We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Handlery Union Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Handlery Union Square Hotel to your Saves list
Handlery Union Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small but had everything I needed. The temperature in the room was perfect every day and the cleaning staff was very respectful and helpful. I have long hair and asked for extra shampoo plus conditioner on my first day and every day after they continued to put extra samples in my bath. I would definitely stay here again. Perfect location to trolley and lots of shopping.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    1,228
    400
    137
    54
See reviews for
668
1,139
98
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I traveled with five of my friends. My roommate and I had one of the larger rooms with a sitting area large enough for all six of us to gather. It increased the enjoyment of our stay considerably. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The service was wonderful. The concierge and the doorman were extremely helpful giving us directions and getting us taxis. The desk people were friendly and also very helpful. This was my second stay here. The location is great. This will be the hotel of my choice when I am in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sitting area. They are usually the same price as the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I had three extremely comfortable nights at the Handlery. Great location, great staff. The room might have been small, but it was well equipped and the bathroom excellent. We could not have been happier with our choice of a hotel in San Francisco. Jim M

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
61 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a little better than average hotel.m it appears to be an older and to have had a pretty good remodeling. It could use a little refresh (paint) in the halls, elevator etc.

The location is excellent and they have done a pretty good job of updating the hotel. However the interior finishes are not as nice as what one finds in most of the high end hotels today. No granite in the bathrooms, that old marbelite faux finish. The bathrooms are small and same ith the rooms.

The hotel seems as though its two or three buildings. One walks to the back of the hotel and takes another elevator to get to the back rooms. It may be because it has a courtyard.

Parking is $42 a day which is average I expect for San Fran. However the valets are good and it works nicely.

The lobby is clean, tasteful, contemporary and it feels freshly remodeled.

Not a bad choice. I would look at others next time as its not necessary a keeper in my book. It's also not a do not stay. It's been a while since I visited San Fran, so I need to find my hotel.

The gym is basic with a couple of treadmills, elliptical and a weight bench. It gets full in the morning.

Location is excellent. Almost Cross the street from Union Square, blocks from Chinatown, the theatre etc. Great location.

Room Tip: Really depends on what you want. Some around the pool, some have a view out the front and others th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and is very well positioned. The rooms are quite spacious and very neat and tidy. The hotel is right on Union Square and is very well located to cable cars and bus services. Hotel service is very good. Would stay here again. Complimentary breakfast was yummy as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great location if you're needing businesses in the Union Square area or if you are a tourist. We stayed in the "historic" part of the hotel, and it was just fine. We used a travelzoo deal, and it was a great value for the location. We would stay again another time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed at the Handlery the end of February 2013. I found the hotel well-placed in the downtown San Francisco area and this allows the guest to get out of the hotel and walk to most everything. The trolley car out to the Embarcadero is a block away, thus travel even over to the water is not a problem.

The hotel rooms are well appointed and the wireless worked flawlessly. For people on business or just wanting to connect, this is critical. When I note well appointed, I mean a comfortable bed, a solid desk with a great chair that is adjustable, a bathroom that does not pass itself off as a closet and enough storage space for two people.

On the storage space, I was fine, but if two people were traveling for more than a few days and wanted to put items out, this might be a stretch. There are two shelfs in the primary dresser and two drawers in the night stand (both of which have telephone books, a Bible and a book on San Francisco).

The air unit controls are not the best you might encounter. The first night I thought that by turning the temp up to 72 I would get an autofan system that would kick in as needed. Not so fast bucko. The fan must be in the low, medium or high position for the heat to work. Therefore, the fan must be on 100% of the time. Imagine my surprise and somewhat stiff form the first morning when I woke up to find the room temp a balmy 63. Not bad during the summer, but the end of February in San Francisco with the room on the west side meant a cool awakening. When I figured out the fan system, the room stayed an even temperature, but because the fan system is just off center of the bed, you will here the constant whirring sound all night.

Someone actually went in the pool, so I checked the water. Tolerable even for February considering the pool is outside, and it could be used for a few laps if you can tolerate the water temp. The sauna, on the other hand, was one of the best I have sat in. My colleague and I talked for thirty minutes and then oozed out like noodles. You need to stop by the desk and make a "reservation" which means that someone has to open the sauna room for you. But it was worth the effort. No one else came in while we were there, so it probably does not get a lot of use. Shower inside the sauna was a neat idea, too (behind a door in one wall of the sauna).

Two elevators - both work fine and are quick enough. If you can't wait, there are stairs on either side of the hotel which can also double as an exercise path. Speaking of exercvise, the hotel does have an exercise room with three treads, one recumbant cycle and two elypticals plus some free weights. I ran on one of the treads and it worked without a problem - all the equipment is new.

The Daily Grill restaurant has great meals and a good bar. Prices are reasonable and since it is in the hotel, proximity is a great factor in choossing this place to have some of your meals. Service was excellent and friendly. If you are looking for a quick diner, Lori's is around the corner - less than a 90 second walk out the front of the hotel.

One last note - ask for a quiet room. I did not know such an option existed and I was able to listen to the Streets of San Francisco which appear to stay busy in the downtown area all night long. Go the quiet room and enjoy the stay even more.

Summary: A great little hotel with exceptional service and amenities - not the Ritz, but it will meet your requirements for a well-located hotel near Union Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, inside location room. The outside rooms get a lot of street noise 24x7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handlery Union Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.