We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Court Hotel to your Saves list
Harbor Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (SoMa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Visit the Ferry Building
Ranked #32 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland,ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed one night at the Harbor Court and found it to be a very nice place to stay. The staff was friendly and the furnishing/decor were very stylish. The location worked out well for us.

We stayed in their queen suite which has nice views of the Bay Bridge and floor to ceiling windows that let plenty of light in. Overall, the size of the room for a suite was small, but that is expected in the smaller boutique hotels in San Francisco.

Everything was very clean and comforting. They even put out milk and cookies in the evening. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    329
    73
    27
    23
See reviews for
53
425
96
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights and read the reviews...most reviews say the hotel rooms are "too small" which for me meant you had a small area to walk at the end of the bed, but really...how much room do you need for a hotel room if you are there to explore the city and have fun. Was 2 blocks away from the Bay Bridge, near the Bart Station. Hotel room included internet, free wine social in the evenings, and morning coffee and muffin

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

By luck we wound up celebrating our 39th Wedding Anniversary at the Harbor Court. From check-in to check-out (a whole week!!) they made us feel welcome and very special. The first greeting was a bottle of wine with a welcome note. From then on, the whole staff helped us plan each day of our stay. A beautiful trip to Napa Valley with a hotel-related driver took us to many wineries; truly a great experience. They are really locals and know how to poitn the way to enjoyment!!

A small hotel experience is very different from a large hotel stay were no one knows who you are!!

Don't miss out on the great restaurant next door!! Great food and ambiance.

Very close to city transportation, piers and everything one could think of!!

A week was so short!!

Room Tip: The view of the bay is very nice!! Worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The room that we stayed in (room 601) was very compact, with only just room to rest our small suitcases up against the wall. However, the room itself was clean and well furnished. Luckily we got used to the constant hum of the AC unit outside the room, but some people may have found this disturbing.

The location was very good. About a 20 minute walk to Pier 39 and to Union Square - with lots of public transport options close by. The little extras were also appreciated including the wine tasting hour between 5 and 6pm and also the cookies and milk from 9pm.

Beware, if you aren't a fan of dogs then you may feel slightly out of your comfort zone. The hotel seems to be quite 'pet friendly' and there were often dogs in the reception and lounge area. This included the dog of the hostess serving wine one evening which as well as galloping around the lounge area seemingly out of control, it also laid a turd quite nicely in front of the doors! Somewhat put me off my drink and nibbles...!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms would be a bonus. Avoid room 601 which is tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is a lovely small boutique hotel that is right on the Waterfront and staffed by a group that knows how to make you feel at home. Great location, wonderful Kimpton feel, and how can you beat pet friendly with cookies and milk at night!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the service and our room. The staff at the front desk and the housekeeping crew were very friendly and helpful. Our room was excellent and not as small as expected. It overlooked the Bay Bridge and Embarcadero and the area was very and surprisingly quite even on a Saturday evening. Close to AT&T Park, where we took in a Cal football game and many restaurants and bars and far enough from Market Street, the location was just right for us.

We parked using the valet service and it worked very well although it was a bit pricey; however, we were willing to hunt for street spaces late in the evenings. Cab service to this area seemed to be nonexistent so our options were limited.

We plan to return in a few months and look forward to another excellent stay.

Room Tip: I have heard that the rooms can be small so it is best to look closely at the options on the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We try to go to Harbor Court every 4 months or so. There are so many things we love about it. The location is close to our favorite restaurants, the ferry building, public transportation and is on the beautiful SF Bay. The evening wine hour is in a beautiful great room off the lobby and is very nice. In the morning tea and coffee are available there. There is a large selection of complimentary newspapers in the lobby to choose from. The rooms are a bit small but well done to make up for it. The staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to help. We always enjoy our stay.
Carol D

Room Tip: Get the Bay view if possible. There is lots of boat activity to watch and you see Treasure Island...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#22 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#71 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#18 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters in San Francisco
Club Quarters in San Francisco
#49 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#61 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.