We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great positon.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Handlery Union Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Handlery Union Square Hotel to your Saves list
Handlery Union Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Cardiff, Wales
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great place, great positon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel on Union Square is an ideal place to base yourself in San Fran.
Shops, cafes all nearby and about half hour walk down to the pier. We did walk from here to Golden Gate Bridge, and had a bus back. That took us about 2 hours, but we went via Grace Cathedral and Lombard Street.
We really liked the hotel. The room was big, clean, well furnished with two double beds and loads of space. The bathroom was fine. We had a view of the internal courtyard, no big shakes, but no problem.
The staff were all very helpful and efficient.
The pool area was a little tired, though I did have one swim!
The breakfast queue on the first morning was ridiculous, about 20 people waiting to be seated (this was much better on our 2nd/3rd morning). We had breakfast included in the price. This means you get given a voucher. The voucher entitled you to one of three things
1. eggs, bacon/sausage, mushrooms, potatoes, tomato with toast
2. waffles
3. granola with fruit
Either tea or coffee or juice
The food was tasty and service was pretty good.
It's not a cheap hotel, but was reasonable for it's position in the centre of the city.
The Grill Bar is part of the hotel (where breakfast is served in fact) and this was excellent, great food and drinks.
This hotel was suggested to us by friends and I would certainly pass that suggestion on.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    1,061
    354
    123
    49
See reviews for
593
991
81
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Our hotel of choice the past few visits to San Francisco has been the Handlery in Union Square. After trying out a couple other areas, we have found Union Square to be ideal for us: near to many museums, art galleries, fine restaurants, quaint neighborhoods (short walks to Chinatown, Nob Hill, North Beach, the Embarcadero, etc.). The rooms are decently appointed, but nothing special. We used the pool & the business center. The concierge was helpful. Main drawback was expensiveness. True, it IS summer tourist season, and we did stay on the weekend, but we never paid so much for a hotel....OR the parking. Considerably more than we paid in NYC on our 2 visits there this year. Would return here again, but not on a weekend.

Room Tip: You might not want to stay near the elevators or vending/ice machines. Noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

we stayed here when we arrived in san fransico and at the end of our holiday . this hotel is very clean very good rooms and the staff are very friendly.the hotel is located right next to the square very central. there is a bar a few doors away called lefty's its a well known bar good entertainment Frank plays the keyboard at the weekend and always has a crowd around him very funny and welcoming . if you continue to the right you come to the main shopping part turn right and walk to the bottom where you can catch the famous cable cars they take you right to fishermans warf . when you come out the hotel to the left and left again you will find all the car rental companys 5 mins walk all in all a great hotel and perfect location we will stay again

Room Tip: we were given a front facing room you could hear if there were a happy crowd but nothing to concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

If you're a first time visitor to San Francisco and don't mind to spend a little bit extra. It's close to everything! Shopping, transport and landmarks.

The reception staff, concierge and bellmen are always so friendly and incredibly helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and well worth the price. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We are a family of four (kids are 13 and 10) and we stayed here for 4 nights in August. Before booking we found it hard to find a decent looking hotel in SF and finally booked this through the British Airways website.
We got the BART from SF airport and then it was about a 10 minute walk to the hotel.
Location: in a word amazing! I don't think we could have picked anywhere better. Union Square is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. You are also right in the heart of the shopping district and close to Macy's, Westfield, Walgreen's (handy for drinks, snacks and lovely fresh fruit) and all the other shops. We walked to most places, but did take the tram to Fishermans Wharf. We also had tickets for baseball and walked down to the AT&T stadium, which took us about 20 minutes.
Our room: we were in a room with 2 queen beds in the old part of the hotel. The beds were lovely and comfy. The room itself was quite small with not too much space for our clothes. We also had no view at all, just a frosted window that faced a wall. However, we don't go to hotels to sit in the room, so it was fine for what we needed.
Breakfast: we had breakfast for 2 included in our price. We were given vouchers, so we just used them for the whole family until they ran out. The breakfast was very nice and service was good. We also ate dinner in the hotel one evening and that was very nice. Again, the service was excellent.
If we were going back to SF we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 3 week road trip around California/Arizona/Nevada. The hotel's location is perfect and very close to cable cars and buses. We had a pleasant surprise upon check-in when we were given vouchers for free breakfast. We had 2 interconnecting rooms in the 'historic' section. These were beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. We requested a rollaway bed and this arrived promptly with no extra charge. The pool is lovely and this was a real bonus in a city centre hotel.

It's the staff that make this hotel really stand out. They cannot do enough for you and special thanks to bellmen Hermie and Victor who looked after our luggage for a few hours after we checked out, and arranged a good deal for us in a Mercedes back to the airport.

We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms in the historic section have 2 windows so are very bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We chose the Handlery Union Square for our first visit in San Francisco in august 2014.
The location was perfect to explore SF by bus, by tram our with our legs (even with children) ... and relax even if the weather was pretty fresh ;-)
I just would like to highlight the huge Service oriented mindset of the staff and the Management of this hotel. That's part of the rare place where an important issue for you can find its solution smoothly.
Congrats and thank you again for our pleasant stay among you.

Room Tip: Côté rue (Geary St ou O'Farrell St)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Handlery Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handlery Union Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.