We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Highway Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Great Highway Motor Inn to your Saves list
Great Highway Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Highway Motor Inn
1234 Great Highway, San Francisco, CA 94122 (Sunset)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
palm desert, ca
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

this place is ok. everything worked. it is right on the ocean which is nice. i had parking ANd was easy. the bed was ok , the shower was ok, its just an ok motel. i dont think the refer worked very well. the staff was helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
8
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Friendly people to greet you. The place could use a little updating, but clean. Great location. Across the street from the ocean. Next to Golden Gate Park. The next block is the end of the N Judah subway. Easy way to get to Union Square and other restaurants.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENO,NV
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a night while my son 's at UCSF Medical Center. It's a 20-mins drive from the hospital, good parking space, nice. comfy room, with small ref and microwave oven. The surrounding area is quiet and is closed to the beach.
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, we were relaxed and had a very good, sound sleep during the night.

Room Tip: I always get 2 queen beds, more space for me and my husband
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Was a great value for the location, sadly not so great for meals if you have to stay close. They are renovating some rooms, the one we stayed in needed some minor repairs. It was clean and staff helpful. NO outside ice machine, likely due to the fact that homeless sleep in nearby doorways. Chinese delevery was not very good and delivery guy wouldnt give us a receipt. Likely fine for a quick overnite, but wouldnt want to stay long.

Room Tip: no coffee in rooms, but lobbys isnt bad, small bath counterspace. repairs that have been done were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I am still astounded at the price of this establishment - no better than a road motel. For not much more, one could stay in comparative luxury elsewhere.

The cover was dirty. The sheets - had to clean out a little. We both ended up with red, itchy eyes from the dusty or dirty room.

The internet was very very slow or non-existent.

Very depressing place. Did not give the feel of any safety either.

Paper thin floors and we were on the bottom. The person above came in the middle of the night and stomped around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The surprises are to be appreciated! Recall .... this is "San Francisco" and at this location; parking is free, room price is reasonable, kid's to-do spots,
while having a clean place to crash, in a great location. OK, you will be next to the ocean and a beach where the kids can run and burn-off some pent-up car ride energy, and if your room is on the 2nd or 3rd floor, you can see the ocean from your room - but ... no elevator means that the kids can burn-off more energy carrying stuff upstairs from the car !! while mother relaxes in the room, and Dad is with the kids on the beach! When ready, about a mile north is Cliff House and Seal Rock, Golden Gate Park is close by with some varied activities for adults and kids, a few miles south is San Francisco Zoo. The Inn also has some ground floor rooms for
handicapped, and an adjacent restaurant serving American and Thai food. Our room was modest yet clean throughout, small micro-wave and fridge, and a working TV with numerous channels, hot/cold water, shower, towels, etc. No bottled water or coffee pot. Our beds and area quietness at night were conducive to some needed, enjoyable sleep after the "energy burn-offs"... and if there aren't kids on this trip .... San Francisco night life is just up the hill!!
Enjoy.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August, 2013. This is definitely not a luxury hotel, but overall I was very pleased. Our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and everything was in working condition. We stayed here because we had a surgery scheduled at UCSF the following morning and the hotel provided us with a free shuttle service to the hospital. The woman in the front office was very nice and helpful as was the man driving the shuttle. We were able to take a walk on the beach the night before and then walk to a local restaurant overlooking the ocean for dinner. It was just what we needed the night before a surgery. If we have to have another procedure at UCSF, I will definitely book another room here. The ability to park for free and have a shuttle service to and from the hospital is well worth the lack of luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second story. You'll feel safer and it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Highway Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Highway Motor Inn

Address: 1234 Great Highway, San Francisco, CA 94122
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Sunset
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Highway Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Highway Motor Hotel San Francisco
Great Highway Hotel
Great Highway Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Highway Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.