We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a quiet room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Handlery Union Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Handlery Union Square Hotel to your Saves list
Handlery Union Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ask for a quiet room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We arrived at almost 11 at night they recommended the diners round the corner for a late night meal. When we got back we tried to get to sleep and having just come from Hawaii we had anticipated more noise that we had been used to, but the banging, crashing, shouting and singing from Union Square kept us awake all night. The next morning I very politely asked if it was always that noisy and the receptionist offered to move us! We simply packed the few things we had taken out of our suitcase and they moved everything to a room at the back of the hotel which was 95% noise free!

The concierge was really helpful making the necessary phone calls to see how we could refund our Alcatraz tickets and suggesting where to go for an evening meal (excellent burgers at Macy's).

Breakfast was strange - it felt as if they were skimping on breakfast. They have a huge diner but they do not seat you immediately but hold you in the bar and seat you when a table/server is ready, but then service is still a bit slow. A voucher for breakfast gives you a choice of eggs, bacon OR sausage, toast / Granola, banana and berries with yogurt / a waffle with syrup and it felt as if it had been waiting a while. To drink you have a choice of Tea OR coffee OR fruit juice. Adequate but could have been better.

Good location for shopping and the cable car but a taxi ride away from Fisherman's Wharf.

Overall, it was the concierge and receptionists who made our stay, probably the most helpful of the holiday.

Room Tip: If you do not like traffic noise, ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    1,179
    387
    133
    52
See reviews for
649
1,090
94
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at The Handlery, Union square, as part of our honeymoon. The hotel couldn't be more central, literally on Union square and next to a tram stop. Our room and the whole décor and layout of the hotel is very San Francisco, which we loved! the daily grill serve up a lovely meal and breakfast, the bar also does a good trade and their strawberry cocktails are very moreish! we had no problems with check in and all staff we had dealings with were very pleasant and helpful, you wont be disappointed if you're looking for a little piece of San Francisco and stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a couple for four nights in a king room on the 7th floor facing Geary Street. There were renovations happening down the road which made it noisy at times at night. Rooms were basic and clean with a bar restaurant attached next door which was handy for breakfast which was complimentary and basic. Union Square was close for hop on hop off buses and cable cars. Macys and other major retailers were also handy. Would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is quite an old Hotel. It was warm and the staff friendly. Maintenance needs to be kept on top of as the door handle on the linen cupboard fell off and the window in our bedroom couldnt close properly. It is across the road from Union square and just down the road from the famous cable car. With the cable car make sure you get on in the morning and take it all the way to the end and spend the day at Fishermans wharf. It's important to catch it home early as when we did the trip we just went there and back but had to wait over 1 hour in the heat in a queue just to get back on to come home...it is THAT popular and a very fun ride too. Back to the hotel - breakfast is nice but some of the restaurant staff need to learn to smile a bit more. Overall I would stay there again for its closeness to everything. I hope this helps

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week, longer than originally planned but due to our Yosemite trip being cancelled , we stayed an extra 3 nights and the front desk staff were extremely helpful in booking the additional days. They made sure we did not have to move rooms. Wifi is complimentary and the room was spacious . We had a room with 2 queen beds. Very clean and well equipped . Will stay here again if I return for more of San Francisco one day. Only issue I have is all the beggars in San Francisco . I got sick of being accosted for money on every corner

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My favorite hotel on our trip. It was a small hotel with exceptional and friendly service with a real family feel. Rooms very nice and clean, only negative was the very small shower. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The room was very nice, roomy and clean. The best part was the location and the balcony. Nice size balcony for people watching and relaxing. All the rooms in San Fran are very pricey. I chose this one for being less pricey and the location and balcony. I was not disappointed. The price is still too much, but it is not out of the ordinary for San Fran. Very reasonable price for this area. The service was also very good. Ordered room service and the food was very good and the service very prompt. If I ever return to San Fran I will definitely stay here. My only complaint is they only left one wash cloth each day and there were 2 of us. Problem solved by calling and requesting extra.

Room Tip: spend the extra and get a premium room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handlery Union Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.