We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Handlery Union Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Handlery Union Square Hotel to your Saves list
Handlery Union Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

the location of this hotel is excellent, right on Union Square, where all the stores and restaurants are. The room we stayed in was very large, however, the AC intake vent was directly over one of the beds, a bit odd. The shower was so tiny that a person 6 foot or more would not be able to bath in it and there was not a bathtub.
The City Grill restaurant was downstairs and the food was great! I would stay here again, but would ask for a room with a larger shower.

Room Tip: Ask about the shower size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Carrie R,
Thank you for visiting from Florida. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and your dining experiences in the Daily Grill. We look forward to having you back from the Sunshine State again.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    1,102
    367
    128
    50
See reviews for
612
1,030
84
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been hearing their add on radio for a long time so when I wanted a special place to celebrate my 80th birthday, I called them and am so happy I did. Our room was pristeen with a city view which we preferred. The location is handy for shopping and other needs. Staff are the best. I have traveled all over the country and abroad and the consideration of the staff exceeds those of other cities. We plan to stay at the Handlery whenever we stay in San Francisc or San Diego.

The restaurant "City Grill" is very good and the staff again is terrific.

Room Tip: If you are not superstitious room 666 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Sharon E.
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location of this hotel is ideal if you want Macy's, Bloomingdales and designer labelled shops within a 5 minute walk. A number of tour buses were available 2 minutes down the street. The staff are friendly and competent. The room was clean. The bathroom didn't initially look very appealing but the shower was ok and the "dressing table" area was handy. It was spotlessly clean. We had breakfast included in our package. For this we had to go to the restaurant called the Daily Grill which we accessed via a corridor from the hotel reception and handed in a voucher every day. We were given a choice of 3 breakfasts and they were all reasonable (American Breakfast, Grenola or Waffle). The portions were adequate and the majority of the staff were friendly. The only gripe I had with the restaurant was that the milk/maple syrup jugs were not always fresh. I found the hotel very competitively priced considering the area it is in.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Oreo99,
Thank you for staying at the Handlery and I was pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I will follow up on your suggestions with regards to the restaurant. Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We had an historic queen room overlooking a courtyard. Large room with good facilities.
Great location but lots of noise from street musicians until 10pm every night.
Good service and adjoining daily grill provides good food.
Cables cars to travel the city are just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Graham S,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay from the UK. I am pleased you enjoyed our hotel and your dining experiences in the Daily Grill. I am working with the local police department on the musicians who play late into the night. We hope to have you come across the pond again and stay with us. Thanks for staying at the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in November. Hotel very accommodating, room comfortable. Would have got 5 stars except for the noise from an outside extractor fan, which doyble glazing may have solved.
The hotel provided a kettle, fridge and breakfast at the daily grill. We got the train from the airport which was then just a 5 minute walk to the hotel. We used public transport the whole time and got a 3 day pass for $21.
Loved San Fransico and the Handlery made it more memorable.
Didn't use the pool or sauna as we didn't have time

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet spot as on a busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Impssuporter,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased you found our hotel accommodating and we are looking at solutions to lower the noise level from the outside. We hope to see you again in the near future and thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman islands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just spent 4nights at the Handlery Union square. It was a trip to celebrate your 25th wedding, I found a special deal through a marketing website, and that was my deciding factor as it seemed to be the kind of hotel I wanted looking at the photos of the hotel. At check in, when asked our reason for staying, we mentioned that it was our anniversary and were excited to be told we would be getting a bottle of champagne sent up. Our bellman told us when delivering our luggage that two complimentary bottles of water are supplied daily. Well we never got our champagne, we never got our bottled water and when re asked why we were told they only supply water for the first night!!??? Our room wasn't made up oneday, we returned at 5pm informed the front desk, we're told it would be seen to, well when we returned at midnight, it still wasn't made up. I was hoping when we checked out we would be asked about our stay, so we could mention this, we weren't and only got a half greeting as we handed over our keys. We only discovered on day three that the hotel had a sauna, or that the restaurant served all day. So in my opinion, the hotel service needs to be sorted as it always seemed one staff member didn't know what the other was doing, even down to getting our bags for checkout....took nearly 20mins while the transport was waiting. Would I stay there agin, probably not as so many hotels in the area, but certainly not for a special occassion like and anniversary! Nothing special at all. Last comment...concierge was efficient but certainly not friendly, we felt like we were putting him out and that he was bored with our questions.

Room Tip: We were on second floor overlooking the street, but the rooms are pretty sound proof, so didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear avward,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and my apologies with regards to the level of service you received. Our family has been in business for over 85 years and we have always taken pride in exceeding our guest's expectations. I wish you had let me know while you were in the hotel as I am sure I could have turned your impression around. Thank you for letting me know and we hope to have you give us another try.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent the night here for my girlfriend's birthday. We used the KNBR special (not sure if it's listed on their website anymore, but I hear the advertisement all the time on the radio), which got us a queen bed, parking, and 20% off the daily grill. I thought it was a good deal, especially since the parking was included. Room was very clean and we thought it was very spacious, especially for San Francisco. All workers seemed friendly and helpful (the valet guy in the parking garage was a little moody, but other than him, everyone else was great).

Great location too, especially if you're looking to be very close to Union Square.

Room Tip: Look into the KNBR Special (deluxe room, parking + 20% off daily grill)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Doug I,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I am glad you had a great experience and a belated Happy Birthday wish to your girlfriend. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you before her next birthday.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Club Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handlery Union Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.