests. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have heard fabulous things about this hotel. My sister stayed here 3 months ago and came back with rave reviews. She thought the hotel was beautiful, great location & very clean. Therefore, I was hoping to stay here as well when I come for my vacation in October. I was even more surprised when I got online and saw that on their website, there is a special offer for 20% off best available rate if you stay for 4 nights or longer. I went to purchase my 4 night stay and the "special offer" was not included in my final price. I called the hotel and they refused to honor their "special offer" saying that it was an error on their website. Very disappointing that this establishment does NOT honor own advertisement on their website and has little regard for customer service. I suppose I will be taking my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Katie R.,

Thank you for your interest in the Harbor Court Hotel, and for your valuable feedback.
It leaves me very disappointed to learn that in your experience our reservation system may have misled you. Please know that all our advertised rates and specials are always honored, in fact we are well known for matching any other online advertised price. I would love to investigate your incident further. Please feel free to contact me directly, so I can research your concern, and see what I can do to turn this experience around for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night while on business in the area. While a bit smaller than most hotel rooms, the view and amenities made up for the size. The bed was quite comfy, the desk space was adequate and there were plenty of convenient electrical outlets for all of my gadgets. The lobby is beautiful and a great place to work or meet with friends/colleagues. In the morning they had fantastic strong coffee hot and ready in the lobby. There is a good, reasonably priced deli across the street with excellent breakfast options. For dinner there is an tasty sushi restaurant right next door. I will be back!

Room Tip: It is worth it to upgrade to a room with a view of the Bridge - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dysphorichousewife-
Thank you for taking a few moments to share your fantastic experience with us on Trip Advisor.
Your feedback means a lot to us, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Court Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.